Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Canned Tuna


myserenityprayer

Recommended Posts

Skylark Collaborator

Peter, thank you for clearing this up. I was so confused and really missing mustard :( Is mustard seed, in its natural state (not ground) also gluten-free?

Mustard seed in its natural state is gluten-free. Mustard plant is in the crucifer family, along with broccoli and cabbage. The seeds are totally unrelated to wheat, or even other grains. If you run across them, mustard greens are also safe.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Cheryl-C Enthusiast

Mustard seed in its natural state is gluten-free. Mustard plant is in the crucifer family, along with broccoli and cabbage. The seeds are totally unrelated to wheat, or even other grains. If you run across them, mustard greens are also safe.

Thank you Skylark! I love this place, you guys are so WISE and helpful for us greenhorns :P

  • 3 weeks later...
MelindaLee Contributor

I vaguely remember seeing someone on this board complain about the vegetable broth in canned tuna. I can't remember if it was because of the soy, or if there is actually soy sauce in the vegetable broth? I guess we need to check with the manufacturer....sigh :angry:

I just read that one, too. They were talking about Starkist Tuna. I think the conclusion was that Soy was the concern, with multiple sensitivities. I was looking closely as I think I glutened myself the other day and was trying to figure out where I went wrong. Glad to know I can still safely have my tuna. (Unless my problem was acutally soy, which both the mayo and the tuna have <_< )

  • 1 month later...
gfquestion Newbie

I ate some store brand tuna and got very sick to my stomach - how can I know for certain if the tuna is gluten free. What exact name brands only have water and salt in them. I'm trying hard but seem to eat something that is contaminated with wheat at least once a week - my stomach seems to be getting more atuned or sensitive the more I am on this diet.

I had the same reaction, I think it is from the soy in the broth. I don't really eat soy usually, so I was not aware that this was a problem, but I am sure considering it now.

  • 3 years later...
CamaroGirl Newbie

I tried eating Starkist and Bumblebee, but I can't. It makes me sick. I decided to find out why.i looked up the ingredient I wasn't sure I could have. Soy. It turns out, soy grows in rotation with wheat crops. The farmers also use the same combine for the wheat and soy crops. Therefore, the soy is being contaminated before it ever even gets packaged. So I haven't found a single canned tuna that does not have soy in it. I'm also trying to stay safe and eat only what says "Gluten Free" on the package.

nvsmom Community Regular

Welcome to the board. :)

 

I doubt the tuna is contaminated with wheat from a crop rotation. Gluten is the protein in the seed of wheat which would not get into the soy. Any wheat missed in the harvest would just be a seed on the ground and not harvested from the soy plant. I doubt they would let any wheat germinate either so it is most likely not growing there.

 

... My guess is it is the soy that was bothering you, or maybe the tuna?

 

Perhaps try tuna packed in water instead. Then there will be no chance of contamination at all.

 

Best wishes.

Wi11ow Apprentice

I can't eat soy either. Several brands of tuna include soy - I've been told that Costco's brand Kirkland tuna does not have soy but I haven't found it yet. Also I bought a can of Whole Foods brand chunk light tuna with out soy. I had no problem with it. If you wanted to try and see if it was the soy you were reacting to? And if it is there is a soy free mayo called Veganese  or Just Mayo by Hamilton Creek I found made with canola oil. It's pretty good.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



w8in4dave Community Regular

I also had a bad reaction from Tuna, I am Soy intolerant. I also read the same thing. If Soy is CC'd then why wouldn't it bother a Celiac?I will look up some of the tuna brands you all have suggested. 

kareng Grand Master

Soy is a bean in a pod when it is harvested.  It cleans very well.  The soy in something,  like a can of tuna is even more processed than just eating a soy bean.    If soy cc was a legitimate issue for most Celiacs, we would be warned about it.  Perhaps you have an issue with tuna or soy or some other ingredient or thing that you eat with the tuna?

 

Also, most of the info about brands on this thread is at least 4 years old.

  • 1 month later...
across Contributor

I realize this is a very old thread, but I just wanted to add that Neptuna (in a jar) contains no wheat as an ingredient, but today after eating a jar that I had sitting around the house from prior to my diagnosis (and not thinking about the fact that I hadn't read the label prior to buying it), I had a slight reaction. When I looked at the label, it said, "May contain traces of wheat." Oops!

 

Apparently, it is possible that some tuna brands may contain traces of wheat. Bad on me for not double-checking the label before I ate it!

cap6 Enthusiast

As someone else pointed out, if you have a Costco nearby try their Kirkland brand.  Nothing in the tune except tuna, water and salt.  Excellent. 

  • 3 weeks later...
w8in4dave Community Regular

Yea I have figured out I am Soy Intolerant. So I think it was the soy that I reacted to. Not knowing I was Soy intolerant at the time of eating the Tuna. I read it had Soy but didn't think it was a problem. I have not had any Tuna since my reaction. I have found some Tuna with out Soy in it tho. And will try it as soon as I get over the thought of when I got sick from it. LOL I am on a no packaged food diet as of now so no Tuna. Not sure when I will fall off of this band wagon. LOL 

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,815
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    lbksunyoga
    Newest Member
    lbksunyoga
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • AuntieAutoimmune
      Great tips, Deb. Thanks.  What a pity that they no longer mark items as gluten-free. And it is even more of a shame that you must bring protein bars instead of the crew helping you with your needs. Are you planning on sailing Royal again? 
    • Scott Adams
      I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      If you are super sensitive you may want to look for only Certified Gluten-Free Products, as @trents mentioned.
    • Scott Adams
      I'm not sure about low calorie, as puddings are typically a dessert, but we do have this category: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/gluten-free-recipes/gluten-free-dessert-recipes-pastries-cakes-cookies-etc/gluten-free-pudding-recipes/ This one might work if you cut back on the sugar:    
    • DebJ14
      We are off next week on our 9th RCCL cruise since our diagnoses.  I send an email to special_needs@rccl.com before every cruise letting them know that I am both dairy and gluten free and my husband is gluten free.   Unfortunately, with the new menus they introduced in 2023, they removed the gluten-free designation from each item on the menu.  Instead of having a dedicated person take gluten-free orders, it now falls to your regular wait staff.  Some have been great and some not so good.  We had a great cruise in May and hit it off with our head waiter.  She went the extra mile and ordered gluten free desserts that were not on the menu.  My problem arises from other food allergies.  I am allergic to dairy, beef, and several types of fish.  On those days my husband is a happy camper with a steak or salmon, veggies and a baked potato.  I end up not getting enough protein, so I bring protein bars.  I also bring snacks for the room. As long as the food is commercially prepared and unopened, you can bring it. Often the only dessert choices that are gluten free contain dairy, so I am out of luck.  But, if you are just gluten free, they have plenty of choices.  See the head chef in the Windjammer buffet and he will give you a tour of the gluten-free choices.  They usually have 2 gluten free desserts out at lunch and they are labeled gluten free. We have found that it works best to have assigned dining rather than anytime.  That way the waiters learn from the get go what our needs are, and we don't have to explain ourselves every night.  We also get a private table for 2.  I frankly got sick and tired of tablemates telling me a little bit of gluten would not hurt me.
×
×
  • Create New...