Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Wine


gbt

Recommended Posts

gbt Newbie

I'm not that familiar with wine, but I've often read over the years that most wines are safe for us Celiacs, so I recently bought a bottle of Montinore 2005 pinot gris. I called the company just to make absolutely certain it was gluten-free and that no cross contamination issues were involved, and I got a rather confusing answer. The woman on the phone (who sounded half-asleep and totally ignorant of what gluten even was ) told me they didn't add any gluten to the wine, but when I pushed a little she said "well we add yeast but no gluten...only the winemaker would really know for sure and he's not here." She then put me on hold for a second and came back to say there was no gluten, but I still don't trust her knowledge on this one. I read that yeast CAN contain gluten, and since I know now that yeast is in there, I'm not sure what to do. Any thoughts? Thanks!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



mamaw Community Regular

Some wines have a preservative in them that is not gluten-free.....We make our own wines so I'm sure I'm not getting any.........

Kaycee Collaborator

Tell me what is the preservative that is not gluten free, so I know what to look out for. The one I am currently drinking has 220 which is sulphur dioxide. I can't see anywhere where that would have gluten.

Catherine

gbt Newbie

Are these preservatives listed on wine labels? Up until now I had assumed all wines were gluten-free until I further researched and discovered otherwise.

gfp Enthusiast

Technically yeast does NOT contain gluten.... its an organism HOWEVER... it can be grown (cultured) using gluten containing products hence CC can occur.....

As far as wines go I try and stick to naturally infected ones where the yeast is NOT added to the wine but is naturally occuring in the soil, vines and walls of the winery.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,085
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Sissie
    Newest Member
    Sissie
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121.1k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • GeoPeanut
      I had no idea! Thank you. 
    • Dc91
      Hi Cristina, 0-6.9 is normal range and I’m >100
    • cristiana
      Hello Dc91 and welcome to the forum! Could you first just add the lab ranges for us for your TTG IgA Antibodies as they vary?   Cristiana  
    • Dc91
      Sorry I should have said these bloods were taken Friday morning, a week after the first initial bloods. So I hadn’t starved myself of gluten before these bloods were taken. 
    • Dc91
      Hi all, I’m new here and completely new to celiac.  last week I went to my doctors for acid reflux issues, she also took bloods and sent them off. Last Thursday I got my TTG IgA Antibodies test come back as >100u/ML which the doctor has referred me to the celiac team at my local hospital. I have stopped eating gluten since Friday morning. (I’m guessing this will take weeks or months to be seen)   earlier this evening I got a new result through for Endomysial IgA antibody = Weak positive.    I’m guessing this gives me the difinitive answer I’ve been looking for? A positive is a positive. any help would be greatly appreciated.  
×
×
  • Create New...