Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Does Anyone Have Any Feedback?


Turtle

Recommended Posts

Turtle Enthusiast

If something has hops in it is that unsafe?

What about licorice? Is it safe?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



happygirl Collaborator

I don't know much about beer. I know beer (in general) is not safe for Celiacs, but I don't know if its the hops or what the process/ingredients there is that make it not safe. I'm sure a beer lover on here will know.

Licorice-Like with most processed foods, it depends on the brand. Post ingredients and we'll help out. I am not a big licorice eater, but I'm sure there has to be a safe one out there! Plus, with halloween coming up, I'm sure they'll be many discussions on safe candy!

good luck!

lovegrov Collaborator

Hops alone would not make a product unsafe.

Licorice candy almost always has wheat, although there are a couple that don't. If you mean licorice as an ingredient, I can't say.

richard

CarlaB Enthusiast

Depends on the licorice. like Richard said, most of the candy has wheat. I drink licorice tea made with licorice root, and it's fine.

In beer, it's not the hops that has gluten, it's the barley, or wheat and barley if it's wheat beer. There are gluten-free beers available.

RiceGuy Collaborator

I imagine there's also a big difference in the ingredients for that fake licorice junk candy, and the real thing. They sure taste different too.

Nancym Enthusiast

Hops is a vine, they use the flower for making beer (and they use hops in some sleep supplements too). It's a very pretty vine, I might grow some!

Corkdarrr Enthusiast

I dont' know what the hops question is about, and I don't know if you're a beer drinker.

But I'm working on getting New Grist into Bar None. I've never been much of a beer drinker myself, but once it was taken away from me it started to sound really good.

Also, a friend of mine bought me some fancy licorace - Trader Joe's, I think. And the first ingredient on it was wheat. So that was sad.

-Courtney


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



sheinly Newbie

My husband just found out he may have celiac and he is a big beer drinker. So if anyone can give me the name of the gluten free beers that would be great.

Turtle Enthusiast

Okay...I first want to apologize for not being clearer about my post/question. :huh: OOPS!!

When I asked about Hops and Licorice I was asking more specifically about products that have these ingredients in them such as shampoos, lotions, etc. I wrote that post this morning and i'm going on about 3 hours of sleep so no wonder it made no sense. HA!

As for beer...I like New Grist...

Courtney: COOL trying to get it into Bar None! I haven't been able to find any gluten-free beer here and therefore, travel out of state to get it. (Shhh don't turn me in for smuggling it in, haha). Last I talked to Earthfare here(which has been a few months) they said they would likely get some Bard's Tale at some point, but that New Grist would not be on the shelves b/c of the alcohol content???? Okay...whatever! I haven't pressed the issue b/c i've been satisfied just picking it up when i'm in our neighboring state...

Nancym Enthusiast

Hops and Licorice don't contain gluten. However, that doesn't mean that the shampoo doesn't also contain gluten. Does that answer your question?

Turtle Enthusiast

YES!

Thanks Nancym.

I've been checking out some face, hair, etc. products and some of them have Hops and/or Licorice in them.

  • 1 year later...
Swimmy Rookie
My husband just found out he may have celiac and he is a big beer drinker. So if anyone can give me the name of the gluten free beers that would be great.

RedBridge beer is gluten free and sold pretty universally (atleast in New England).

Juliebove Rising Star

I know of three kinds of licorice that is gluten-free. Running Rabbit, Candy Tree and Orgran. Of the three, the Running Rabbit can seem a bit strange if you get any of the "red" flavors. Unlike something like Twizzlers or Red Vines, it is not just a fruit flavor. It is fruit plus licorice.

jayhawkmom Enthusiast

I'm not much of a beer drinker, but I tried Bards Tale at a Celiac conference. To me, it tastes like every other beer I've ever had. So, I guess that's a good thing. =)

Licorice ROOT is gluten free. However, licorice candy- as already stated- usually is not.

  • 2 months later...
rick-spiff Rookie

Redbridge Beer is availible at Fred Meyers

made from Sorghum

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,806
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    P Anderson
    Newest Member
    P Anderson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)

    • There are no registered users currently online

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      If you are super sensitive you may want to look for only Certified Gluten-Free Products, as @trents mentioned.
    • Scott Adams
      I'm not sure about low calorie, as puddings are typically a dessert, but we do have this category: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/gluten-free-recipes/gluten-free-dessert-recipes-pastries-cakes-cookies-etc/gluten-free-pudding-recipes/ This one might work if you cut back on the sugar:    
    • DebJ14
      We are off next week on our 9th RCCL cruise since our diagnoses.  I send an email to special_needs@rccl.com before every cruise letting them know that I am both dairy and gluten free and my husband is gluten free.   Unfortunately, with the new menus they introduced in 2023, they removed the gluten-free designation from each item on the menu.  Instead of having a dedicated person take gluten-free orders, it now falls to your regular wait staff.  Some have been great and some not so good.  We had a great cruise in May and hit it off with our head waiter.  She went the extra mile and ordered gluten free desserts that were not on the menu.  My problem arises from other food allergies.  I am allergic to dairy, beef, and several types of fish.  On those days my husband is a happy camper with a steak or salmon, veggies and a baked potato.  I end up not getting enough protein, so I bring protein bars.  I also bring snacks for the room. As long as the food is commercially prepared and unopened, you can bring it. Often the only dessert choices that are gluten free contain dairy, so I am out of luck.  But, if you are just gluten free, they have plenty of choices.  See the head chef in the Windjammer buffet and he will give you a tour of the gluten-free choices.  They usually have 2 gluten free desserts out at lunch and they are labeled gluten free. We have found that it works best to have assigned dining rather than anytime.  That way the waiters learn from the get go what our needs are, and we don't have to explain ourselves every night.  We also get a private table for 2.  I frankly got sick and tired of tablemates telling me a little bit of gluten would not hurt me.
    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
×
×
  • Create New...