Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Ice Cream


Guest ~jules~

Recommended Posts

Guest ~jules~

Can I get some safe gluten free ice cream suggestions? I just realized I haven't had Ice Cream for almost 3 months, and thats just sick and wrong....lol.... :blink: I'm sending hubby to get me some because I'm sick, so I'd like to send him to the store with some suggestions, thanks....


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



almostnrn Explorer

Ben and Jerry's is ok with the exeption of the obvious things...cookie dough, brownie, etc....I hope I caught you in time!

CarlaB Enthusiast

Haagen Dazs -- again, watch for the obvious gluten.

Haagen Dazs chocolate sorbet is wonderful and non-dairy, so it may be easier on your tummy.

  • 2 weeks later...
loraleena Contributor

Stonyfield farms frozen yogurt, vanilla, chocolate and cofee are ok. Also Cold stone creamery has an allergen list. It is a chain.

hez Enthusiast

I have found most ice creams to be safe except for the obvious gluten filled ones. I use Dryer's and Breyer's. Enjoy!

Hez

TinkerbellSwt Collaborator

I also find most regular ice creams are gluten free. Except the obvious, cakey, cookie dough, brownie filled. I usually have in the house for my fiance (he is an ice cream fiend!) Turkey Hill brand or Edys.. which is Dreyers east of the Rockies.

Jennas-auntie Apprentice

I was told that Breyer's used to be ok but is no longer on the most recent list put out by CSA-but I don't actually own this list myself. Does anyone know? I heard it just changed, like this summer.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



angel-jd1 Community Regular
I was told that Breyer's used to be ok but is no longer on the most recent list put out by CSA-but I don't actually own this list myself. Does anyone know? I heard it just changed, like this summer.

This info comes from the Bryer's website FAQ section:

Question

Do you have a list of gluten-free products?

Answer

* Unilever Ice Cream is a member of the Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network and the Food Allergy Resource and Research Program.

* We recommend consumers read the label each time before buying our product.

* If gluten is present, it is clearly listed in plain language on the ingredient label (i.e., wheat flour, rye, barley, oats, and malt).

* We do not publish a list of gluten-free flavors.

* We work closely with ingredient and packaging suppliers to verify gluten in all ingredient components including natural flavors, colors, and spices.

* Some flavorings may contain ethyl alcohol. However, because the alcohol is distilled, they would not pose a threat to anyone who is gluten intolerant.

* We apologize for any inconvenience, but it's the best and safest way for you to know.

Hope that helps :)

-Jessica :rolleyes:

dairy queen Rookie

Perrys will list right on the carton a big green gluten-free if it's gluten free. I called and talked to a lady who was very helpful. All their sherbert is gluten-free too!

Jennas-auntie Apprentice

This info comes from the Bryer's website FAQ section:

QUOTE

Question

Do you have a list of gluten-free products?

Answer

* Unilever Ice Cream is a member of the Food Allergy & Anaphylaxis Network and the Food Allergy Resource and Research Program.

* We recommend consumers read the label each time before buying our product.

* If gluten is present, it is clearly listed in plain language on the ingredient label (i.e., wheat flour, rye, barley, oats, and malt).

* We do not publish a list of gluten-free flavors.

* We work closely with ingredient and packaging suppliers to verify gluten in all ingredient components including natural flavors, colors, and spices.

* Some flavorings may contain ethyl alcohol. However, because the alcohol is distilled, they would not pose a threat to anyone who is gluten intolerant.

* We apologize for any inconvenience, but it's the best and safest way for you to know.

Hope that helps

-Jessica

____________________________________

Thanks!!

breann6 Contributor

I love love love Godiva Milk Chocolate Icecream. It is absolutely decadent! love that stuff- yumm :) I think i'll go have some now :)

oh and the godiva cappucino with milk chocolate hearts is divine with Amy's irresistable brownies :) YUMM!!!

Breann :D

wanted to add that i read that Godiva was NOT gluten free- however no obvious gluten containing ingrediants are listed on the label- and it was on this list as safe-

Open Original Shared Link

i am new to the whole gluten free so i could be overlooking something- :)

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,097
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    KennethCar
    Newest Member
    KennethCar
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121.1k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)

    • There are no registered users currently online

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      I have no specific recommendations but I would suggest looking for products that are advertised as produced in a dedicated gluten-free facility. That should eliminate one possible route of cross contamination. It doesn't guarantee that none of the ingredients going into the product are totally gluten free but is should eliminate adding more CC to the mix via processing machinery.  One of the issues you may be experiencing is that testing has shown that a significant percentage of "Certified Gluten Free" products can test far in excess of 10ppm. There was an article appearing in this forum back last summer outlining the results of testing that showed this to be true. So, it may be somewhat of a pig in a poke when you buy this stuff, regardless of how it is billed. It may be safe for you if it actually fits within the stated requirements of it's billing.
    • Hauama
      I can still have a reaction from “certified gluten free” products I don’t like having to use the eat and see what my body does approach are there really any purely gluten free products or do I just have to make all of my own food? 
    • Kiwifruit
    • trents
      Thanks for following up with us on the results. This might be helpful to you now:  
    • Kiwifruit
      Hi I just wanted to update you all and let you know that I finally have my diagnosis. 2 weeks ago I had my third gastroscopy and the biopsy confirmed the damage. Thank you for giving me the information I needed to advocate for myself when I a was a feeling so lost!
×
×
  • Create New...