Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Glutenous Rice


up-late

Recommended Posts

up-late Rookie

Is glutenous rice a problem or is it just a name mix up? What about rice vinegar? The ingredients said it's mostly gluten from rice? :blink:


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Nantzie Collaborator

Glutenous rice is gluten-free. Basically it's one of those name things, like you said. It's just a world used to mean that it's sticky.

Rice vinegar should be fine. If the ingredients look gluten-free, I'd feel comfortable with it.

Nancy

KaitiUSA Enthusiast

Grains do have gluten...including rice but we just have to avoid certain grains. Rice vinegar should be fine too

elonwy Enthusiast

It's actually a different spelling, its glutinous, with an I. Just means "sticky".

Totally safe.

Elonwy

up-late Rookie

Whew, I'd been looking for an alternative to sandwiches so I thought I'd try sushi rolls but with meat and veg instead of the raw fish, I got the gluten free soy sauce (doesn't taste very nice) I just wanted to be sure the rest of the ingredients were ok.

Thanks :)

purplemom Apprentice

You should try San-J Wheat Free Tamari instead of gluten free soy sauce. We love it. I think it tastes much better than soy sauce.

  • 11 months later...
Joss Rookie

Tamari is great and not as salty either. Once you keep using a product your taste buds ajust anyway. A lot of salt is not good for the body and tamari is a step in the right direction.

Joss


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



VioletBlue Contributor

Glutenous Rice is another name for Sushi rice, Short Grain White Rice or Sweet White rice or vice versa. It's stickier than longer grain rice, and shorter so it's perfect for Sushi. You can also find Glutenous Rice Flour aka Sweet Rice Flour, which is used to make Mochi.

Violet

horsegirl Enthusiast
Whew, I'd been looking for an alternative to sandwiches so I thought I'd try sushi rolls but with meat and veg instead of the raw fish, I got the gluten free soy sauce (doesn't taste very nice) I just wanted to be sure the rest of the ingredients were ok.

Thanks :)

Be careful though - a lot of those "California roll" type things have imitation crab meat in them, which almost always contains gluten (from wheat).

FootballFanatic Contributor

There are ingredients called "rice gluten" and "corn gluten" and they are safe since they come from corn and rice. I was confused the first time I saw that.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,824
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    jennalbrethsen
    Newest Member
    jennalbrethsen
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
    • AuntieAutoimmune
      Great tips, Deb. Thanks.  What a pity that they no longer mark items as gluten-free. And it is even more of a shame that you must bring protein bars instead of the crew helping you with your needs. Are you planning on sailing Royal again? 
    • Scott Adams
      I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      If you are super sensitive you may want to look for only Certified Gluten-Free Products, as @trents mentioned.
    • Scott Adams
      I'm not sure about low calorie, as puddings are typically a dessert, but we do have this category: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/gluten-free-recipes/gluten-free-dessert-recipes-pastries-cakes-cookies-etc/gluten-free-pudding-recipes/ This one might work if you cut back on the sugar:    
×
×
  • Create New...