Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Culver's Restaurant


IsAMom

Recommended Posts

IsAMom Apprentice

We get their family size french fries every Wednesday after church and bring them home to eat with something from here. Does anyone have any info on their fries? We've been eating them for some time and do not seem to have any symptoms (there are 3 celiacs in our home).

Would love to hear what you might know.

Annette in MN


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



ladybugpumpkin Contributor

According to the 2006 Gluten/Wheat Free Guide to Eating Out, Culver's Fries are safe. I keep that book in my purse at all times!!!

jayhawkmom Enthusiast

According to Culvers website, and allergen information... they are NOT gluten free. It says that they actually contain gluten.

I was so happy to see your thread, because we have one of these places, so I thought it might be someplace new to take my kids. So, I went right to the source.... and they are NOT safe. :(

angel-jd1 Community Regular

Nope their fries are not safe. They are fried with other glutney foods. Like Jayhawkmom said, they have a great list online. I would advise to check that out to see what your other options are :)

-Jessica :rolleyes:

IsAMom Apprentice

I see the fries as listed wheat free. Not sure what other source of gluten they could contain. I did ask our local Culver's (over a year ago) and they said they used a dedicated frier.

Does anyone else have any experience with their fries?

Annette

jayhawkmom Enthusiast

This may be a dumb question... but are you positive that the person you spoke with understood the concept of a dedicated fryer? I ask that because I've encountered people who assume that it means that fries are cooked ONLY in that fryer, but give no thought to OTHER THINGS being fried in the same fryer. All the fries are done in one, so in their eyes... it's considered "dedicated."

I've never eaten there, but won't after looking at their website, whether wheat is listed or not. It really could be any number of cross-contaminants. :(

Corkdarrr Enthusiast

Such a shame...pre-glutenfree, I was a culver's freak. yum <sob>... :(


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



ladybugpumpkin Contributor

my bad. sorry.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,105
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    annhil
    Newest Member
    annhil
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121.1k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      This might be helpful to you at this point:   
    • cristiana
      Thank you for the update.  So interesting to know how things are changing, when I was diagnosed I had very similar blood results but still had to have the endoscopy.  Glad you know where you stand.  As your father has celiac disease you probably already know a lot about it, but do contact us if we can help further.
    • trents
      But isn't it easier to just take a D3 supplement? Is the D light somehow a superior source? Links?
    • Scott Adams
      So the way it should be used is to take it before possible gluten exposure, so right before a meal at a restaurant take 1-2 capsules. Unfortunately taking it 1 hour or more after an exposure is too late.
    • Scott Adams
      Welcome to the forum, and thank you for sharing your detailed experience. It sounds like you’ve been through a lot over the past several months, and it’s understandable to feel frustrated after navigating unclear diagnoses and conflicting advice. Since you’ve found relief with a gluten- and corn-free diet, it might be worth continuing that approach for now, especially given your current commitments to culinary classes. You could consider working with a knowledgeable dietitian or a gastroenterologist who specializes in food intolerances and celiac disease to explore potential intolerances or other conditions without immediately reintroducing gluten. If confirming celiac disease is important for your long-term health management, you could plan for an endoscopy during a less busy period, ensuring you follow the gluten challenge protocol beforehand. In the meantime, prioritizing your well-being and avoiding known triggers seems like a practical step. Always advocate for yourself with doctors, and seek second opinions if needed—your health concerns are valid. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
×
×
  • Create New...