Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Smirnoff Vodka


lilliexx

Recommended Posts

lilliexx Contributor

smirnof vodka is on a lot of the gluten free lists i have looked at, but when i went to buy it today the bottle said it was from grain alchohol. i ended up getting monopolowa, but it was a bit pricier then smirnof. I also love that smirnoff makes different flavors!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



lovegrov Collaborator

ALL Smirnoff vodka (except the malt drink Smirnoff Ice) is gluten-free. The grain it's made from is corn.

In reality, ALL distilling alcohol is gluten-free unless gluten is added after the distilling. Distliing takes out the harmful proteins. I know several extremely sensitive people who drink wheat- or rye-based liquors.

richard

astyanax Rookie

drink whisky! i found out right before i started going to this site that it was gXf. also drink cider - all US brands i've seen except for hornsby's are ok.

for whisky i recomend bushmill's.

j9n Contributor

I emailed Smirnoff and they said their Vodkas are gluten-free (but they did not tell me what grains). Smirnoff Ice is not gluten-free. I thought I kept the email but I can not find it.

LBear Newbie

I just had two mixed drinks this week using Smirnoff and OJ. I got really sick the next morning. I was in and out of the bathroom probably 20 times. I'm going to stay away from hard alcohol;my stomach can't take it. Has anyone else gotten really sick after drinking a small quanity of alcohol? Just wandering if I'm the only one this has happened to.

Thanks

LBear

Nadtorious Rookie

I used to drink all my buddies under the table pre-diagnosis days (all 100 lbs. of me back then). Now, 30 lbs. later and with a healed gut, I'll have two drinks and feel drunk as a skunk. I've had lots of problems with wine lately (perhaps the sulfites?) but I'm also EXTREMELY sensitive-I haven't found a juice yet that I can tolerate-but I did have Smirnoff Triple Distilled 2 days ago-straight-and had no problems with it. Smirnoff is distilled from corn-I saw the grain thing on the back of the bottle and freaked after I bought it-but my boyfriend checked their website.

As for getting drunk easier, I've read that we absorb lots more alcohol now that we're healed (hence the getting drunk quicker thing).

Also-Ramapo Valley gluten-free beer is GREAT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Good luck-

Nadia

Guest gillian502

could someone suggest a good red wine that they haven't had any problems with? I bought one bottle recently, and the company told me they use regular flour in the processing of their wine, which turned me off to trying it. any suggestions?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



lovegrov Collaborator

Flour in the processing of wine? Somebody there doesn't know what they're talking about. I've never, ever heard of a wine that wasn't gluten-free.

richard

Guest gillian502

The lady I spoke to said they use flour to "hold together the barrels that they then pour the wine into, and some of the flour could have seeped into the wine in the barrel." I know it probably isn't a big deal anyway, but I'm so sensitive to even traces of gluten I got freaked out by her answer. Everything I've been reading says wines are ok, though, so I guess I should relax! Now if only I could get a straight answer on whether cigarettes are, in fact, gluten-free! :)

astyanax Rookie

shiraz is a good red wine, about $12 a bottle, and it's served in outback, everyone's fave restaurant!

armarti2 Newbie

Falesco Vitiano

Umbria (Italy) 2000 - about $10-$15 a bottle

(I think the last post was recommending Rosemount Estate Shiraz - also very good for the $$, but the other is my favorite!)

debmidge Rising Star

Gillian, Which winery said they use flour? Husband is very gluten senstitive and we would have to avoid them.

Thanks, Debbie

Guest gillian502

The wine I'd stay away from is Woodbridge by Robert Mondavi, since they told me about the flour used in the barrels.

  • 3 weeks later...
coxy Newbie

My family owns a vineyard in tuscany and I've never heard of flour being used at any point of any process. if that helps.

  • 5 years later...
Fatbobco Newbie

I stumbled upon your site by accident, as I was trying to find out about Smirnoff.

Good to know that it is G,F.

If anyone is coming to New Zealand on vacation, there is G,F beer here too (only found 1 so far)

mushroom Proficient

I stumbled upon your site by accident, as I was trying to find out about Smirnoff.

Good to know that it is G,F.

If anyone is coming to New Zealand on vacation, there is G,F beer here too (only found 1 so far)

Which one? O'Briens?? There is another but I forget the name, not being a great beer drinker (and Yes!, I am a Kiwi can you believe?) but I believe it is better than O'Briens.

By the way, welcome to the forum. You will find lots of helpful stuff here, even Down Under stuff :blink:

  • 3 years later...
cynsible Newbie

drink whisky! i found out right before i started going to this site that it was gXf. also drink cider - all US brands i've seen except for hornsby's are ok.

for whisky i recomend bushmill's.

I know it has been quite some time since you posted this, but just wanted to say, I just bought Hornsby's for the first time last saturday and it now says on the box "gluten free".  And....it was pretty good.  I really like the Bold Rock, but the Hornsby's was sweeter, so if you like wine go for that one.

IrishHeart Veteran

I know it has been quite some time since you posted this, but just wanted to say, I just bought Hornsby's for the first time last saturday and it now says on the box "gluten free".  And....it was pretty good.  I really like the Bold Rock, but the Hornsby's was sweeter, so if you like wine go for that one.

 

Hon, the person you are replying to posted back in 2004. I sincerely doubt she will see it. Just so you know.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    2. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    3. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    4. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    5. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,876
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Calsmom
    Newest Member
    Calsmom
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification.  In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.
    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
    • Mynx
      It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process, after the distillation process, the vinegar is still cross contaminated. Please don't dismiss or disregard the small group of people who are 100^ gluten intolerant by saying things are conjecture. Just because you haven't done thr research or aren't as sensitive to gluten doesn't mean that everyone is like you. 
×
×
  • Create New...