Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Whey?


MallysMama

Recommended Posts

MallysMama Explorer

Okay, so my 81 year old grandpa was diagnosed with Celiac (on his deathbed - having a last chance surgery to remove something from his pancreas...and then they went "digging" around to see if anything else was wrong - when they discovered no villi in his intestines). It's nice to know where I got this disease from...I'm no longer the only one in my family with it. Had they just done a simple blood test months and months ago (especially after my mom suggested it) - he could be just fine by now. However, he's still on IV's.... and they might be allowing him to start on liquids soon. So - anyway... my mom calls me today and says that they've told him that Whey contains gluten (comes from barley)?! We're completely flabbergasted! No research I've done proves that these idiot doctors are correct. I'm wondering if any of you know what they're talking about?? Whey, in my knowledge, is a dairy product or derivative. But we don't want to give my grandpa false information that could make him sooo sick again. (I'd actually like him to be able to meet my next baby!!) So, any help - and as soon as possible - is greatly appreciated.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Lisa Mentor

To the best of my knowledge, whey, is diary durived and it not connected to gluten.

If he is having a problem with dairy, yes that may be an issue for him.

lindalee Enthusiast

The SCDer's eat whey and they are totally no grains. I hope some others can help.

jerseyangel Proficient

You are right--whey does not contain gluten--it is from milk.

MallysMama Explorer

Thanks! Now I just need to convince my grandma that the nutrionist they talked too is Wrong! (Easier said than done!) She said that the nutrionist told them that whey can come from either milk or barley. Which is completely stupid! No information I've found says that. I even looked on the Whey Protein Institute's website!! (www.wheyoflife.org) Argh! Stupid people making my grandpa's new diet more complicated than it needs to be. Thanks for the input, though!! I'll pass on the info!

Ursa Major Collaborator
Thanks! Now I just need to convince my grandma that the nutrionist they talked too is Wrong! (Easier said than done!) She said that the nutrionist told them that whey can come from either milk or barley. Which is completely stupid! No information I've found says that. I even looked on the Whey Protein Institute's website!! (www.wheyoflife.org) Argh! Stupid people making my grandpa's new diet more complicated than it needs to be. Thanks for the input, though!! I'll pass on the info!

You're right, and there is another incompetent nutritionist in a hospital, of all places. Whey is definitely ALWAYS derived from milk.

But do you know that casein can blunt the villi as well? And also, most celiacs are unable to digest dairy for at least six months after being diagnosed (even if they're not casein intolerant), because the tips of the villi produce an enzyme called lactase, which helps in dairy digestion.

So, since your grandpa is so sick, it would be a very good idea to eliminate all dairy from his diet for several months, before reintroducing it to see if it causes a problem. He may not get well if he has dairy products at this point. In fact, he needs to start out with a simple, non-irritating diet to heal. And dairy is hard to digest at the best of times.

tarnalberry Community Regular

Whey can't be "derived from barley"! It's a milk protein! Open Original Shared Link is helpful as well. "They" are smoking something funny over there!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



MallysMama Explorer

Yeah, I had already checked the wikipedia site and got their definition. I sent all the info to my mom in an email for her to pass on to my grandparents. I let my grandma know about the dairy being hard to digest at first....thinking maybe that's why they told her to keep him off of whey. That wasn't the case... but she knows about the dairy issues now, at least. I plan on making a visit up there sometime this week - so I can hopefully make sure they got the correct info. Thanks for your help... it's good to know that I'm not the only one who thinks that "nutritionist" is crazy!

debmidge Rising Star

One way to get to the bottom of this is to find out the manufacturer of the product and call their support number and ask about gluten and whey....(by I.V. I think you mean liquid nutrition, not the clear saline/sugar solution hospitals give you to keep you hydrated).

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,094
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Hauama
    Newest Member
    Hauama
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121.1k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      I have no specific recommendations but I would suggest looking for products that are advertised as produced in a dedicated gluten-free facility. That should eliminate one possible route of cross contamination. It doesn't guarantee that none of the ingredients going into the product are totally gluten free but is should eliminate adding more CC to the mix via processing machinery.  One of the issues you may be experiencing is that testing has shown that a significant percentage of "Certified Gluten Free" products can test far in excess of 10ppm. There was an article appearing in this forum back last summer outlining the results of testing that showed this to be true. So, it may be somewhat of a pig in a poke when you buy this stuff, regardless of how it is billed. It may be safe for you if it actually fits within the stated requirements of it's billing.
    • Hauama
      I can still have a reaction from “certified gluten free” products I don’t like having to use the eat and see what my body does approach are there really any purely gluten free products or do I just have to make all of my own food? 
    • Kiwifruit
    • trents
      Thanks for following up with us on the results. This might be helpful to you now:  
    • Kiwifruit
      Hi I just wanted to update you all and let you know that I finally have my diagnosis. 2 weeks ago I had my third gastroscopy and the biopsy confirmed the damage. Thank you for giving me the information I needed to advocate for myself when I a was a feeling so lost!
×
×
  • Create New...