Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Worcestershire Souce Substitute


agentmm

Recommended Posts

ArtGirl Enthusiast
Here are the ingredients listed on a bottle of French's made in the USA from my fridge (should be listed by weight right?):

~ distilled vinegar

~ molasses

~ corn syrup

~ water

~ caramel color

~ sugar

~ spices ( aha! could be 2 or 100 )

~ anchovies

~ natural flavor ( just one?)

~ tamarind

FYI - from Open Original Shared Link

Tamarinds are slow-growing, long-lived, evergreen trees that under optimum conditions can grow 80 feet high with a spread of 20 to 35 ft., in its native eastern Africa and Asia. However, in Southern California it seldom reaches more than 15 to 25 ft. in height.

The 3 - 8 inch long, brown, irregularly curved pods are borne in abundance along the new branches. As the pods mature, they fill out somewhat and the juicy, acidulous pulp turns brown or reddish-brown. When fully ripe, the shells are brittle and easily broken. The pulp dehydrates to a sticky paste enclosed by a few coarse stands of fiber. The pods may contain from 1 to 12 large, flat, glossy brown, obovate seeds embedded in the brown, edible pulp. The pulp has a pleasing sweet/sour flavor and is high in both acid and sugar. It is also rich in vitamin B and high in calcium. There are wide differences in fruit size and flavor in seedling trees. Indian types have longer pods with 6 - 12 seeds, while the West Indian types have shorter pods containing only 3 - 6 seeds. Most tamarinds in the Americas are of the shorter type

Tamarinds may be eaten fresh, but they area most commonly used with sugar and water in the American tropics to prepare a cooling drink. The pulp is used to flavor preserves and chutney, to make meat sauces ant to pickle fish. Candy can be made by mixing the pulp with dry sugar and molding it into desired shapes.

... I'd never heard of a tamarine so did a google search for it. :)

  • 1 year later...

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



sandib5 Newbie

Lee and Perrins does in fact have Malt Vinegar in it and Malt Vinegar is made from Barley and Barley has gluten -- therefore, Lee and Perrins is NOT Gluten Free. They have different standards in the UK and they send the concentrate here to their New Jersey plant and it also contains Malt Vinegar and is not safe for any Celiac to use.

Hello, Thanks for the prompt reply!

Isn't there malt vinegar in Lea and Perrins??

Thanks in advance,

MM

sandib5 Newbie

Make sure that Soy Sauce is also gluten free -- Most Soy Sauce made in the US contains wheat. Bragg's is gluten free and I found one in my local supermarket that is gluten free.

I don't have a bottle of Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce right now (I'm so ashamed as it's undoubtably the very best, and I bought French's last time 'cause it was cheaper), but I'm pretty sure it contains both anchovies and tamarinds. Don't know about gluten. Here are the ingredients listed on a bottle of French's made in the USA from my fridge (should be listed by weight right?):

~ distilled vinegar

~ molasses

~ corn syrup

~ water

~ caramel color

~ sugar

~ spices ( aha! could be 2 or 100 )

~ anchovies

~ natural flavor ( just one?)

~ tamarind

Unless the gluten is from the secret natural flavor, I guess it's gluten-free. lm

psawyer Proficient

Lea & Perrins Worcestershire sauce varies from country to country with respect to the vinegar: "Some ingredients are sourced locally." Here in Canada, the first ingredient listed is "Malt Vinegar (from barley)." In the United States, it is my understanding that the vinegar used is distilled, which would make it safe regardless of source (but it is not barley-- understand that it is corn). I can't use the L&P sold here, but I expect to be in the states next month and will pick some up gluten-free bottles and bring them back with me. I cannot speak to the UK formulation. The stuff sold in the US is made in the US. The stuff sold in Canada is made in Canada (under license by E.D.Smith).

As far as I know, French's is gluten-free, but I can't find it in any store.

Always read labels.

NOTE: This is an old thread, recently revived. The information in the early part of the thread may no longer be correct, as formulas change.

Michi8 Contributor

My understanding is that it's not the vinegar, but the soy sauce ingredient that is the problem. I have found Heinz worcestershire sauce (in Canada) that has soy sauce without wheat...and there is no barley malts in the ingredients either.

Michelle

Lea & Perrins Worcestershire sauce varies from country to country with respect to the vinegar: "Some ingredients are sourced locally." Here in Canada, the first ingredient listed is "Malt Vinegar (from barley)." In the United States, it is my understanding that the vinegar used is distilled, which would make it safe regardless of source (but it is not barley-- understand that it is corn). I can't use the L&P sold here, but I expect to be in the states next month and will pick some up gluten-free bottles and bring them back with me. I cannot speak to the UK formulation. The stuff sold in the US is made in the US. The stuff sold in Canada is made in Canada (under license by E.D.Smith).

As far as I know, French's is gluten-free, but I can't find it in any store.

Always read labels.

NOTE: This is an old thread, recently revived. The information in the early part of the thread may no longer be correct, as formulas change.

psawyer Proficient

My comments about ingredients were specific to the Lea & Perrins brand, which does not have soy sauce as an ingredient. With that brand, it is the malt vinegar that is the issue with the Canadian version.

I keep looking in stores, but all I ever seem to see is Lea & Perrins. I've never seen Heinz or French's. Soy sauce is a possible source of gluten since it frequently contains wheat, but it is not an ingredient in the L&P sauce.

Michi8 Contributor
My comments about ingredients were specific to the Lea & Perrins brand, which does not have soy sauce as an ingredient. With that brand, it is the malt vinegar that is the issue with the Canadian version.

I keep looking in stores, but all I ever seem to see is Lea & Perrins. I've never seen Heinz or French's. Soy sauce is a possible source of gluten since it frequently contains wheat, but it is not an ingredient in the L&P sauce.

I know you were being specific to the Lea & Perrins brand. And you are correct, the offending ingredient is barley malt vinegar (I had to look it up online, because I threw out my bottle (Canadian) a long time ago.) In checking out the online info, I did find out that Heinz has owned Lea & Perrins since 2005. The Heinz worcestershire sauce contains white vinegar and soy sauce without wheat. As far as I can tell it is not available in the US market, but is available in Canada.

Michelle


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



  • 7 months later...
Lynne B. Newbie

Hi,

I'm newly diagnosed (living in Canada) and was unsure about Worcestershire sauce, so wrote to Lea & Perrins. I rec'd this reply 3 days ago:

Thank you for taking the time to contact us. As per your inquiry, please be advised that the Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce distributed in Canada is not gluten free, due to the malt vinegar. However, the HP Sauce sold in Canada is indeed gluten free. Should you require any additional information, please do not hesitate to contact us further.

Sincerely,

Gina D. Woodside

Consumer Services Coordinator

H.J. Heinz Company of Canada Ltd

Hope this helps to avoid any confusion in Canada. Guess I'll have to get some from the U.S., as it would be hard to live without! :)

  • 2 years later...
Tiffm Newbie

Hello,

I am brand new to this board so please tell me if this is in the wrong category.

I am looking for a gluten-free Worcestershire Sauce substitute.

Is there such a thing???

Thanks in advance, I am going to post like a madman on here now that I found this!

MM

The internet is a beautiful thing these days... if you are from Canada and want to order American Lea and Perrins just head over to Amazon and get it :)

love2travel Mentor

The internet is a beautiful thing these days... if you are from Canada and want to order American Lea and Perrins just head over to Amazon and get it :)

Or get someone from the US to bring it back! I requested a whole case of the stuff from my in-laws who spent the winter down south. When my husband travels on business he picks some up for me, too. :) Too bad he didn't have room in his luggage for Chex...

etta694 Explorer

Open Original Shared Link

and then there's Wizard's Gluten Free... which isn't as good as Lea and Perrins but I am quite happy with it for Caesar Salads.

DougE Rookie

I just went to their US website Open Original Shared Link Nothing to worry about in the ingredients.

But on the Canadian site Open Original Shared Link The first ingredient is malt vinegar.

  • 4 months later...
SMG25 Newbie

I'm new as well (just diagnosed 2 weeks ago...ugh!!)

Just wondering if worcestershire sauce has soy sauce in it because I noticed regular soy sauce has wheat in it....I'm soooo confused with all of this!!!!!

lovegrov Collaborator

As you should be able to see from this thread, a lot can depend on where you live. Anyway, in the U.S. every worcestershire sauce I've seen has been gluten-free. IF you find a sauce that has soy sauce in it, then you have to continue reading the contents to see if that soy sauce has wheat. Some soy sauces do not have wheat. If the soy sauce does have wheat, the wheat will be clearly listed.

richard

  • 3 months later...
geekfarmer Newbie

(I am not trying to be pushy- but I was really woried about it so I looked it up and called them)

CarrieFaith and Psawyer-- It it the same recepie in Canada and USA and safe for Celiac

Acording to the L&P web site Fiddle Faddle is correct--

Open Original Shared Link

Is the Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce sold in the US the same as the sauce sold in the rest of the world?

Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce is made to the original recipe in two factories. The original factory in Worcester, and a sister factory in New Jersey USA. The New Jersey factory follows the same recipe as the Worcester factory, although some ingredients are sourced locally. Product sold in the rest of the world is manufactured and exported from our factory in Worcester, UK. (Worcester refers to the town itself, whilst Worcestershire indicates the 'shire' or county in which the town of Worcester is located).

Is Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce gluten free?

Lea & Perrins Worcestershire is suitable for a coeliac diet, for further information on Nutritional and Allergy queries please contact us.

I am in oklahoma, just checked the bottle and it lists soy sauce which can have gluren.

kareng Grand Master

I am in oklahoma, just checked the bottle and it lists soy sauce which can have gluren.

If you are talking about Lea & Perrins Worchestershire sauce in the US, it is most definitely gluten free. It states it on the bottle. Soy sauce is not even listed as an ingredient. If soy sauce were an ingredient, it would list, usually in ( )the ingredients of the soy sauce. There are soy sauces without wheat

Lisa Mentor

I am in oklahoma, just checked the bottle and it lists soy sauce which can have gluren.

Yes it CAN have gluten, but if it does not list wheat, it's not in there. Not all soy sauces contain wheat.

Please take note that the origin of this thread was four years ago.

psawyer Proficient

Another old topic brought back from the dead. :(

Lea & Perrins may be made to the same recipe in Canada and the US, but the ingredients are not the same. The "original recipe" apparently calls for "vinegar." :blink:

In the US, distilled vinegar is used by Heinz to make L&P--they own the brand. :)

In the United Kingdom, malt vinegar from barley is used. The product sold in Canada is imported from the UK. :(

So, gluten-free in the US, but not in Canada and the UK. :rolleyes:

If you are in Canada, you may be able to find gluten-free Heinz-branded Worcestershire sauce at a Wal-Mart Super Center. As far as I can tell, it is identical to the US version of L&P. Metro has a version under their house brand, Selection, which has different ingredients, but none of them contain gluten.

Neither the version of L&P sold in the US, nor the one sold in Canada and the UK, has soy sauce as an ingredient. :huh:

  • 3 weeks later...
Beth Anastasia Newbie

(I am not trying to be pushy- but I was really woried about it so I looked it up and called them)

CarrieFaith and Psawyer-- It it the same recepie in Canada and USA and safe for Celiac

Acording to the L&P web site Fiddle Faddle is correct--

Open Original Shared Link

Is the Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce sold in the US the same as the sauce sold in the rest of the world?

Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce is made to the original recipe in two factories. The original factory in Worcester, and a sister factory in New Jersey USA. The New Jersey factory follows the same recipe as the Worcester factory, although some ingredients are sourced locally. Product sold in the rest of the world is manufactured and exported from our factory in Worcester, UK. (Worcester refers to the town itself, whilst Worcestershire indicates the 'shire' or county in which the town of Worcester is located).

Is Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce gluten free?

Lea & Perrins Worcestershire is suitable for a coeliac diet, for further information on Nutritional and Allergy queries please contact us.

Well, that seems strange, because I was just looking at the label yesterday, and it states Malt Vinegar (Made from Barley) ... So I wonder why they would put that if it is gluten free. I'm not going to take a chance though.

Next to that bottle there was a Worcestershire Sauce from Heinz. It didn't look like it had any gluten.. It did have a vinegar, and I think it was a malt, but I know that Malt vinegar can be from other sources other than Barley. Does anyone know about the Heinz one?

kareng Grand Master

Well, that seems strange, because I was just looking at the label yesterday, and it states Malt Vinegar (Made from Barley) ... So I wonder why they would put that if it is gluten free. I'm not going to take a chance though.

Next to that bottle there was a Worcestershire Sauce from Heinz. It didn't look like it had any gluten.. It did have a vinegar, and I think it was a malt, but I know that Malt vinegar can be from other sources other than Barley. Does anyone know about the Heinz one?

What you are responding to is from 2007. Products change over time. Also, the ingredients may be different from country to country.

I am in the US. The Lea & Perrins in my fridge does not contain malt vinegar.

Lisa Mentor

What you are responding to is from 2007. Products change over time. Also, the ingredients may be different from country to country.

I am in the US. The Lea & Perrins in my fridge does not contain malt vinegar.

I believe it still does in Canada.

psawyer Proficient

Beth, please see my post immediately above yours.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - K6315 replied to K6315's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      4

      Newly gluten free… withdrawal?

    2. - kate g posted a topic in Gluten-Free Restaurants
      0

      Nandos improper preparion celiac childrens food

    3. - Scott Adams replied to TexasCeliacNewbie's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      3

      High blood test numbers - with scales. Any advice?

    4. - trents replied to K6315's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      4

      Newly gluten free… withdrawal?

    5. - K6315 replied to K6315's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      4

      Newly gluten free… withdrawal?


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,753
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Alison A
    Newest Member
    Alison A
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)

    • There are no registered users currently online

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • K6315
      Well, that's interesting. I am lactose intolerant and have been managing that for years. I'd be interested in seeing if that changes once I feel better from not eating gluten (one thing at a time for now, though). Helpful to hear about the avenin. I will do some digging and pose that to the dietitian. Grateful for your feedback.
    • kate g
      Recently my daughter ate in nandos harlow I rang in advance to speak about the celiac protocals and learned that childs portion chicken nandinos is cooked on the same grill as garlic bread even if they are celiac! Even if you clean it this is not good practise and will be making many children ill. I learnt adults butterfly chicken cooked on a grill purely for chicken.  This is fine and what we ordered however nandos need to take note of your practises for the safety of celiac children. my daughter has been ill from their nandinos chicken before and i emailed head office and they wouldnt accept responsibility 
    • Scott Adams
      I agree with @RMJ, you have multiple positive tests so celiac disease is likely.  This article might be helpful. It breaks down each type of test, and what a positive results means in terms of the probability that you might have celiac disease.     
    • trents
      One small study found that 50% of celiacs react to the dairy protein "casein" like they do to gluten. It is also common for celiacs to be lactose (the sugar in milk) intolerant, though that often disappears in time as the villi heal. About 10% of celiacs react to the oat protein "avenin" like they do gluten.
    • K6315
      Thank you so much Trents (Scott?)! I have started working with a dietitian and did a deep research dive as soon as I got the diagnosis. I am aware of what you mentioned in the first two paragraphs, and was not aware of anything in the third, so I am grateful for that information, and will talk to the dietitian about that. I think I was most interested in the withdrawal process - it gives me hope that, although I have felt unwell recently, I just need to be patient (not a strong suit). I have printed the article you sent and will look at it more closely. Thanks again!
×
×
  • Create New...