Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Refried Beans


Rebecca47

Recommended Posts

Rebecca47 Contributor

I just opened a can of rosarita refried beans (spicy jalapeno) it says may contain soy. Wouldn't it say contains wheat or gluten? i want to eat ,but i dont want to get sick.

rebecca


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



StrongerToday Enthusiast
I just opened a can of rosarita refried beans (spicy jalapeno) it says may contain soy. Wouldn't it say contains wheat or gluten? i want to eat ,but i dont want to get sick.

rebecca

It would say wheat if it was made with (or may contain) wheat. Soy is one of the big allergies they have to list now in the ingredient list.

Rebecca47 Contributor

Thank you ! After i ate dinner which was Beans organic white cheese, and skinless chicken breast with Lawry's seasoned salt only. I was bloated. so today I am going to have beans again with eggs and organic cheese. To see what happens ? I know its probably a bad thing to do, any suggestions? <_<

rebecca

StrongerToday Enthusiast

Personally, I can't eat beans twice in two days. You know what they say "bean beans.... the magic fruit, the more you eat...." :ph34r::lol:

TinkerbellSwt Collaborator

I use regular Ortega vegetarian refried beans. I prefer the vegetarian due to the fact that lard is usually the ingredient in the others.. and I just cant stand the idea of eating lard. If I dont know its there.. I guess its ok.. its totally mind over matter for me. LOL. I have never had any problems with Ortega

CarlaB Enthusiast
I use regular Ortega vegetarian refried beans. I prefer the vegetarian due to the fact that lard is usually the ingredient in the others.. and I just cant stand the idea of eating lard. If I dont know its there.. I guess its ok.. its totally mind over matter for me. LOL. I have never had any problems with Ortega

LOL, I get the the ones from Mexico that have lard. :) I like the taste and need the calories!!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,097
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Karen Lappe
    Newest Member
    Karen Lappe
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121.1k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Dc91
      Just had a letter through from the Celiac team, they’ve diagnosed me through my bloods, no endoscopy/biopsy needed. I guess I’ll be sticking around on this forum and I’m sure I’ll be back soon. thanks for all your help 
    • trents
      I have no specific recommendations but I would suggest looking for products that are advertised as produced in a dedicated gluten-free facility. That should eliminate one possible route of cross contamination. It doesn't guarantee that none of the ingredients going into the product are totally gluten free but is should eliminate adding more CC to the mix via processing machinery.  One of the issues you may be experiencing is that testing has shown that a significant percentage of "Certified Gluten Free" products can test far in excess of 10ppm. There was an article appearing in this forum back last summer outlining the results of testing that showed this to be true. So, it may be somewhat of a pig in a poke when you buy this stuff, regardless of how it is billed. It may be safe for you if it actually fits within the stated requirements of it's billing.
    • Hauama
      I can still have a reaction from “certified gluten free” products I don’t like having to use the eat and see what my body does approach are there really any purely gluten free products or do I just have to make all of my own food? 
    • Kiwifruit
    • trents
      Thanks for following up with us on the results. This might be helpful to you now:  
×
×
  • Create New...