This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Celiac From Birth?

doulagrl

doulagrl Apprentice

Hey Everyone,

I'm still new to celiac disease and could use some advice. When my son was born he had very bad colic and ezcema. I was breastfeeding him and kept a food log, eliminating one by one the things that seemed to trigger his symptoms. In the end I was down to grilled meats, carrots, peas, apples, bannanas, rice milk and rice cereal. Suddenly the fatigue, gastro symptoms, etc. that I had been battling for years disappeared and I inadvertanltly discovered from this that I had been reacting to gluten. I didn't figure this out until two years later when I heard about Celiac for the first time and realized that the improvement I had seen in my health while I was nursing came from the change in diet.