Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Turkey


AmandaD

Recommended Posts

AmandaD Community Regular

We bought a Jennie-O "Natural" Young Turkey (says no artificial ingredients, minimally processed, 6 percent retained water). I couldn't find what's on their website called a "Prime" young turkey.

The one we bought should be okay, correct?

A


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Lisa Mentor

It will be required by law to list wheat on it's lables.

Flotenspieler Newbie

As I recall, most of the Jennie-O stuff is gluten free. Here's the Hormel link to the list of their gluten free products (has a bunch of Jennio-O items there)

Open Original Shared Link

lovegrov Collaborator

It's gluten-free. It's late, but one more reminder to all, if a turkey label doesn't list wheat, rye or barley, it's gluten-free. No need to worry. It's safe. Really.

richard

  • 4 weeks later...
ReneCox Contributor

I was glutened by turkey on thanksgiving.(self basting) The ingredients did not list wheat rye or barley. When i called the company, they said it contained gluten. the ingredients did say 'natural flavorings" but not what they were

ravenwoodglass Mentor
I was glutened by turkey on thanksgiving.(self basting) The ingredients did not list wheat rye or barley. When i called the company, they said it contained gluten. the ingredients did say 'natural flavorings" but not what they were

This is why we need to call or verify everything we eat ourselves. Just because you read something that says an item is safe does not mean it is. I have made myself ill more than once because I read somewhere an item was safe only to find out the hard way that it isn't. Just because the label does not list gluten containing ingredients does not mean the item is safe for us to eat. Many companies in addition to putting gluten contain ingredients in their 'natural flavoring' will NOT disclose on a label the risk of Cross contamination. Do NOT assume that the bird is safe, call the maker and ask.

VegasCeliacBuckeye Collaborator

Richard, I diagree slightly.

Wheat has to be disclosed, but not barley or rye (not that I have ever seen barley or rye in a turkey).

Many natural flavoings have a wheat base, but it is unclear whether those have to be reported or not (evidenced by the self-basting glutening).

be safe, call the company...


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



lovegrov Collaborator

"Wheat has to be disclosed, but not barley or rye (not that I have ever seen barley or rye in a turkey).

Many natural flavoings have a wheat base, but it is unclear whether those have to be reported or not (evidenced by the self-basting glutening)."

Because they are grains and would add nutrition to meat, barley and rye MUST by USDA law be listed in turkey and any other meat. I have called the USDA and specifically asked this question and they have confirmed it. This is a different rule from the new allergen one. The USDA law has been in effect for a number of years now.

Any wheat in any food absolutely MUST be listed, even if it's in the natural flavorings. There's no question about this -- it's the law now.

lovegrov Collaborator

"I was glutened by turkey on thanksgiving.(self basting) The ingredients did not list wheat rye or barley. When i called the company, they said it contained gluten. the ingredients did say 'natural flavorings" but not what they were"

Please tell us which company.

I have never heard of a turkey with gluten unless it was stuffed, but if this company is not listing wheat it is violating a USDA law and the new allergen law. They need to be reported.

richard

happygirl Collaborator

Richard, thanks for sharing that info. I knew about the allergen labeling law, but not the 'nutritional' part.

ravenwoodglass Mentor
"I was glutened by turkey on thanksgiving.(self basting) The ingredients did not list wheat rye or barley. When i called the company, they said it contained gluten. the ingredients did say 'natural flavorings" but not what they were"

Please tell us which company.

I have never heard of a turkey with gluten unless it was stuffed, but if this company is not listing wheat it is violating a USDA law and the new allergen law. They need to be reported.

richard

I would like to know the company also, but they may not be actually breaking any laws at this point. Companies are being allowed to run out their labels. If they had a lot of them who knows when the allergen label will show up. Also the gluten may not be wheat related, it could have been barley which is often used for color and flavor.

tarnalberry Community Regular
I would like to know the company also, but they may not be actually breaking any laws at this point. Companies are being allowed to run out their labels. If they had a lot of them who knows when the allergen label will show up. Also the gluten may not be wheat related, it could have been barley which is often used for color and flavor.

As Richard stated, this is not about the allergen labeling law. This is about a USDA law, regarding *meat only*, that has been in effect for years, and includes *all grains*.

ravenwoodglass Mentor

Following is an excerpt from the FDA's labeling regulations. If you read carefully and particularly paragraph C you will see why this law does not protect celiacs as much as we would like. If a company can show that the amount of wheat is under the codex standard they can request that they not put it in the labeling. The FDA has not decided yet what the allowable amount of the toxin is, that will come by 2008, until then and perhaps after the codex standard will mean that things may not be as gluten free as we would like. To me gluten free is just that, non allowed in the food, but unfortunately that is not the case. Hence the reason we still deal with cross contamination and undisclosed gluten. Money talks and the big companies have alot. You can access a full copy of this by googling "FDA food labeling laws" It will be the first thing that comes up.

`"`(5) The Secretary may by regulation modify the requirements of subparagraph (A) or (B) of paragraph (1), or eliminate either the requirement of subparagraph (A) or the requirements of subparagraph (B) of paragraph (1), if the Secretary determines that the modification or elimination of the requirement of subparagraph (A) or the requirements of subparagraph (B) is necessary to protect the public health.

``(6)

(A) Any person may petition the Secretary to exempt a food ingredient described in section 201(qq)(2) from the allergen labeling requirements of this subsection.

``(B) The Secretary shall approve or deny such petition within 180 days of receipt of the petition or the petition shall be deemed denied, unless an extension of time is mutually agreed upon by the Secretary and the petitioner.

``

© The burden shall be on the petitioner to provide scientific evidence (including the analytical method used to produce the evidence) that demonstrates that such food ingredient, as derived by the method specified in the petition, does not cause an allergic response that poses a risk to human health.

``

(D) A determination regarding a petition under this paragraph shall constitute final agency action. Public information. Deadline.``(E) The Secretary shall promptly post to a public site all petitions received under this paragraph within 14 days of receipt and the Secretary shall promptly post the Secretary's response to each. "

tarnalberry Community Regular

But we're talking about a turkey, which does not fall under the FDA law, but the USDA law. Different law entirely.

lovegrov Collaborator

As mentioned before, the law covering meats is a USDA law and has been on the books now for years. Even if the turkey manufacturer hasn't violated the FDA allergen law, the USDA law still applies. I have called the USDA more than once and confirmed that meats HAVE to list WRBO. It's just that simple.

richard

lovegrov Collaborator

I'm still hoping ReneeCox will come back and tell us which turkey.

richard

ReneCox Contributor

It was just a frozen publix brand self basting turkey. After hearing what richard said about the laws, I had my doubts that the person I talked to on the phone was correct about the turkey containg gluten. I called again yesterday to see if maybe the person I spoke to before was mistaken, but the "manager" i needed to talk wasn't there. I'll try again today. It's possible that the person I spoke to was mistaken, but I did have a reaction from something on Thanksgiving. That is why I called in the first place.

ReneCox Contributor

ok everyone, The manager just called me back. He called lakeland where the turkey was originally from, and confirmed that there was NO gluten in the turkey. He apologized that I was given false information. The person who told me it did contain gluten seemed so confident that I did not second guess him. He told me it contained 2% gluten. I guess he was wrong...

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - Bebee posted a topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      0

      Testing for celiac

    2. - K6315 replied to K6315's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      4

      Newly gluten free… withdrawal?

    3. - kate g posted a topic in Gluten-Free Restaurants
      0

      Nandos improper preparion celiac childrens food

    4. - Scott Adams replied to TexasCeliacNewbie's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      3

      High blood test numbers - with scales. Any advice?

    5. - trents replied to K6315's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      4

      Newly gluten free… withdrawal?


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,759
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Audrey56
    Newest Member
    Audrey56
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Bebee
      I am new here, I have been diagnosed with Microscopic Colitis (Lymphatic) years ago and have been gluten-free, DF since, but I still can have occasional bouts of diarrhea (still trying to figure that out).  I also have MS, Hypothyroid, Arthritis, Reynaud's and my rosacea has been acting up lately.  What treatment is suggested to help with rosacea?  I would like to know too if there is a test for celiac if you have been gluten-free?   Thank you, Barb    
    • K6315
      Well, that's interesting. I am lactose intolerant and have been managing that for years. I'd be interested in seeing if that changes once I feel better from not eating gluten (one thing at a time for now, though). Helpful to hear about the avenin. I will do some digging and pose that to the dietitian. Grateful for your feedback.
    • kate g
      Recently my daughter ate in nandos harlow I rang in advance to speak about the celiac protocals and learned that childs portion chicken nandinos is cooked on the same grill as garlic bread even if they are celiac! Even if you clean it this is not good practise and will be making many children ill. I learnt adults butterfly chicken cooked on a grill purely for chicken.  This is fine and what we ordered however nandos need to take note of your practises for the safety of celiac children. my daughter has been ill from their nandinos chicken before and i emailed head office and they wouldnt accept responsibility 
    • Scott Adams
      I agree with @RMJ, you have multiple positive tests so celiac disease is likely.  This article might be helpful. It breaks down each type of test, and what a positive results means in terms of the probability that you might have celiac disease.     
    • trents
      One small study found that 50% of celiacs react to the dairy protein "casein" like they do to gluten. It is also common for celiacs to be lactose (the sugar in milk) intolerant, though that often disappears in time as the villi heal. About 10% of celiacs react to the oat protein "avenin" like they do gluten.
×
×
  • Create New...