Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Very New At This


Sue F

Recommended Posts

Sue F Rookie

Help. I was just diagnosed last week and felt that I could handle this until I read so much on the internet. Is milk really off limits? vanilla? ice cream? I'm trying to take steps. I have been sick for about 5 years, so this diagnosis comes as a mixed bag - relief and schock all at once.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



celiacgirls Apprentice

If you just need to avoid gluten, milk and most ice cream is ok. Some of us here are casein intolerant as well and that is why we avoid those. Some people, when they are first diagnosed, have problems with lactose so avoid milk products for a while to feel better more quickly. Most vanilla is ok.

Welcome. You will find lots of good information here.

Lisa Mentor

Sue:

Welcome!

There is soooo much information here to read. Try to read through these posts and you will find just about everything you need to know.

Nini, a board member has a "Newbi Survival Kit". I bet that she will post soon with that invaluable information.

Many people here, when they have begun their gluten-free diet, have difficulty with dairy. I would recommend that you back off that a bit untill you begin healing and then gradually begin an intoduction.

I considered my dx's with celiac as a new healthy beginning, sure a heck beats cancer (which I though).

Good luck and always feel free to ask away.

mamaw Community Regular

Welcome Sue F.

Just wanted to say welcome & give it some time to sink in. It is a shock to try to change a lifetime of wheat & gluten. It will work itself into your lifestyle , just don't get overwehlmed. Take it slow & start out with veggies, meats, & fruits you know are safe. Add new things as you find they are gluten free. Clan Thompson has a great website as well as this one.

good luck

mamaw

happygirl Collaborator

Welcome to the board! We are happy you have found us. This board is such a great resource. Read, read, read!

And make sure you check out www.celiac.com, the parent site to this forum. There is a ton of information, as well as lists of ingredients.

Many ice creams/milks are safe. The main problem would be, say, cookie dough ice cream, bc of the cookie dough!

Most vanilla extracts are safe...the alcohol in them is safe.

Let us know what else we can do to help. Feel free to PM me or ask any questions! We all started off by not knowing ANYTHING, so we have been in your shoes!!!!!

Ursa Major Collaborator

Hi Sue, and welcome to this board. The reason why it would be better if you wouldn't have any dairy products for at least six months is, that the tips of the villi produce the enzyme lactase, which allows you to digest dairy. Of course, if your villi are blunted by celiac disease, lactase is not produced, and you can't digest dairy, resulting in an intolerance.

Many (not all by far) people with celiac disease can tolerate dairy again after six months to a year. But initially, they'd do well to eliminate dairy as well as gluten for faster healing and to feel better faster.

Plus, for people with casein intolerance, that intolerance can result in blunting of villi as well (the same goes for soy). So, if by any chance you are casein intolerant, you won't heal if you keep eating dairy. You can test dairy in six months to see if you get symptoms from it.

Sue F Rookie
:rolleyes: Thank you all so much for your words of wisdom. I'll keep visiting and I'm sure learning! I teach cooking and so I'm always willing to try new things!

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,750
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Ajustice
    Newest Member
    Ajustice
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      I agree with @RMJ, you have multiple positive tests so celiac disease is likely.  This article might be helpful. It breaks down each type of test, and what a positive results means in terms of the probability that you might have celiac disease.     
    • trents
      One small study found that 50% of celiacs react to the dairy protein "casein" like they do to gluten. It is also common for celiacs to be lactose (the sugar in milk) intolerant, though that often disappears in time as the villi heal. About 10% of celiacs react to the oat protein "avenin" like they do gluten.
    • K6315
      Thank you so much Trents (Scott?)! I have started working with a dietitian and did a deep research dive as soon as I got the diagnosis. I am aware of what you mentioned in the first two paragraphs, and was not aware of anything in the third, so I am grateful for that information, and will talk to the dietitian about that. I think I was most interested in the withdrawal process - it gives me hope that, although I have felt unwell recently, I just need to be patient (not a strong suit). I have printed the article you sent and will look at it more closely. Thanks again!
    • Sandi20
      I really like Thorne!  I've researched thier products.  Thank you so much.
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @K6315! Gluten withdrawal typically lasts for a period of a few weeks. But there is a real learning curve involved in actually attaining to a gluten free dietary state. Much more is involved than just cutting out major sources of gluten such as bread and pasta. It's all the places that gluten is hidden in the food supply that is difficult to ferret out, like soy sauce and canned tomato soup, canned chili and canned pork n' beans, some "lite" pancake syrups, potato salad, flavorings, etc., etc. Gluten-containing grain products are hidden through alternate terminology and found in places you would never expect.  There is also "cross contamination" where naturally gluten free foods come into contact with gluten-containing grains during farming, transportation, storage and manufacturing processes. Then there is the issue of "cross reactivity" whereby you may be having gluten-like reaction to food proteins whose structure is similar to gluten. Chief among these are dairy, oats (even gluten-free oats), soy, corn and eggs. I am including this article that you might find helpful:   
×
×
  • Create New...