Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Wine, Lectins And Salicylates


rtilil

Recommended Posts

rtilil Rookie

what are lectins and salicylates, where are they found, what do i need to know about them. and any other pertinent information. i am newly diagnosed celiac and feel much better already since having eliminated all gluten from my diet.

thanks,

reva.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



rtilil Rookie

i'm new to celiac and was reading on the site about drinking wine. is wine good for celiacs? do some wines have gluten? what about grape juices?

also, what should i know about lectins and salicylates. i've asked about this before in the reply portion of the site, but, i think now i figured out how to post properly.

thanks,

reva.

gf4life Enthusiast

Hi Reva,

You don't really need to know anything about Lectins or Salicylates unless you have a sensitivity to them or are allergic to them. I don't think that they are related to Celiac at all. A few people on this site are sensitive/allergic to them, my son Jacob is allergic to aspirin, and since that is derived from salicylates we have to watch his salicylate intake. Salicylates are a natural occuring component in most foods and each food has a different level. So the foods that are high in salicylates we have to limit or he could get a reaction. There are lists available on line that will tell you what foods are high, moderate or low in salicylates.

I don't know much at all about Lectins. Ursa Major (Ursula) can't have either so she would be able to tell you more about them both.

As for the wine question, I haven't found any wines that have gluten, although some wine-type beverages do contain gluten and you should read the labels. I have a glass of wine only a couple times a year, and usually it is a nice red wine. Wine is usually safe for celiacs, but not all hard liquor is. Sorry I can't be more help. I never was much of a drinker even before I knew about Celiac Disease.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,100
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Masouras
    Newest Member
    Masouras
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121.1k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Dc91
      Just had a letter through from the Celiac team, they’ve diagnosed me through my bloods, no endoscopy/biopsy needed. I guess I’ll be sticking around on this forum and I’m sure I’ll be back soon. thanks for all your help 
    • trents
      I have no specific recommendations but I would suggest looking for products that are advertised as produced in a dedicated gluten-free facility. That should eliminate one possible route of cross contamination. It doesn't guarantee that none of the ingredients going into the product are totally gluten free but is should eliminate adding more CC to the mix via processing machinery.  One of the issues you may be experiencing is that testing has shown that a significant percentage of "Certified Gluten Free" products can test far in excess of 10ppm. There was an article appearing in this forum back last summer outlining the results of testing that showed this to be true. So, it may be somewhat of a pig in a poke when you buy this stuff, regardless of how it is billed. It may be safe for you if it actually fits within the stated requirements of it's billing.
    • Hauama
      I can still have a reaction from “certified gluten free” products I don’t like having to use the eat and see what my body does approach are there really any purely gluten free products or do I just have to make all of my own food? 
    • Kiwifruit
    • trents
      Thanks for following up with us on the results. This might be helpful to you now:  
×
×
  • Create New...