Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Lame Advertisement?


Katydid

Recommended Posts

Katydid Apprentice

An elderly celiac friend of ours who is very good about his gluten free diet continues to have problems with the big D and cannot seem to pin down his problem. He takes Shaklee "over 50" Multiple Vitamins. I believe its vita gold or something like that. Does anyone know if Lame Advertisement are gluten free? Thanks.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



nmw Newbie

My understanding is that there are very few gluten-free Shaklee items. Best to check the website and email them as their formulations change often.

holiday16 Enthusiast

I take several of the products every day and have been fine. This is their statement regarding gluten:

**************************************

Products containing gluten

The following information is based on ingredients that contain gluten. Although products not listed are likely to be gluten-free, we do not make that guarantee, because we do not test for the presence of gluten.

While a number of products on the market claim to be "gluten-free," there is no legal standard for such labeling, and testing for the presence of gluten is not required to make the gluten-free claim. Marketers of gluten-free products may base the claim on the presumption that, since ingredients in the product do not contain gluten, the product is gluten-free. However, consumers sensitive to gluten should be mindful that "gluten-free" products made in equipment and/or facilities that also make gluten-containing products can contain gluten through cross contamination. Therefore, individuals who are severely sensitive to gluten should confirm that so-called "gluten-free" products are substantiated by tests showing that gluten is not present in the product.

Shaklee Products that contain gluten:

Food and Nutritional Supplements

Product Source of gluten

Carbo-Crunch

  • 5 months later...
kerrybmc Newbie

Most of Shaklee products are actually gluten free...Contact me for a current listing.

The new Vitalizer Pack that was just released is all gluten free...This pack is SUPER important for us that have damaged absorption issues with B-12...It is formulated to be released in the intestines instead of the stomach so you don't need intrinsic factor to absorb it. No more B-12 shots!!!! Now we can just take the Vitalizer pack with the special B-complex in it.

I am actually working with the Execs. at Shaklee to get "certified gluten free" put on their labels...As you all know, this is very expensive to do...separate facility...raw ingredients of utmost quality that aren't contaminated with wheat...and testing of each batch for contamination...Shaklee already does 83,000 quality assurance tests each year-but they are looking into adding this one...

If you have any questions regarding Shaklee and Gluten Free vitamins...just let me know... :D

kerryb_mc@yahoo.com

jmd3 Contributor
I take several of the products every day and have been fine. This is their statement regarding gluten:

**************************************

Products containing gluten

The following information is based on ingredients that contain gluten. Although products not listed are likely to be gluten-free, we do not make that guarantee, because we do not test for the presence of gluten.

While a number of products on the market claim to be "gluten-free," there is no legal standard for such labeling, and testing for the presence of gluten is not required to make the gluten-free claim. Marketers of gluten-free products may base the claim on the presumption that, since ingredients in the product do not contain gluten, the product is gluten-free. However, consumers sensitive to gluten should be mindful that "gluten-free" products made in equipment and/or facilities that also make gluten-containing products can contain gluten through cross contamination. Therefore, individuals who are severely sensitive to gluten should confirm that so-called "gluten-free" products are substantiated by tests showing that gluten is not present in the product.

I would say these are take at your own risk. It would make sense that they would test their own products to claim gluten-free. Personally I would stay away from products/Shaklee that "claim" they are gluten-free, especially if they don't periodically test for gluten.

Other personal care products

Most do not contain gluten-containing ingredients. However, such products as lipsticks and cleansing bars contain ingredients from oats and/or wheat. If you are severely sensitive to topically applied products that contain gluten, please examine the ingredients listed on product packaging.

Again, same statement...lipsticks that may contain gluten, you are asking for trouble, as you may lick your lips, or eat something while wearing the lipstick that would affect you. I don't think lipsticks are just topical even though you clearly don't eat it.

Maybe I am just confused with the topic/question

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,806
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    P Anderson
    Newest Member
    P Anderson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      If you are super sensitive you may want to look for only Certified Gluten-Free Products, as @trents mentioned.
    • Scott Adams
      I'm not sure about low calorie, as puddings are typically a dessert, but we do have this category: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/gluten-free-recipes/gluten-free-dessert-recipes-pastries-cakes-cookies-etc/gluten-free-pudding-recipes/ This one might work if you cut back on the sugar:    
    • DebJ14
      We are off next week on our 9th RCCL cruise since our diagnoses.  I send an email to special_needs@rccl.com before every cruise letting them know that I am both dairy and gluten free and my husband is gluten free.   Unfortunately, with the new menus they introduced in 2023, they removed the gluten-free designation from each item on the menu.  Instead of having a dedicated person take gluten-free orders, it now falls to your regular wait staff.  Some have been great and some not so good.  We had a great cruise in May and hit it off with our head waiter.  She went the extra mile and ordered gluten free desserts that were not on the menu.  My problem arises from other food allergies.  I am allergic to dairy, beef, and several types of fish.  On those days my husband is a happy camper with a steak or salmon, veggies and a baked potato.  I end up not getting enough protein, so I bring protein bars.  I also bring snacks for the room. As long as the food is commercially prepared and unopened, you can bring it. Often the only dessert choices that are gluten free contain dairy, so I am out of luck.  But, if you are just gluten free, they have plenty of choices.  See the head chef in the Windjammer buffet and he will give you a tour of the gluten-free choices.  They usually have 2 gluten free desserts out at lunch and they are labeled gluten free. We have found that it works best to have assigned dining rather than anytime.  That way the waiters learn from the get go what our needs are, and we don't have to explain ourselves every night.  We also get a private table for 2.  I frankly got sick and tired of tablemates telling me a little bit of gluten would not hurt me.
    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
×
×
  • Create New...