Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Rice Dreams Milk


hapy4dolphins

Recommended Posts

hapy4dolphins Contributor

HI, I thought I found a bargain at the grocery store when Rice Dreams Milk was found on the shelf. I read the label and it doesn't say anything about gluten of any type. But hubby is disagreeing saying he read something on it. So, wants me to double check. Usually he's right, I have to admit it.

Thanks

Nicole


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



jmengert Enthusiast

I believe the Rice Dream milk (but not their ice cream) has barley in it, but I could be wrong. I do avoid that brand, though, as I've heard it contains barley, but I haven't seen this myself. Hopefully someone else can chime in here to confirm.

burdee Enthusiast

I believe that the side of the Rice Dreams milk carton shows in very small print a statement which says they use barley to process that product. It says dairy free on the carton, but nowhere does it say gluten free. At a celiac walk and gluten free food fair in 2005 I watched a volunteer offer children milk to put on their gluten free cereal samples. When I saw that milk was 'Rice Dream', I stopped the volunteer and told her to check the side of the box, before she offered it to children. Sure enough it said 'processed with malt (barley) on the side'. RICE DREAM MILK HAS GLUTEN.

BURDEE

AndreaB Contributor

Yep, unfortunately it's processed with barley. It was a very good milk that we drank pre gluten free.

hapy4dolphins Contributor

YOU WIN! You are right. I have been sicker then sick today and in the bathroom lots. I'm just not always sure what end it's going to come from. Thanks for the posts. Nicole

snowcoveredheart Apprentice

Noooo...

... what else can i use now then I have to go gluten-free, lactose /dairy free - i will add soya back in first (after the month but i know ive reacted before now)...

pants! :( could this day get any suckier

AndreaB Contributor
Noooo...

... what else can i use now then I have to go gluten-free, lactose /dairy free - i will add soya back in first (after the month but i know ive reacted before now)...

pants! :( could this day get any suckier

Check out almond or hazelnut milk. We've taken to adding fruit juice (we dilute it) to cereal in the mornings.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



oceangirl Collaborator
Noooo...

... what else can i use now then I have to go gluten-free, lactose /dairy free - i will add soya back in first (after the month but i know ive reacted before now)...

pants! :( could this day get any suckier

Yes, I used to enjoy Rice Dream before I found the barley in it. I make my own: Make one cup (cooked) sushi rice. Put in blender with 2 quarts Boiling water (a little at a time) Sucanat or Turbinado sugar (if you like) and gluten-free vanilla. Blend. Strain out rice and keep it for the week! It's not thick, but, it's good and you know what's in it!

lisa

sfm Apprentice

Wow.... that explains a lot - and I was trying to figure our what was bugging me. I have a casein sensitivity, and have found that soy can cause migraines (which I am prone to). But when I tried rice milk, it didn't seem to sit well with me.

So now I know! I would think they would be required to list the barley as part of the ingredient list, despite the small amount.

:huh:

Sheryll

dally099 Contributor

i just had a look at my rice milk and it says it has less than .002% barley in it, but i guess thats .002% to much, to bad though, thanks nadine

Wow.... that explains a lot - and I was trying to figure our what was bugging me. I have a casein sensitivity, and have found that soy can cause migraines (which I am prone to). But when I tried rice milk, it didn't seem to sit well with me.

So now I know! I would think they would be required to list the barley as part of the ingredient list, despite the small amount.

:huh:

Sheryll

ENF Enthusiast

DariFree milk alternative is gluten free also. We get it through the mail:

Open Original Shared Link

The only problem is that they keep raising their prices for the stuff. Seems like every time we order it, it costs more.

jazminecat Newbie
Noooo...

... what else can i use now then I have to go gluten-free, lactose /dairy free - i will add soya back in first (after the month but i know ive reacted before now)...

pants! :( could this day get any suckier

Definitely try Almond Breeze. It's really tasty, and great on cereal, in tea or coffee, and for cooking. It's all we use now. They eve have a chocolate version that's a super tasty indulgence too!

kookaburra Rookie
Definitely try Almond Breeze. It's really tasty, and great on cereal, in tea or coffee, and for cooking. It's all we use now. They eve have a chocolate version that's a super tasty indulgence too!

My son does not like the rice milk or the almond milk, but he does like Hemp milk, especially the vanilla. I've also heard about potato based dari free milks. Finally, some people drink coconut milk, and I hear it's best fresh from the coconut. From experience, I know the canned varieties -- some are more subtle and some tastes stronger (like suntan lotion smells). I prefer the more subtle.

Good luck!

  • 6 months later...
rock on Apprentice

I am resurrecting this old post because I just bought a box of Rice Dreams and it does not say anything about barley on it. In fact, it says that it is Gluten Free. When I checked their website, it was listed as Gluten Free. Open Original Shared Link

I'm wondering if anyone knows anything about this change of labeling. Is it true, are they lying, is this the codex law I've been reading about in effect? I'm curious if everyone still just avoids this product, or if it's proving to be ok for people with sensitivities.

SillyBoo Newbie

Unless I see documentation from the company indicating that they no longer use barley, I'm not willing to try it. The Whole Foods 365 brand rice milk is gluten free, and tastes fine. We use that all the time without any problems.

Juliebove Rising Star

I know what you mean. I just wish other companies would come out with single serve milk. I haven't seen any others.

ravenwoodglass Mentor
I am resurrecting this old post because I just bought a box of Rice Dreams and it does not say anything about barley on it. In fact, it says that it is Gluten Free. When I checked their website, it was listed as Gluten Free. Open Original Shared Link

I'm wondering if anyone knows anything about this change of labeling. Is it true, are they lying, is this the codex law I've been reading about in effect? I'm curious if everyone still just avoids this product, or if it's proving to be ok for people with sensitivities.

Now that our wonderful government has decided how much poison is safe for us Rice Dreams can legally take the barley warning off the box and replace it with Gluten Free. They did not change the formula just the carton. And yes this is because our government has now defined gluten free as TESTING below a certain level. They are able to show that each serving is showing this toxin below a certain level with gluten additives so legally they can say it is gluten free. It is no more gluten free than it ever was. The gov of course has not taken into account that multiple doses of a small level of a toxin add up. With more of us being diagnosed and avoiding malt and gluten in general this is bound to effect the big businesses that run our food supply. I may be wrong but I predict we will soon see gluten-free on cereals that have malt also and the malt will again hide in natural flavors. It is important that we contact the FDA as often as we can to let them know that although the level is okay in their eyes it is making us sick and that their definition of gluten-free needs to be really gluten free. It is also vital that we contact companies like Rice Dream and let them know that their product is making us sick. If we don't complain they will not ever change the label to give us the honest choice of whether to take the risk or not.

taweavmo3 Enthusiast
I am resurrecting this old post because I just bought a box of Rice Dreams and it does not say anything about barley on it. In fact, it says that it is Gluten Free. When I checked their website, it was listed as Gluten Free. Open Original Shared Link

I'm wondering if anyone knows anything about this change of labeling. Is it true, are they lying, is this the codex law I've been reading about in effect? I'm curious if everyone still just avoids this product, or if it's proving to be ok for people with sensitivities.

Just wanted to chime in here.....I also can verify that Rice Dream still has the .002% barley in it, their formula has not changed, they are just legally allowed to claim it is gluten free now. I received an e-mail from them regarding this last week. This just infuriates me to no end. It seems as if we can't even trust the "gluten free" label anymore.

rock on Apprentice

.

rock on Apprentice

It really is unfortunate that they are now allowed to use the Gluten Free labeling if they haven't gotten rid of the .002% barley. It makes me wary of a lot of foods now.

Does 'certified gluten-free' mean anything? I guess I'll just have to follow my gut.... I had been using the Rice Milk I'd bought & had been having mild D for days. I've now switched to another brand & am starting to feel a little better. I'm going to email them & let them know. Companies should know that there's a large segment of their potential customers who simply will avoid their brand unless they make changes.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,812
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Granna57
    Newest Member
    Granna57
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • AuntieAutoimmune
      Great tips, Deb. Thanks.  What a pity that they no longer mark items as gluten-free. And it is even more of a shame that you must bring protein bars instead of the crew helping you with your needs. Are you planning on sailing Royal again? 
    • Scott Adams
      I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      If you are super sensitive you may want to look for only Certified Gluten-Free Products, as @trents mentioned.
    • Scott Adams
      I'm not sure about low calorie, as puddings are typically a dessert, but we do have this category: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/gluten-free-recipes/gluten-free-dessert-recipes-pastries-cakes-cookies-etc/gluten-free-pudding-recipes/ This one might work if you cut back on the sugar:    
    • DebJ14
      We are off next week on our 9th RCCL cruise since our diagnoses.  I send an email to special_needs@rccl.com before every cruise letting them know that I am both dairy and gluten free and my husband is gluten free.   Unfortunately, with the new menus they introduced in 2023, they removed the gluten-free designation from each item on the menu.  Instead of having a dedicated person take gluten-free orders, it now falls to your regular wait staff.  Some have been great and some not so good.  We had a great cruise in May and hit it off with our head waiter.  She went the extra mile and ordered gluten free desserts that were not on the menu.  My problem arises from other food allergies.  I am allergic to dairy, beef, and several types of fish.  On those days my husband is a happy camper with a steak or salmon, veggies and a baked potato.  I end up not getting enough protein, so I bring protein bars.  I also bring snacks for the room. As long as the food is commercially prepared and unopened, you can bring it. Often the only dessert choices that are gluten free contain dairy, so I am out of luck.  But, if you are just gluten free, they have plenty of choices.  See the head chef in the Windjammer buffet and he will give you a tour of the gluten-free choices.  They usually have 2 gluten free desserts out at lunch and they are labeled gluten free. We have found that it works best to have assigned dining rather than anytime.  That way the waiters learn from the get go what our needs are, and we don't have to explain ourselves every night.  We also get a private table for 2.  I frankly got sick and tired of tablemates telling me a little bit of gluten would not hurt me.
×
×
  • Create New...