Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Now Dairy Free Too


Nic

Recommended Posts

Nic Collaborator

The ped. gastro doctor said that he wants us to go dairy free with Jacob for the next 2 weeks to see if there is any improvement. I really need some help here as this is a kid who lives for dairy. Can some of you who are dairy free give me some tips as far as which are the best milk and ice cream brands? Are there any subsitutes for yogurt and cheese? I usually make him gluten free pizza for lunch, is that now out as there is no really good cheese substitute? And how about cooking with milk substitutes? He loves mashed potatoes. I am so stressed right now. This is actally going to be harder than taking the gluten. Please, any help will be appreciated.

Nicole


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Lisa Mentor

Nicole:

I don't know if I can be of help, but I can bump it up for you.

There is soy milk and Smart Balance Butter Spread that it dairy free. It is available in most grocery stores. If I can find it here, it can be found anywhere.

Do a search here on this site as "Dairy Free" and see what you come up with, and, as surely others will post.

But, most importantly, take one step at a time. Take time to learn and then make changes.

And BREATH deeply.

Lisa

HawkFire Explorer

We are entirely dairy free as dairy is not good for you or anybody who is a human being. It is only good for cows, though, I wouldn't feed the hormone laced, antibiotic enriched slop they call milk to even a cow.

We use rice milk. I don't care what kind we use, but my oldest son prefers the brand at Wholefoods, made by WholeFoods.

My daughter uses Almond milk. She likes the unsweetened vanilla and chocolate flavors.

My other child likes them all.

I would suggest you give in and allow chocolate rice or almond milk during the transition.

We use coconut oil for butter and oil. My children like it on toast with a dash of sea salt. I do not like it on toast. I'm too old and used to the flavor of butter, I suppose. So I have peanut butter or a jam on my toast.

I use the coconut oil to grease pans for everything I would use butter or oil. I make all baked goods with coconut oil. I made chocolate chip cookies *gluten free Bob's red Mill brand- so good* last night for a sleepover two of my children are having tonight. You must add about a tablespoon and a half of water for each 1/4 cup of coconut oil you use as it has less moisture than butter. I use coconut oil for greasing pans of pancakes, for baking all my fish.

The only thing I do not like coconut oil in is my mashed potatoes. The rice milks are fine in mashed potatoes, but coconut oil is too coconutty for my mashed potatoes. You can do something like add minced garlic to the boiling potatoes, add sea salt, pepper, a dash of olive oil and rice milk. That's how I make them. I was trying to get them to taste like OutBack Steakhouse's Mashed potatoes... and they do. Very good

For cheese- I use nothing. There is nothing like cheese. I had a funeral, of sorts, for cheese and that's that.

I make tapioca rice pudding sometimes. It's just like pudding or yogurt when chilled. I've added all sorts of stuff to it- fruit, cocoa powder. Simply use rice milk to prepare it.

No ice cream. I find popsicles or shaved ice or frozen juice pops, or italian ices work. Frozen grapes are good. Frozen bananas are good. Somethings that are dairy cannot be replicated. It's sad, but dairy is so bad for you and the more you research it online at places like Notmilk.com you will see. There is absolutely no health benefits whatsoever from dairy. None. The so called benefits negate themselves with the other parts of the dairy.

tarnalberry Community Regular

Soy milk or almond milk are what I use for cereal, pancakes, and baking. For smoothies and come other cooking, I use coconut milk. For mashed potatoes, I use broth, and waxy, not starchy, potatoes. :)

Nic Collaborator
Soy milk or almond milk are what I use for cereal, pancakes, and baking. For smoothies and come other cooking, I use coconut milk. For mashed potatoes, I use broth, and waxy, not starchy, potatoes. :)

What are waxy potatoes ? :huh:

chick2ba Apprentice

Nicole-

Dairy-free isn't as bad as I thought it would be. I've found substitutions for everything except ricotta cheese and heavy cream (although I bet powdered rice milk mixed up thick would work).

Butter- Earth Balance Buttery Sticks

Cheese- Galaxy Nutritional Foods Rice Shreds (they have cheddar and mozzarella flavors.. they melt great on hot food!!) GNF also has a soy Parmesan cheese that's not bad. I think Tofutti cheese slices are gross and don't melt well.

Ice cream- Lactose Free Breyer's (vanilla) or So Delicious (by Turtle mountain) or Tofutti

Sour cream- Tofutti "Sour Supreme" (Soy)

Cream cheese- Tofutti "Better than Cream Cheese" (soy; It works fine in cheesecake!)

Chocolate- Enjoy Life chocolate chips (morsels for baking, they are semi-sweet)

I'm not a big milk or yogurt fan, but I know rice milk and soy yogurt are easy to find. Tofutti should be gluten-free. For recipes (not desserts) that call for heavy cream, I normally just use Swanson canned chicken broth and melt in some GNF mozzarella 'cheese'. It tastes great with potatoes and adds more flavor than just water. Hope this helps.

tarnalberry Community Regular
What are waxy potatoes ? :huh:

Idaho or russet potatoes are starchy potatoes. Yukon gold and red potatoes (for instance) are waxy potatoes. They have a different texture due to the differences in actual starches, and I find that the waxy kind (also sometimes called creamer potatoes) work best in mashed potatoes that don't use milk/cream/butter due to that texture difference.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



georgie Enthusiast
No ice cream. I find popsicles or shaved ice or frozen juice pops, or italian ices work. Frozen grapes are good. Frozen bananas are good. Somethings that are dairy cannot be replicated. It's sad, but dairy is so bad for you and the more you research it online at places like Notmilk.com you will see. There is absolutely no health benefits whatsoever from dairy. None. The so called benefits negate themselves with the other parts of the dairy

I found I was so much healthier being Dairy Free that I didn't mind missing out. We make icecream from coconut cream and its great! And now I can have a little goats milk cheese and I don't seem to react as much.

Nic Collaborator

Is a milk intolerance like gluten for a Celiac. For example, I was looking at the ingredient list on something this morning and it had way at the bottom of the list, "may contain 2% or less of: whey (and then some other things I didn't recognize). Is even 2% or less of whey not aloud? And how about chocolate candy? Is a hershys kiss out because it is made from milk chocolate? Sorry to sound so ignorant but I am to this diet.

Nicole

hathor Contributor

Yeah, you really do have to cut out everything with any milk protein in it. I'd been following a basically vegan diet for years. But I occasionally had milk chocolate, soy cheese with casein as an ingredient (my husband would just never check before buying it ;) ), desserts with dairy on birthdays & Thanksgiving, and a bit of regular cheese maybe two or three times a year. That was enough to provoke antibodies in my system.

Here is a list for a milk allergy, but the principle is pretty much the same. Open Original Shared Link

Some say that ghee is OK for casein intolerants, though, since it is butter so clarified that there is no casein left. I haven't thoroughly researched this -- but I haven't cut out an occasional Indian meal either :rolleyes:

Besides, you should go for chocolate, not chocolate candy :lol: As a friend of my daughter's once put it, dark chocolate is chocolate; milk chocolate is candy (said with a slight sneer). Discover the higher, purer joys of the good stuff :lol:

Nic Collaborator

[besides, you should go for chocolate, not chocolate candy :lol: As a friend of my daughter's once put it, dark chocolate is chocolate; milk chocolate is candy (said with a slight sneer). Discover the higher, purer joys of the good stuff :lol:

tarnalberry Community Regular

Good dark chocolate does not have milk in it. Some dark chocolate does, like hersheys, and even dove and ghiradelli, does have milk. Hersheys has skim milk powder, dove and ghiradelli has milk fat - the former is worse than the later if you've got a casein intolerance. (the ghiradelli statement is from memory - someone double check that?) Tropical Source, Dagoba, Green and Black (their gluten-free varieties), Theo, Pralus, and others are both better tasting, and dairy free. :) (I'm a chocolate snob too! :)

(We've been doing chocolate tasting on Thursday's as work - so far, the favorite seems to be either the Tropical Source w/ Mint or the Pralus Djakarta (75%). Not so many people (besides me) liked the Green & Black w/ Ginger. :P

larry mac Enthusiast
.....We've been doing chocolate tasting on Thursday's as work - so far, the favorite seems to be either the Tropical Source w/ Mint or the Pralus Djakarta (75%). Not so many people (besides me) liked the Green & Black w/ Ginger. .....

Dear Tiff,

What's this chocolate tasting on Thursdays at work all about? Is this something I should be doing? I've never heard of the chocolates you speak about. How do you select them? Thank you.

best regards, lm

hathor Contributor

It isn't an ignorant question, because some silly companies (like Hershey's) will put milk in dark chocolate. A desecration in my book!

The only way of knowing for sure is to check the ingredients. Good dark chocolate (in other words, the stuff I like :lol: ) won't have dairy in it. It will list the cacao percentage, too. I go for the highest I can get. But if you are just starting out, you would probably be happier with a lower percentage. Savor it slowly and enjoy!

hathor Contributor
(We've been doing chocolate tasting on Thursday's as work - so far, the favorite seems to be either the Tropical Source w/ Mint or the Pralus Djakarta (75%). Not so many people (besides me) liked the Green & Black w/ Ginger. :P

I could go for that kind of work :lol:

I think I would like the ginger one but it contains soy :(

For those who are interested, here is a chart Green & Black has the shows the presence or absence of gluten, dairy, soy, etc. in all their products:

Open Original Shared Link

The only bar, other than dark 85%, that doesn't contain soy is the mint -- and it contains gluten :o I will have to check to see if the soy is in the form of lecithin, which seems to be OK for me.

I checked the Tropical Source w/Mint and it contains soy flour. The Pralus Djakarta looks OK, though. :rolleyes:

tarnalberry Community Regular
Dear Tiff,

What's this chocolate tasting on Thursdays at work all about? Is this something I should be doing? I've never heard of the chocolates you speak about. How do you select them? Thank you.

best regards, lm

It's all about chocolate. And was totally made up. We went out to Dilletante (a local chocolate company) for hot chocolate at lunch, and someone made a comment about taste testing their chocolates, and I thought that'd it'd be fun to do a chocolate taste testing at work. Thursday just happened to be the first day I remembered to bring chocolate in. (We do one variety a week.)

I have always been the one to bring them in so far, and I select them by going to the store (I picked up a big batch at Whole Foods, I'll be branching out in the future), and seeing what I like. :) That's all there is to it. It's really not formal at all - it's just an excuse to eat chocolate at 9 in the morning with your coworkers, and then another piece at noon, and three... :D

I could go for that kind of work :lol:

I think I would like the ginger one but it contains soy :(

For those who are interested, here is a chart Green & Black has the shows the presence or absence of gluten, dairy, soy, etc. in all their products:

Open Original Shared Link

The only bar, other than dark 85%, that doesn't contain soy is the mint -- and it contains gluten :o I will have to check to see if the soy is in the form of lecithin, which seems to be OK for me.

I checked the Tropical Source w/Mint and it contains soy flour. The Pralus Djakarta looks OK, though. :rolleyes:

You're right - finding chocolate without soy is hard. Open Original Shared Link (a Seattle brand) doesn't use soy.

Open Original Shared Link (a French brand) doesn't either. (You can get both at Open Original Shared Link.)

flowergirl Rookie
The only bar, other than dark 85%, that doesn't contain soy is the mint -- and it contains gluten :o I will have to check to see if the soy is in the form of lecithin, which seems to be OK for me.

Open Original Shared Link is the only chocolate that I can eat because it doesn't contain milk or soy lecithin. :rolleyes: And only in small amounts.

hathor Contributor
Open Original Shared Link is the only chocolate that I can eat because it doesn't contain milk or soy lecithin. :rolleyes: And only in small amounts.

Have you found that you do react to soy lecithin? I ask because Enterolab told me they thought it would be OK. I've seen the same elsewhere on the internet. Of course, this doesn't work if one is allergic, rather than intolerant.

I checked the ingredients list and it looks like they have some other products that don't have dairy or soy as well: Open Original Shared Link Or has your experience been different in looking at actual bars? The cayenne bar does sound good, though.

If you order something else, be careful about the Organic Expressions bar. It contains lupin flour. I recently had some gluten-free pasta with this ingredient and had a reaction like I do to soy, if not stronger. From research, I've found that many who react to peanut or soy also react to this. Indeed, the European Union has just promulgated a new rule that says that lupin is another allergen that labels must list. (The rule isn't in effect yet.) Lupin is a relatively new ingredient and apparently is being added to all sorts of things in Europe and Australia now.

hathor Contributor
You're right - finding chocolate without soy is hard. Open Original Shared Link (a Seattle brand) doesn't use soy.

Open Original Shared Link (a French brand) doesn't either. (You can get both at Open Original Shared Link.)

Oooh, I've tried Michel Cluizel before -- the single source sampler. This was from a catalog of assorted merchandise. I've taken to ordering these samplers for my kids for Christmas; it is the one thing they always say they want. Knowing what is good for them, they will share with me :lol: It is nice to know how I can order a wider variety. I never googled this before, perhaps fearing the result on my waistline :rolleyes:

I'll have to check out Theo as well. Thanks!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,815
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    lbksunyoga
    Newest Member
    lbksunyoga
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)

    • There are no registered users currently online

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • AuntieAutoimmune
      Great tips, Deb. Thanks.  What a pity that they no longer mark items as gluten-free. And it is even more of a shame that you must bring protein bars instead of the crew helping you with your needs. Are you planning on sailing Royal again? 
    • Scott Adams
      I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      If you are super sensitive you may want to look for only Certified Gluten-Free Products, as @trents mentioned.
    • Scott Adams
      I'm not sure about low calorie, as puddings are typically a dessert, but we do have this category: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/gluten-free-recipes/gluten-free-dessert-recipes-pastries-cakes-cookies-etc/gluten-free-pudding-recipes/ This one might work if you cut back on the sugar:    
    • DebJ14
      We are off next week on our 9th RCCL cruise since our diagnoses.  I send an email to special_needs@rccl.com before every cruise letting them know that I am both dairy and gluten free and my husband is gluten free.   Unfortunately, with the new menus they introduced in 2023, they removed the gluten-free designation from each item on the menu.  Instead of having a dedicated person take gluten-free orders, it now falls to your regular wait staff.  Some have been great and some not so good.  We had a great cruise in May and hit it off with our head waiter.  She went the extra mile and ordered gluten free desserts that were not on the menu.  My problem arises from other food allergies.  I am allergic to dairy, beef, and several types of fish.  On those days my husband is a happy camper with a steak or salmon, veggies and a baked potato.  I end up not getting enough protein, so I bring protein bars.  I also bring snacks for the room. As long as the food is commercially prepared and unopened, you can bring it. Often the only dessert choices that are gluten free contain dairy, so I am out of luck.  But, if you are just gluten free, they have plenty of choices.  See the head chef in the Windjammer buffet and he will give you a tour of the gluten-free choices.  They usually have 2 gluten free desserts out at lunch and they are labeled gluten free. We have found that it works best to have assigned dining rather than anytime.  That way the waiters learn from the get go what our needs are, and we don't have to explain ourselves every night.  We also get a private table for 2.  I frankly got sick and tired of tablemates telling me a little bit of gluten would not hurt me.
×
×
  • Create New...