Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Fiber


Samanthasmomma

Recommended Posts

Samanthasmomma Apprentice

Anybody know of any gluten free fiber supplements?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



ravenwoodglass Mentor

Yep, fruits, veggies, and flax seed are a just few of your best for sure gluten free fiber sources.

Samanthasmomma Apprentice
Yep, fruits, veggies, and flax seed are a just few of your best for sure gluten free fiber sources.

I meant supplements

ENF Enthusiast
I meant supplements

Metamucil with 100% Natural Psyllium Fiber, but ONLY the powders and capsules. The wafers contain wheat.

RiceGuy Collaborator

Well, there's also guar gum, which is actually a fiber. Not only can you add it to juices, smoothies, milk shakes, etc, but of course it works in baking the way xanthan gum does.

sfm Apprentice
Anybody know of any gluten free fiber supplements?

I take "Renew Life" Fiber Smart - it's gluten and casein free, and it has helped tremendously with my "D" problems. I got mine at the Vitamin Shoppe. You can get it in capsules or powder (I prefer capsules). The powder also has a probiotic blend included.

Renew Life also makes a triple fiber, but I'm not sure what's in it.

Sheryll

Nashville Contributor

Citrucel tablets are gluten-free


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Fiddle-Faddle Community Regular
Metamucil with 100% Natural Psyllium Fiber, but ONLY the powders and capsules. The wafers contain wheat.

I feel really dumb for asking this, but what IS psyllium???? :blink:

Fiddle-Faddle Community Regular

answering my own question.... Open Original Shared Link

According to wikipedia, research shows that adding psyllium to food gives better results than taking psyllium supplements--but it doesn't say where to find psyllium that you can add to food.

Samanthasmomma Apprentice

Thanks everybody, this gives me lots of options...

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      19

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    2. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      19

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    3. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      19

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    4. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      19

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    5. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      19

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,870
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Ajacob77
    Newest Member
    Ajacob77
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
    • Mynx
      It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process, after the distillation process, the vinegar is still cross contaminated. Please don't dismiss or disregard the small group of people who are 100^ gluten intolerant by saying things are conjecture. Just because you haven't done thr research or aren't as sensitive to gluten doesn't mean that everyone is like you. 
    • Mynx
      Many people will tell you that distilled vinegar is gluten free. The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process. Most people don't react to distilled vinegar. However, there is a very small group who are 100% gluten intolerant. I'm in thos group. Unless I make homemade ketchup using apple cider vinegar. The rest of the ingredients are gluten free. I have to research every ingredient on a label that I don't already know is gluten free. It's not easy but health wise, it's worth it. 
×
×
  • Create New...