Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Grainaissance Amazakes And Mochi


tonileet

Recommended Posts

tonileet Newbie

Hi,

Grainaissance's web site states that all of their Amazakes (rice beverage) are gluten-free except for Mocha Java. Gimme Green's ingredients list includes wheat grass, oat grass, barley grass and kamut grass. I e-mailed the company and asked if Gimme Green really is gluten-free and the woman who responded said "The grasses do not contain gluten as they come from a different part of the plant." Does anyone know if this is a true statement? I'm feeling quite ignorant. She also said that "The Amazake flavors are all made on the same equipment but it is all cleaned between each flavor that's processed." I had asked about testing for gluten but she didn't address that issue.

I like Amazakes but what I'm really wanting to eat is their Mochi. I bought a package of Cashew Date Mochi (contains cinnamon and natural vanilla flavor) and Pizza Mochi (contains herbs, spices and paprika) but am hesitant to eat them because maybe those ingredients contain gluten and the company doesn't realize it. I tried to call Grainaissance today but their customer service rep wasn't available. I'll try again tomorrow but, in the meantime.....does anyone regularly enjoy these mochis (or Gimme Green Amazake) with no reactions? The e-mail I received also said "The Mochi is made in the same processing room but on completely different equipment on the other side of the room. All the Mochi flavors are gluten-free."

Perhaps I'm just being too paranoid. <_<

I long for no symptoms...at least for a few weeks in a row! :D

I'll get there eventually. I wish that for all of us.

Take care - Toni


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



tarnalberry Community Regular

Definitely don't take my word for it, but I read an article addressing the use of sprouts and grasses from forbidden grains. It stated that the grain (seed) itself has gluten (lots of it), the grasses from it don't, and the sprouts in the middle lie on a spectrum. In the process of growing the grass blade, the protein is metabolized and by the completion of the growing stage, it has all be converted so that it is gluten free. (Hence saying that sprouts are NOT ok. :-) Well, that's how I interpret it.)

A google search will find you information on this, but I'm not where to find resources on quantitative assays on wheatgrass itself.

tonileet Newbie

Hi Tarnalberry -

I hope you're right! I'll do a search today, if time allows, and post anything I find of interest. If anyone knows a good source of info on grain grasses, please post it.

Thanks much and good day - Toni

  • 4 weeks later...
tonileet Newbie

HI,

Well, I haven't researched grain grasses, but.....I've been eating mochi and lovin' it! I miss the doughy texture of wheat products and this stuff hits the spot. Mochi is chewy, quick to bake and fun to eat. It puffs up and out. I like to stuff it with applesauce or tahini. So far I've tried the Original Flavor and Seeds ones. The Cashew Date and Pizza mochis will be next. Stuffing possibilities are endless.

I also drank an "Almond Shake" Amazake yesterday. No problems, so far. It was very cold and very tasty. It probably could be used to make some yummy desserts.

Variety is the spice of life and I'm so happy to add these foods to my safe list!

Give them a try - Toni

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      19

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    2. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      19

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    3. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      19

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    4. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      19

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    5. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      19

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,870
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Ajacob77
    Newest Member
    Ajacob77
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
    • Mynx
      It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process, after the distillation process, the vinegar is still cross contaminated. Please don't dismiss or disregard the small group of people who are 100^ gluten intolerant by saying things are conjecture. Just because you haven't done thr research or aren't as sensitive to gluten doesn't mean that everyone is like you. 
    • Mynx
      Many people will tell you that distilled vinegar is gluten free. The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process. Most people don't react to distilled vinegar. However, there is a very small group who are 100% gluten intolerant. I'm in thos group. Unless I make homemade ketchup using apple cider vinegar. The rest of the ingredients are gluten free. I have to research every ingredient on a label that I don't already know is gluten free. It's not easy but health wise, it's worth it. 
×
×
  • Create New...