Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Thai Restaurants


lynne502

Recommended Posts

lynne502 Rookie

I heard that Thai restaurants are a good option for people eating gluten free since the noodles are usually made from rice flour and most of the suaces are gluten free. When you call a restaurant, what specific questions do you ask? I tried calling a local thai place yesterday, but I don't think the manager really understood what gluten was. Any advice? It would be great to have another option for eating out.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



ebrbetty Rising Star

we eat Thai about once a week, had it last night..the manager didn't know what gluten was either, but once I said flour, wheat etc. he understood. we get the house special rice, pad thai and a chicken and broccoli dish with a yummy garlic sause.

I would go into the restaurant and speak with them, there are a lot of food you can eat.

NJKen Rookie

Avoid any thick, flat noodles; these often have wheat as well as rice in them.

Some Thai restaurants in North America will use soy sauce in many of their dishes, even though this is not traditional in Thai cooking. Although wheat-free soy sauce exists, it is not usually found in restaurant kitchens.

Oyster sauce is also used in some Thai dishes, and oyster sauce contains wheat.

Fish sauce, on the other hand, almost never contains wheat (or any other gluten source), and it is a common ingredient in traditional Thai cooking. If they say they use fish sauce for most of their dishes, then you're in luck.

Nancym Enthusiast

My Thai dining card says to check fish sauces, soy sauces, noodles, fish cakes, boullions.

I've never found a fish sauce that has wheat, so you should be safe. But make sure they know you can't have soy sauce.

Daxin Explorer

Our Thai place here in town tell uson the menu to let them know if we have wheat/gluten problems. She will then adjust the recipies to ensure they are safe. I eat there a couple time a month, and have never had a problem.

Just make sure you explain as well as you can what you food limitaitons are, and if they are still un clear, try somewhere else.

jdp364 Newbie

According to the chef at our local Thai restaurant, all Thai curry dishes are gluten free, including red, green, massaman and panang (my favorite). I'm not sure if the gluten free aspect varies from restaurant to restaurant. As a bonus, I find the coconut milk in these curry dishes to be very soothing to my GI tract. Avoid anything with a brown sauce.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,748
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Jojo W.
    Newest Member
    Jojo W.
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • K6315
      Thank you so much Trents (Scott?)! I have started working with a dietitian and did a deep research dive as soon as I got the diagnosis. I am aware of what you mentioned in the first two paragraphs, and was not aware of anything in the third, so I am grateful for that information, and will talk to the dietitian about that. I think I was most interested in the withdrawal process - it gives me hope that, although I have felt unwell recently, I just need to be patient (not a strong suit). I have printed the article you sent and will look at it more closely. Thanks again!
    • Sandi20
      I really like Thorne!  I've researched thier products.  Thank you so much.
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @K6315! Gluten withdrawal typically lasts for a period of a few weeks. But there is a real learning curve involved in actually attaining to a gluten free dietary state. Much more is involved than just cutting out major sources of gluten such as bread and pasta. It's all the places that gluten is hidden in the food supply that is difficult to ferret out, like soy sauce and canned tomato soup, canned chili and canned pork n' beans, some "lite" pancake syrups, potato salad, flavorings, etc., etc. Gluten-containing grain products are hidden through alternate terminology and found in places you would never expect.  There is also "cross contamination" where naturally gluten free foods come into contact with gluten-containing grains during farming, transportation, storage and manufacturing processes. Then there is the issue of "cross reactivity" whereby you may be having gluten-like reaction to food proteins whose structure is similar to gluten. Chief among these are dairy, oats (even gluten-free oats), soy, corn and eggs. I am including this article that you might find helpful:   
    • K6315
      Prior to being diagnosed, I had a gluten heavy diet. I stopped all gluten exactly a week ago and have continued to feel sick in the ways I did prior to going gluten free - primarily on and off nausea, brain fog, and fatigue. Wondering if this is normal and, if so, how long can I expect to feel this way?
    • Scott Adams
      Some of the largest contract manufacturers in the U.S. include companies like NutraScience Labs, Capsugel (part of Lonza), and Thorne Research. These companies produce supplements for a wide range of brands, from small startups to well-known names.
×
×
  • Create New...