Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Bouillon Cubes?


momof2sn

Recommended Posts

momof2sn Apprentice

Can anyone tell me why bouillon cubes are a "no no"?

I am knew to this and have recently realized that malt is also something I need to look for ( I have been feeding my daughter rice crispies). Can anyone else give me some common ingredients that are not wheat, oats or barley that I should not give her. If a food has not contained those things I have been giving it to her. Now I know to add malt to that. Anything else??


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



JennyC Enthusiast

This site has a great list of gluten containing ingredients that people with Celiac disease should avoid. Malt flavoring is on that list because it is usually made from barley. Most mainstream cereals (including Rice Crispies) do have it. General Mills and Post brand cereals will clearly label their gluten. Post is a Kraft brand, and all Kraft and General Mills products will label their gluten. Once you start looking you will be amazed by how many foods are made by Kraft or General Mills. Some mainstream cereals that are currently gluten free are cocoa pebbles, fruity pebbles, berry pebbles, dora stars, trix, and neopet island berry crunch. Health valley makes corn and rice chex like cereal. Make sure that you read every label every time.

Many bouillon cubes may add gluten as a filler. If you have a specific kind at home, then you should call the manufacturer. In general, if the product is not made by Kraft, General Mills or a few other safe companies then I do not buy the product if it lists unnamed "modified food starch" or "natural flavoring." There are gluten free bouillon cubes that say they are gluten free on the box. I forgot the name but you can probably find them at any health food store.

Lisa Mentor

Just want to add HerbOX Chicken and Beef bouillon is gluten free. Use it all the time.

momof2sn Apprentice
Just want to add HerbOX Chicken and Beef bouillon is gluten free. Use it all the time.

Could it be that they contain carmel color? Is that off limits too?

JennyC Enthusiast

If the product is from the US then caramel coloring is supposed to be made from corn. When in doubt call or email the company, they can give you the most accurate information about their products. Natural flavoring may have gluten in it, especially if it's in a meat product.

grantschoep Contributor

Herbox(Hormel) Bouillian cubes are gluten-free. At least I know the veg, beef, and chicken ones are. I also use them all the time. They are on Hormel's gluten-free list as well.

Hormel's gluten-free list

Open Original Shared Link

They have some good things on there. I heard a rumor that the CEO of Hormel has children that are Celiac, and he pushes to get things gluten-free. Not sure if that is true, but dang cool if it was. Now if we can only get guys like Ronald McDonald and the Burger King with Celiac children, we'd be set.

Lisa Mentor

Amen to that!

Good to see you Grant.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



psawyer Proficient

I would not be worried about the caramel color. Many bouillon cubes use wheat flour (gluten) to hold the cubes together. If you can find bouillon powder there is a much higher likelihood that it will be gluten-free. We use Bovril beef bouillon powder in foil pouches; it is gluten-free.

momof2sn Apprentice
I would not be worried about the caramel color. Many bouillon cubes use wheat flour (gluten) to hold the cubes together. If you can find bouillon powder there is a much higher likelihood that it will be gluten-free. We use Bovril beef bouillon powder in foil pouches; it is gluten-free.

What if an item states "natural and artificial flavor" is that anything to worry about?? I do see alot of things that contain caramel color.... like Dr. Pepper and syrup.

bugstabber Rookie
This site has a great list of gluten containing ingredients that people with Celiac disease should avoid. Malt flavoring is on that list because it is usually made from barley. Most mainstream cereals (including Rice Crispies) do have it. General Mills and Post brand cereals will clearly label their gluten. Post is a Kraft brand, and all Kraft and General Mills products will label their gluten. Once you start looking you will be amazed by how many foods are made by Kraft or General Mills. Some mainstream cereals that are currently gluten free are cocoa pebbles, fruity pebbles, berry pebbles, dora stars, trix, and neopet island berry crunch. Health valley makes corn and rice chex like cereal. Make sure that you read every label every time.

Many bouillon cubes may add gluten as a filler. If you have a specific kind at home, then you should call the manufacturer. In general, if the product is not made by Kraft, General Mills or a few other safe companies then I do not buy the product if it lists unnamed "modified food starch" or "natural flavoring." There are gluten free bouillon cubes that say they are gluten free on the box. I forgot the name but you can probably find them at any health food store.

You can find some helpful links on this page: https://www.celiac.com/st_main.html?p_catid...-38107355957.47

psawyer Proficient
What if an item states "natural and artificial flavor" is that anything to worry about?? I do see alot of things that contain caramel color.... like Dr. Pepper and syrup.

Caramel color is not something to worry about, at least in North America.

I have never found artificial flavor to contain gluten. Natural flavor can hide gluten, but the most likely source of gluten in flavor is barely malt, and that is a relatively expensive ingredient, so it is almost always listed as "malt flavor."

There are a number of manufacturers and brands that have a policy that they will clearly disclose gluten using a plain word in the ingredients. With these companies, if you don't see wheat, rye, barley or oats listed it means it is not there. They won't hide it under vague terms.

My current list of brands that I trust is:

Arrowhead Mills, Aunt Nelly's, Balance, Baskin Robbins, Ben & Jerry, Bertoli, Betty Crocker, Blue Bunny, Breyers, Campbells, Cascadian Farms, Celestial Seasonings, ConAgra, Country Crock, Edy's, General Mills, Good Humor, Green Giant, Haagen Daz, Hellman's, Hormel, Hungry Jack, Jiffy, Knorr, Kozy Shack, Kraft, Lawry's, Libby's, Lipton, Martha White, Maxwell House, McCormick, Nabisco, Nestle, Old El Paso, Ortega, Pillsbury, Popsicle, Post, Progresso, Ragu, Russell Stover, Seneca Foods, Skippy, Smucker, Stokely's, Sunny Delight, T Marzetti, Tyson, Unilever, Wishbone, Yoplait, Zatarain's.

With other brands you need to check with them to see if the natural flavor is gluten-free.

  • 6 years later...
JanetK Newbie

Regarding Knorr products, their website had this to say:

"Always read the label of a Knorr product to make sure they do not contain the food you are trying to avoid.  Even if you have bought the product many times before, you should still check the ingredients list and look for any other allergy information as the recipe might have changed since the last time you bought it."

 

I just wanted people to be aware of this and to be cautious.  Thank you!

 

JanetK

kareng Grand Master

Regarding Knorr products, their website had this to say:

"Always read the label of a Knorr product to make sure they do not contain the food you are trying to avoid.  Even if you have bought the product many times before, you should still check the ingredients list and look for any other allergy information as the recipe might have changed since the last time you bought it."

 

I just wanted people to be aware of this and to be cautious.  Thank you!

 

JanetK

You are bringing up a 6 year old thread. Ingredients change over the years. Please don't go by any old info- check for current info & ingredients

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Di Wallace's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      1

      Mucus discharge

    2. - trents replied to ARSTONE's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      4

      Feel Good gluten free chicken soup dumplings

    3. - knitty kitty replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      10

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    4. - Di Wallace posted a topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      1

      Mucus discharge

    5. - ARSTONE replied to ARSTONE's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      4

      Feel Good gluten free chicken soup dumplings


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,823
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    AliceandEm
    Newest Member
    AliceandEm
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      We usually see mucus in the stool in those with undiagnosed celiac disease and those not adhering to a gluten free diet. However, the mucus could also be coming from lower down in the intestinal track. I would seek a physician consult. You might also check into getting a follow-p endoscopy/biopsy on the small bowel to check for healing progress since going gluten free.
    • trents
      @ARSTONE, not to be picky because there has been evolution in the terminology with regard to gluten disorders. And the terms "gluten intolerance" and "gluten sensitivity" are still used by some interchangeably. But with time, "gluten intolerance" has become synonymous with celiac disease with "gluten sensitivity" referring to NCGS (Non Celiac Gluten Sensitivity). Having said that, whatever it may be, apparently there is an ingredient in that product that doesn't agree with you.
    • knitty kitty
      @Manaan2, You may want to consider switching from Miralax (polyethylene glycol) to magnesium citrate and Thiamine supplements.   When I was prescribed Miralax for constipation, I developed worsened gastrointestinal problems, including worsening leaky gut syndrome.  Since polyethylene glycol is a synthetic chemical made from petroleum or coal byproducts, I was uncomfortable with that.   Miralax can cause poor vitamin absorption, flushing vitamins and minerals away before they can be absorbed.  Miralax can cause electrolyte imbalances, meaning low magnesium.  Low magnesium levels can cause constipation.  Low Thiamine Vitamin B1 can cause constipation as well.  Magnesium and Thiamine work together to make life sustaining enzymes.  Without sufficient thiamine and magnesium, the gastrointestinal tract slows down resulting in constipation, a sort of catch twenty-two.   I quit taking Miralax.  I took a form of Thiamine, Benfotiamine 250-300 mg, at the beginning of every meal and 200mg magnesium citrate or magnesium glycinate or magnesium l-threonate (Neuromag) at the end of every meal.  My constipation resolved quickly.  When my stool got too loose, I simply reduced the amount of magnesium.  I did not reduce Benfotiamine which has been shown to promote intestinal health and reduce leaky gut syndrome.  If thiamine at night gives too much energy to fall asleep at night, skip the Benfotiamine at the last evening meal. Blood tests ate not accurate measures of vitamin sufficiency.  The best way to check for Thiamine insufficiency is to take it and look for health improvement within a few days.  Thiamine is water soluble, easily excreted in urine if not needed.  Thiamine is safe and nontoxic when used in high doses.  No harm in trying, just to rule this out.   Best wishes.  Do keep us posted on your daughter's progress!
    • Di Wallace
      I don't know if anyone can help. I was diagnosed with celiac last June. Since going gluten free the diarrhea has stopped, in fact things have gone the other way. What is bothering me is the occasional rectal mucus discharge. I have no other symptoms and it doesn't happen very often. As I haven't seen anyone since my diagnosis, I don't know if this is normal or not
    • ARSTONE
      The issue is I'm not actually celiac but gluten intolerant. So do t know why I am so sick from this. It's been two days. 
×
×
  • Create New...