Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Concerned About Eating Out


ENF

Recommended Posts

ENF Enthusiast

I'm planning to attend dinner at a Chinese restaurant with a group of people next month, before an event we're attending. Forget about asking to have it in a gluten-free place, that's not going to happen. I never eat out except in restaurants that have dedicated gluten free choices, and am considering either not going, or bringing my own food due to the possibility of cross-contamination. I do have the Triumph dining cards, but never had occasion to use them.. Has anybody had any success, or gotten sick, with just rice and steamed vegetables in a typical Chinese restaurant?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Karen B. Explorer
I'm planning to attend dinner at a Chinese restaurant with a group of people next month, before an event we're attending. Forget about asking to have it in a gluten-free place, that's not going to happen. I never eat out except in restaurants that have dedicated gluten free choices, and am considering either not going, or bringing my own food due to the possibility of cross-contamination. I do have the Triumph dining cards, but never had occasion to use them.. Has anybody had any success, or gotten sick, with just rice and steamed vegetables in a typical Chinese restaurant?

My favorite eating place is a Chinese restaurant that uses no MSG in their food. I can't have anything with their soy sauce in it, but I love curry and their curry sauce is gluten-free. If you don't like spicy foods, the basic white sauce at Chinese restaurants is also gluten-free (usually). Steamed chicken (or shrimp) and vegatables and plain white rice should be an easy dish for most restaurants.

I'd call or go by the restaurant during an off time (3-5 in the afternoon is usually good) and talk to the manager about their menu and what is safe for you there.

Like many ethnic restaurants, some Chinese restaurants are very westernized (menu all in English, all of the staff speaks good English) and some aren't (menu in Mandarin and English, staff speaks broken English). If your server can't speak and understand a lot of English it dramatically reduces your chances of communicating what you need. The manager can help you out here as well.

Sandi Explorer

is brown rice glutin free?

from a chinese take out?

sandi

Lisa Mentor
is brown rice glutin free?

from a chinese take out?

sandi

Brown rice is gluten free....from a take-out if the brown is from soy sauce, it is not. Sandi, go the the take-out place some time between lunch and dinner when they are not busy and talk to them about what would be safe for you to order. NO SOY SAUCE in a take-out, instead use LaChoy that you can buy at the store and it is gluten free.

kbtoyssni Contributor

I've never tried Chinese since going gluten-free, for some reason it makes me nervous. Have you called the restaurant and talked to the manager? You'll probably get a really good sense of how well they'll be able to accomodate you and if you feel at all not sure, go ahead and bring your own food. I do it all the time. Some days it's just too much effort to deal with waiters and managers and I prefer to eat my own.

ENF Enthusiast
I've never tried Chinese since going gluten-free, for some reason it makes me nervous. Have you called the restaurant and talked to the manager? You'll probably get a really good sense of how well they'll be able to accomodate you and if you feel at all not sure, go ahead and bring your own food. I do it all the time. Some days it's just too much effort to deal with waiters and managers and I prefer to eat my own.

Since posting my question yesterday, I've been giving this some thought.

I don't even know where we're going yet - but after dinner we're going to Carnegie Hall. This is not close enough to any of Manhattan's gluten-free Chinese restaruants.

So, I'm still considering rice, possibly plain chicken, steamed vegetables and maybe some of the sauces people here have suggested. It's a few weeks away, so I still have some time to figure out a strategy.

I doubt that the rice will be glutened - these places make huge vats of it daily and it is unlikely to have gluten contamination.

I'm sure that I won't be the first person to have food issues, wherever it's decided we're going. In NYC, restaurants are used to all kinds of different clienteles.

Thanks to everyone for the suggestions.

Piccolo Apprentice

I have multiple food sensitivities and the last time I ate at a Thai resturant I ordered my meal plain and I still got a case of d.

Susan


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Glutenfreefamily Enthusiast
Since posting my question yesterday, I've been giving this some thought.

I don't even know where we're going yet - but after dinner we're going to Carnegie Hall. This is not close enough to any of Manhattan's gluten-free Chinese restaruants.

So, I'm still considering rice, possibly plain chicken, steamed vegetables and maybe some of the sauces people here have suggested. It's a few weeks away, so I still have some time to figure out a strategy.

I doubt that the rice will be glutened - these places make huge vats of it daily and it is unlikely to have gluten contamination.

I'm sure that I won't be the first person to have food issues, wherever it's decided we're going. In NYC, restaurants are used to all kinds of different clienteles.

Thanks to everyone for the suggestions.

I was glutened at outback and I talked to the chef. There is always a chance of cross contamination. If I have somewhere special to go to I don't take a chance since it would ruin my night. Good Luck with the decision and I hope you have fun.

Karen B. Explorer

You may want to check with a local Celiac group and see if the restaurant has been reviewed by one of the members. Our group has an eating out event that goes to different restaurants as a group and a review by members that is published periodically in our newsletter.

Whatever your decision, isn't it great to have a forum to toss it around in? I always keep immodium in my purse because I've been glutened before by a cup of coffee (found odd sediment at the bottom, got very sick). You really never know and most people don't realize that if a stray cracker crumb winds up in the tea pitcher, it can cause a problem for someone. But I'm not willing to join a nunnery (assuming they would have me -- big assumption!!! :-) so I file it in the "Live With It" box.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      18

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    2. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      18

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    3. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      18

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    4. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      18

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    5. - Scott Adams replied to Captain173's topic in Celiac Disease Pre-Diagnosis, Testing & Symptoms
      3

      Confused with test results


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,870
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Ajacob77
    Newest Member
    Ajacob77
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
    • Mynx
      It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process, after the distillation process, the vinegar is still cross contaminated. Please don't dismiss or disregard the small group of people who are 100^ gluten intolerant by saying things are conjecture. Just because you haven't done thr research or aren't as sensitive to gluten doesn't mean that everyone is like you. 
    • Mynx
      Many people will tell you that distilled vinegar is gluten free. The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process. Most people don't react to distilled vinegar. However, there is a very small group who are 100% gluten intolerant. I'm in thos group. Unless I make homemade ketchup using apple cider vinegar. The rest of the ingredients are gluten free. I have to research every ingredient on a label that I don't already know is gluten free. It's not easy but health wise, it's worth it. 
    • Scott Adams
      It's possible, as there are other things that may cause elevated tTg-IgA levels, but in general a reaction to gluten is the culprit:    Also, approximately 10x more people have non-celiac gluten sensitivity than have celiac disease, but there isn’t yet a test for NCGS. If your symptoms go away on a gluten-free diet it would likely signal NCGS.    
×
×
  • Create New...