Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Ice Creams..


Jix Hedgehog

Recommended Posts

Jix Hedgehog Newbie

My wife suffers from celiac and craves ice cream every now and then. I thought I'd google up gluten free ice creams and came up with a forum (that was 2 years old) on the different brands that offer / claim they are gluten free.

We tried Breyers (Natural Vanilla) and a few moments later she becomes ill (Burping, stomach bubbles).

Can anyone recommend a tested gluten free ice cream?

Thank you for your time, this is my first post


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



hez Enthusiast

I eat ice cream all the time. I love Breyers and have never had issues. Unfortunatly I am sensitive. However, I understand that others could have reactions when I do not. Most ice creams are safe except the obvious gluten ones. Is is possible that dairy is the problem? I am sure someone will respond that has another brand for you to try.

Hez

blueeyedmanda Community Regular

I get Breyers when I go to Giant, but I get the Wegmans brand when in their store, they put gluten free right on their products, I really enjoy the peanut butter cup ice cream.

Jix Hedgehog Newbie

Hm, she drinks milk often and occasionally eats mozarella cheese, so I dont think it's dairy.. I'll keep tabs on that thou.

She did have some Lays chips just before (from an open bag.. crosscontamination?)

Thanks for the replys too :)

brendygirl Community Regular

Vanilla extract has to be alcohol free to be gluten free.

Lots of vanilla flavored foods are NOT gluten free.

I don't eat vanilla ice cream because I've been glutened by it.

purplemom Apprentice

My husband is sensitive and cannot eat Lay's products without getting a tummy ache. That could definately be the problem. Best of luck!

Cali

angel-jd1 Community Regular
Vanilla extract has to be alcohol free to be gluten free.

Lots of vanilla flavored foods are NOT gluten free.

I don't eat vanilla ice cream because I've been glutened by it.

Brendygirl-

Research in the last few years has changed that info on vanilla/alcohol. The vanilla was once thought to be a problem because of the alcohol possibly being a grain alcohol used. However, research now shows that the distillation process of it would eliminate the worry so therefore most vanillas should be fine. Hope that helps you.

-Jessica :rolleyes:


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



JenKuz Explorer

I've been frustrated by the number of ice creams that have brownie/cookie/cake batter etc. in them these days....

But also, I have problems with soy. Ice cream almost always has soy. I know it's controversial about the soy/celiac links...but maybe it's worth considering that.

I know for a while there was concern about Bourbon Vanilla. People thought the alcohol in the extract was actually bourbon. But from what i understand, Bourbon Madagascar Vanilla is just the vanilla type, and no bourbon is involved.

kbabe1968 Enthusiast

I've gotten to the point where I make my own now. It's too frustrating. The only place I can confirm is gluten free is my own house.

I have a Cuisinart Ice Cream maker (it's the ICE-20) model, they are like $49.99. I got mine free from free cycle and washed it really really really good before using.

The recipe I like best is to take jello pudding mix, mix with cream and then blend in the ice cream machine. It chills in about 20 minutes, then firm in about 1. SO SO good.

My hubby now likes it better than store bought. :D

blueeyedmanda Community Regular
I've gotten to the point where I make my own now. It's too frustrating. The only place I can confirm is gluten free is my own house.

I have a Cuisinart Ice Cream maker (it's the ICE-20) model, they are like $49.99. I got mine free from free cycle and washed it really really really good before using.

The recipe I like best is to take jello pudding mix, mix with cream and then blend in the ice cream machine. It chills in about 20 minutes, then firm in about 1. SO SO good.

My hubby now likes it better than store bought. :D

That sounds very good....I wish I had some right now, do you think you can magically make some appear on my desk :)

lovegrov Collaborator

Although I can't speak to CC on any specific ice cream, the fact is that most flavors of virtually every brand of ice cream are gluten-free, excluding, of course, obvious things like cookies and cream. If the ice cream has wheat the wheat has to be listed, and if it has barley, you'll almost always find it listed as malt or malt flavoring.

As to the original poster, the potato chips were much more likely to be the cause of he trouble than the Breyer's vanilla. Over the years I've read of many problems with CC in Lays products.

richard

JenKuz Explorer
Although I can't speak to CC on any specific ice cream, the fact is that most flavors of virtually every brand of ice cream are gluten-free, excluding, of course, obvious things like cookies and cream. If the ice cream has wheat the wheat has to be listed, and if it has barley, you'll almost always find it listed as malt or malt flavoring.

As to the original poster, the potato chips were much more likely to be the cause of he trouble than the Breyer's vanilla. Over the years I've read of many problems with CC in Lays products.

richard

I don't know what differences in standars there are between Germany and here....but when I was there over the holidays, I noticed that many lays brands had wheat products listed in the ingredients (!) where the same flavors...well, I can't really compare exactly. I never saw wheat in corn chips here before, but didn't really eat them that often.

And now I just assume that whether it's listed or not, wheat is in the flavoring of most flavored corn-chips. In fact, wheat was listed in almost every brand of chip I looked at there....it must have been used in the flavor coating. It really made me wonder whether some chips here also have it, and maybe haven't been labeling. Anyhow, if I remember, it was in BBQ, Cool Ranch, some kind of spicy chip, .... and you know, they can't possibly have a separate facility for each flavor they make :rolleyes: so chances for CC must be high....

(Of course, to be fair, it's also possible that they market different formulations in different countries.)

Michi8 Contributor
My wife suffers from celiac and craves ice cream every now and then. I thought I'd google up gluten free ice creams and came up with a forum (that was 2 years old) on the different brands that offer / claim they are gluten free.

We tried Breyers (Natural Vanilla) and a few moments later she becomes ill (Burping, stomach bubbles).

Can anyone recommend a tested gluten free ice cream?

Thank you for your time, this is my first post

Open Original Shared Link makes gluten free (and nut free) ice creams. Don't know whether it's available in the US though.

Michelle

loraleena Contributor

I eat either Julies Organic Vanilla or Stoneyfield Farms organic vanilla with no problems.

  • 1 month later...
mouth Enthusiast
My wife suffers from celiac and craves ice cream every now and then. I thought I'd google up gluten free ice creams and came up with a forum (that was 2 years old) on the different brands that offer / claim they are gluten free.

We tried Breyers (Natural Vanilla) and a few moments later she becomes ill (Burping, stomach bubbles).

Can anyone recommend a tested gluten free ice cream?

Thank you for your time, this is my first post

Dear Jix,

I have a list of different brands that are safe. if you send me your email i will scan them and email them all to you..

Real basic, Friendly's Choc, vanilla,Forbidden chocolate- Rita's Italian Ices, I also have a list for Edys.

lynn

lfij Newbie

i eat breyers and haagen daz. anything without obvious gluten in it is ok, they use all natural ingredients, they have said they don't hide gluten.

Katydid Apprentice

For what its worth, my husband who has been celiac for 20 years, can eat all kinds of cheese and cottage cheese and eats a lot of both; but when it comes to milk and ice cream, he just can't tolerate them. I know it sounds strange, but both give him a tummy ache, bloating and burping.

GeoffCJ Enthusiast

Does anyone that makes their own Ice-cream use Lactose Free milk? Does it work?

I might invest in an icecream maker if I could make Lactose-Free, gluten free ice cream.

Geoff

brendygirl Community Regular

That would be good to know about the vanilla, except then why are certain Brands of vanillla ice cream NOT gluten free when all they have for ingredients are cream, sugar,milk, and vanilla?

lovegrov Collaborator

I've yet to find a vanilla ice cream that isn't gluten-free. Do you know of one?

richard

mouth Enthusiast
I've yet to find a vanilla ice cream that isn't gluten-free. Do you know of one?

richard

Dear Richard:

Following is a letter from a friendly's representative. It is updated from the one I got a few months ago. I just received it from a fellow ROCK member. I hope this helps. I also have a list from Hood Ice Cream, and one from Edy's also. If you would like these, please let me know. Just send me a message..

Thank you for your e-mail of July 12, 2007 regarding nutritional information on

Friendly's products.

Below, please find the information you requested. However, due to our ever-changing

menu, this information is subject to change if Friendly's changes the product or the

vendors who supply us with the ingredients found in these items.

The information found below is subject to change.

Our plain flavors of ice cream do not contain Gluten.

56ounce containers that contain Gluten are:

Cookies N' Cream

Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

Chocolate Cookies N' Cream

Smooth Churned Light Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough

The following flavors contain inclusions that are processed in a plant that processes

nuts, tree nuts, eggs or wheat products.

Smooth Churned Light Fudge Tracks

Smooth Churned Light Nuts Over Caramel

Hunka Chunka PB Fudge

Tin Roof Sundae

Peanut Butter Cup

Ice cream rolls that contain Gluten are:

Tiramisu

Party Roll

Dutch Fudge

Sincerely,

Marlene Robbins

Guest Services Representative

Friendly Ice Cream Corporation

jmd3 Contributor
Can anyone recommend a tested gluten free ice cream?

Thank you for your time, this is my first post

Did you ever hear of a brand called Turkey Hill? If you call their 800 number they will also send you a ton of coupons for their ice creams. They will also tell you the obvious ones that have gluten...the ones that have cake or brownies etc...added into them.

So very fond of plain vanilla and add smuckers hot fudge...both gluten free.

mouth Enthusiast
Did you ever hear of a brand called Turkey Hill? If you call their 800 number they will also send you a ton of coupons for their ice creams. They will also tell you the obvious ones that have gluten...the ones that have cake or brownies etc...added into them.

So very fond of plain vanilla and add smuckers hot fudge...both gluten free.

yes we do.. didnt know.. tyvm and yes that is good, except we use hersheys syrup.. ummmmmmmmm

gl

lynn

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,815
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    lbksunyoga
    Newest Member
    lbksunyoga
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • AuntieAutoimmune
      Great tips, Deb. Thanks.  What a pity that they no longer mark items as gluten-free. And it is even more of a shame that you must bring protein bars instead of the crew helping you with your needs. Are you planning on sailing Royal again? 
    • Scott Adams
      I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      If you are super sensitive you may want to look for only Certified Gluten-Free Products, as @trents mentioned.
    • Scott Adams
      I'm not sure about low calorie, as puddings are typically a dessert, but we do have this category: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/gluten-free-recipes/gluten-free-dessert-recipes-pastries-cakes-cookies-etc/gluten-free-pudding-recipes/ This one might work if you cut back on the sugar:    
    • DebJ14
      We are off next week on our 9th RCCL cruise since our diagnoses.  I send an email to special_needs@rccl.com before every cruise letting them know that I am both dairy and gluten free and my husband is gluten free.   Unfortunately, with the new menus they introduced in 2023, they removed the gluten-free designation from each item on the menu.  Instead of having a dedicated person take gluten-free orders, it now falls to your regular wait staff.  Some have been great and some not so good.  We had a great cruise in May and hit it off with our head waiter.  She went the extra mile and ordered gluten free desserts that were not on the menu.  My problem arises from other food allergies.  I am allergic to dairy, beef, and several types of fish.  On those days my husband is a happy camper with a steak or salmon, veggies and a baked potato.  I end up not getting enough protein, so I bring protein bars.  I also bring snacks for the room. As long as the food is commercially prepared and unopened, you can bring it. Often the only dessert choices that are gluten free contain dairy, so I am out of luck.  But, if you are just gluten free, they have plenty of choices.  See the head chef in the Windjammer buffet and he will give you a tour of the gluten-free choices.  They usually have 2 gluten free desserts out at lunch and they are labeled gluten free. We have found that it works best to have assigned dining rather than anytime.  That way the waiters learn from the get go what our needs are, and we don't have to explain ourselves every night.  We also get a private table for 2.  I frankly got sick and tired of tablemates telling me a little bit of gluten would not hurt me.
×
×
  • Create New...