Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Toasted Marshmallows


shan

Recommended Posts

shan Contributor

are all marshmallows ok? i miss toasting them on the bbq and i can't find any that say gluten-free...if the ingredients are ok, can i just try - i know they are coated with something, but i don't know what... oh, yeah, i don't have any of your american brand names, coz i am in israel at the moment, so...


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



CarlaB Enthusiast

I've never seen a marshmallow that was not gluten-free. I'd just go by what the ingredients say ... I think you're okay.

brendygirl Community Regular

KRAFT are gluten-free. I think i get Stay Puffed. Just look at the ingredients, they are pretty straight forward. ENJOY!!! I LOVE them!

shan Contributor

thanks - i thought as much, but as much as i love my toasted marshmallows, htey are not worth getting ill over :P

mama2two Enthusiast
KRAFT are gluten-free. I think i get Stay Puffed. Just look at the ingredients, they are pretty straight forward. ENJOY!!! I LOVE them!

i am so glad someone mentioned this, because today I picked up a bag at the store and eventually put them back, because i was not sure if they were OK. My daughter has just started the gluten free diet this summer and she loves marshmellows, I wanted to get some to roast for when we go camping in the next week or two. She and her dad will be glad to have such a treat that is gluten-free. We suspect they both cannot tolerate gluten, both have had a postive response to the diet.

Juliebove Rising Star

They're fine unless you have problems aside from gluten. Some of them do contain egg or soy. I always read the ingredients.

Darn210 Enthusiast

I believe the "coating" that you are talking about is corn starch. My son got a "food science" kit for Christmas and one of the things we made was marshmallows. At the end, we had to coat them with corn starch. And I see that it is one of the ingrediants on the package in our panty.

I have also seen recipes for homemade marshmallows but I don't know how they would "roast".


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



DingoGirl Enthusiast

I have a fabulous recipe for homemade marshmallows - to DIE for! I hate to cook and bake, but I found these incredibly easy, and have made them repeatedly - friends now demand them. (you must have a stand mixer to make these, FYI)

MARSHMALLOWS

cooking spray

Powdered sugar

2

Esther Sparhawk Contributor

When we go camping, we make s'mores with Health Valley's rice bran crackers (they taste like graham crackers but be careful because they also make crackers that aren't gluten-free), Hershey's milk chocolate, and Kraft marshmellows.

Yum!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,814
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    lbksunyoga
    Newest Member
    lbksunyoga
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • AuntieAutoimmune
      Great tips, Deb. Thanks.  What a pity that they no longer mark items as gluten-free. And it is even more of a shame that you must bring protein bars instead of the crew helping you with your needs. Are you planning on sailing Royal again? 
    • Scott Adams
      I've not heard of any issues with Primal Kitchen, but it certainly would be worth not using the brand for a while to see if this helps. Many people with celiac disease, especially those who are in the 0-2 year range of their recovery, have additional food intolerance issues which could be temporary. To figure this out you may need to keep a food diary and do an elimination diet over a few months. Some common food intolerance issues are dairy/casein, eggs, corn, oats, and soy. The good news is that after your gut heals (for most people who are 100% gluten-free this will take several months to two years) you may be able to slowly add some these items back into your diet after the damaged villi heal. This article may be helpful:    
    • Scott Adams
      If you are super sensitive you may want to look for only Certified Gluten-Free Products, as @trents mentioned.
    • Scott Adams
      I'm not sure about low calorie, as puddings are typically a dessert, but we do have this category: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/gluten-free-recipes/gluten-free-dessert-recipes-pastries-cakes-cookies-etc/gluten-free-pudding-recipes/ This one might work if you cut back on the sugar:    
    • DebJ14
      We are off next week on our 9th RCCL cruise since our diagnoses.  I send an email to special_needs@rccl.com before every cruise letting them know that I am both dairy and gluten free and my husband is gluten free.   Unfortunately, with the new menus they introduced in 2023, they removed the gluten-free designation from each item on the menu.  Instead of having a dedicated person take gluten-free orders, it now falls to your regular wait staff.  Some have been great and some not so good.  We had a great cruise in May and hit it off with our head waiter.  She went the extra mile and ordered gluten free desserts that were not on the menu.  My problem arises from other food allergies.  I am allergic to dairy, beef, and several types of fish.  On those days my husband is a happy camper with a steak or salmon, veggies and a baked potato.  I end up not getting enough protein, so I bring protein bars.  I also bring snacks for the room. As long as the food is commercially prepared and unopened, you can bring it. Often the only dessert choices that are gluten free contain dairy, so I am out of luck.  But, if you are just gluten free, they have plenty of choices.  See the head chef in the Windjammer buffet and he will give you a tour of the gluten-free choices.  They usually have 2 gluten free desserts out at lunch and they are labeled gluten free. We have found that it works best to have assigned dining rather than anytime.  That way the waiters learn from the get go what our needs are, and we don't have to explain ourselves every night.  We also get a private table for 2.  I frankly got sick and tired of tablemates telling me a little bit of gluten would not hurt me.
×
×
  • Create New...