Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

New Here And Need Some Help With Toothpaste


sprink

Recommended Posts

sprink Newbie

Hi There!

My 4 yr old daughter was just diagnosed with Celiac via blood tests and biopsy about 1 month ago. I have been "lurking" on this board since then and have gained so much knowledge from all of you. But now I am stuck and finally have to post...

can someone tell me what ingredient to look for in toothpaste to see if it is gluten-free??

what kids toothpastes are gluten-free?

Thanks in advance for your help, I am not sure where I would be if I hadn't of stumbled upon this board.

:)


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



gdobson Explorer

I believe most toothpastes are gluten free. But I know Crest is for sure. I don't know if Crest makes a kids toothpaste or not, though.

jmd3 Contributor
Hi There!

My 4 yr old daughter was just diagnosed with Celiac via blood tests and biopsy about 1 month ago. I have been "lurking" on this board since then and have gained so much knowledge from all of you. But now I am stuck and finally have to post...

can someone tell me what ingredient to look for in toothpaste to see if it is gluten-free??

what kids toothpastes are gluten-free?

Thanks in advance for your help, I am not sure where I would be if I hadn't of stumbled upon this board.

:)

I am using crest also. Recently I asked the colgate makers about gluten, and they can not be certain they are gluten-free

One of my children uses Tom's - it is organic, and it doesn't have flouride. Flouride seems to bothers her thyroid

janelyb Enthusiast

my son uses the JASON nutrasmile orange-cinnamint kind. It's at healthfood stores and I've recently seen in my local grocery heath food isle. This one also does not have flouride, I use it too.

Also use the search engine on this site, it's very helpful for me to find out stuff quickly.

sprink Newbie

Thanks to all those who replied, this is very helpful!

:D

psawyer Proficient
Recently I asked the colgate makers about gluten, and they can not be certain they are gluten-free.

This is probably a CYA statement. If they obtain ingredients from another source, or even for reasons associated with internal processes, most companies will now say that they "cannot guarantee" or "cannot be certain" that the product is gluten-free. Colgate used to say that they were gluten-free. I use Colgate, and have for years. No problems. Too many lawyers, not enough celiacs [apologies to broncobux].

Nic Collaborator

Hi, my son uses kids Crest as well as colgate sometimes depending on the flavor they want. Never had a problem.

Nicole


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Esther Sparhawk Contributor

My kids use Crest vanilla flavor. It's been more than a year since I called Crest, but back then they were saying all their toothpastes were okay. It's probably time to call again, though.

One kids' toothpaste that isn't gluten-free is the Hello Kitty toothpaste. I believe it's made by a company called Sanio. Again, it was about a year ago when I contacted that company. Like Colgate, they had a disclaimer statement. I think my daughter was having a reaction to it, though. I don't recommend it for celiacs.

If you're just looking for a fun way to get kids to brush their teeth, my kids think it's really fun to use the little travel-pack toothpastes. They're not as fun as Hello Kitty, but the kids do have fun with them.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    2. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    3. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    4. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    5. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,872
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Cathy Repa
    Newest Member
    Cathy Repa
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification.  In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.
    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
    • Mynx
      It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process, after the distillation process, the vinegar is still cross contaminated. Please don't dismiss or disregard the small group of people who are 100^ gluten intolerant by saying things are conjecture. Just because you haven't done thr research or aren't as sensitive to gluten doesn't mean that everyone is like you. 
×
×
  • Create New...