Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Are Fruity Pebbles And Cocoa Pebbles Safe?


Sharon C.

Recommended Posts

Sharon C. Explorer

Hi-

Reading another post on another forum, I saw that a woman buys her daughter Fruity Pebbles and Cocoa Pebbles by Post. Are these cereals known to be safe? My son would love these as a once in a while treat. Anyone or anyone's child ever suffer a reaction?

Thanks.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Guest jhmom

Yes they are gluten-free. My daughter and I eat them often and never have a problem.

tarnalberry Community Regular

I've heard that Post won't guarantee anything, since they're produced on shared lines in a shared facility, but that they don't specifically put any gluten in the product recipe. I won't eat them, but as much for contamination reasons as taste reasons. :-P

angel-jd1 Community Regular

Actually when I had called about them, they told me that the pebbles WERE made on dedicated lines, both the cocoa pebbles and fruity pebbles.

-Jessica :rolleyes:

tarnalberry Community Regular

I just love how there's so much conflicting information on the boards. It's impossible to get around, and I believe you, but man, it makes me glad I don't use many packaged products, or I'd likely go insane. ;-) Perhaps what I read (which was also based on a phone call) was old information.

flagbabyds Collaborator

Yeah they are gluten-free and they are really good. The only good gluten-free cereal

Canadian Karen Community Regular

I also saw the thread on Delphi and was wondering is it only gluten-free in the States, or is it okay in Canada too?

Thanks!

Karen


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



tarnalberry Community Regular

lol... flagbaby! "the only good gluten-free cereal". I recall begging an pleading to get a box of Fruity Pebbles a number of years ago, but I couldn't finish it; it was too awful! :-)

I recently tried Kashi's Cranberry Sunshine which I very much enjoyed, as well as rice and corn Crunch-Em's, and Erewhon's Crispy Rice with Berries.

flagbabyds Collaborator

I just don't like cereal but it is probalby the one best for kids bc it is a normal cereal and kids w/o celiac disease eat it too, that is why I liked it when I was a kids

Sharon C. Explorer

I called the company, which is really Kraft by the way, and they just went over the guidelines of their labels once again, saying that wheat or whatever would be listed. Possible contamination would be listed like any other ingedient. She said read the box every time.

I used to eat Fruity Pebbles when I was a kid.

Guest missyflanders

I have eaten both with no reaction. I had heard they were safe also.

FYI - If you have a whole foods by you, the 365 brand honey frosted flakes taste exactly like Frosted Flakes and are not too expensive (1.99 for a normal size box here). I highly recommend it.

Missy

celiacfreeman Contributor

malt of meal $1.99 cocoa something or other list no malt and is

available at kmart

Sharon C. Explorer

I wanted to get him the Environ-Kids cereals but they all contain traces of peanut and my son is allergic to peanut. So far I have purchased online the amaranth cereal, which is a good cereal, but you dont get much and it's very expensive. Also, I purchased Quinoa flavored cereal packets (like oatmeal) which are expensive and when they arrived, they also contain traces of peanut. He loves cereal, and there really aren't many choices out there. I'll check out the whole foods brand that's been receommended here, but I wouldn't be the least bit surprised if they contain traces of peanut like all the others.

I bought the Fruity Pebbles and my son was thrilled. The first thing he did was tear them open and have a bowl, even though it was after school. Thanks again.

astyanax Rookie

hey i'm 24 and i love fruity pebbles :) plus it's nice to have something you know you can pick up at the supermarket - good for road trips!

gf4life Enthusiast

My kids eat these occasionally, but prefer the Malt-O-Meal brand Fruity Dino Bites and Cocoa Dino Bites. I buy the Pebbles cereal when we can't get the Malt-O-Meal brand, but they don't like the texture as much, so the box tends to last a while. The Malt-O-Meal kind is thicker and crunchier, and the Post brand is more like a tiny flake, and not as crunchy.

On a side note, my daughter's kindergarten class does a "cooking" project each friday. This week they are making Owls. They are going to spread peanut butter on a plain rice cake, then they make the eyes with banana slices and raisins, and candy corn beaks. And they were going to put fruit-loops all over for the feathers. I convinced them that Fruity Pebbles would work just as well (if not better) for making feathers and my daughter could eat those! So now the snack is safe for my little girl! Yeah! This rarely happens. Usually the snack is gluten or dairy filled. :rolleyes:

God bless,

Mariann

  • 1 month later...
msserena Apprentice

To my knowledge Fruity and Cocoa Pebbles have malt flavoring.

I have checked Malt o Meal kind to and it to has malt flavoring.

The only cereal that I have found on the store shelf is Malt o Meal Puffed Rice that is gluten-free. Which tastes good with a bunch of sugar on it hehe :P

momof2 Explorer

Go fruity pebbles! I, who am 30 years old, and my 4 year old enjoy them as a treat on the weekends! I am glad to hear they are gluten-free!

lovegrov Collaborator

Folks before you make a statement like "to my knowledge" something does or doesn't have something in it, please make sure. Spreading bad information does not help anybody.

Fruity and Cocoa Pebbles do NOT have malt flavoring (this is for the U.S., I can't say about anywhere else). I just looked at the ingredients on both to make sure. The company has confirmed that none of the ingredients have gluten. Given the other products made in the same facility, contamination could possibly be a problem, but there's no malt flavoring.

richard

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,795
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Kiwi86
    Newest Member
    Kiwi86
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...