Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gluten Free Communion Wafers


dianalynn1953

Recommended Posts

dianalynn1953 Newbie

Does anyone know where to obtain gluten free communion wafers? I understand that they are available. Please help me find out where. Thank you


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Donna F Enthusiast

I don't know what denomination you are, so I'll tell you what I know.

You can get gluten-free communion wafers here:

Open Original Shared Link

But, if you are Catholic, there is only one kind that I know of that is made and it is the only one ACCEPTABLE for use for the consecration. They are made of wheat (as the Church says they HAVE to be) and are not gluten free, but have so little gluten in them that they are fine for Celiacs. I'm very sensitive and have no problem tolerating them. You can get them here:

Open Original Shared Link

or this way:

Altar Bread Dept., Benedictine Sisters of Perpetual Adoration, Clyde MO 64432, 1-800-223-2772.

There was a thread a while back about this and it was very good. You may find it here:

Open Original Shared Link

God bless!

-donna

Guest barbara3675

I am ELCA Lutheran and here is what I did. I took some of my little rice crackers, broke them in half and the pastor puts one of them in his dish so he can bless them with the rest of the wafers. Because they are a different shape and color, he can see that mine are different from the rest. It is working out nicely. I don't think the Catholic church is making other arrangements at this time. Low gluten is not gluten free and some people may accept it, but others cannot tolerate it all.

Barbara

Donna F Enthusiast

I am extremely sensitive to gluten and have no problem with the 'low gluten' hosts I get for mass. The ppm are so small that it is deemed safe for celiacs. Everyone gets some gluten into there system throughout the day. It's in the air you breath just from going into a grocery store. There is a 'safe' amount that can be had, be it a very minute amount.

There is only enough gluten in the hosts that the Benedictines make to be able to claim that it is still made from wheat (which it has to be - that is Church law :( ). The Church cannot, and will not allow gluten free hosts to be used for mass. The only other viable option would be to ask permission to drink from the chalice, but you would need a separate cup from the one that has intincture (a fragment of the host in it). I've done this too, and not had a problem. I make sure I'm one of the first to receive from the cup in case another woman is wearing lipstick (have to watch out for that too!)

One last thing, Barbara, I'm glad you haven't had a problem, but isn't placing the host in the plate with the other hosts contaminating yours? My postman's wife and son are Celiacs and said they cannot consume their hosts if the pastor puts them on the same plate. Maybe the bread they use at his service is crumblier?

I have my host consecrated in a pyx (a small vessel used to carry communion to the infirmed and homebound - can be bought in any Catholic goods store or at www.leafletmissal.com) so that it won't get contaminated, and after the sign of peace, I go up with the Eucharistic ministers to the alter to receive with them - that way the priest doesn't have to interrupt the line of communicants to go back for my pyx. This is probably the better way to receive from the cup too, unless they have a communal cup, but not all parishes do that.

(sorry so long! :huh: )

-donna

Blessings!

-d

Guest barbara3675

The other wafers are very smooth and hard and I don't think mine touching theirs causes contamination to any extent to be concerned about. At any rate, I attended at funeral recently and our pastor forgot to put my rice wafer in his dish and I used the wheat one, and I got along fine that day. I would not suggest this for my granddaughter, who has celiac disease, but I have the lesser----a gluten sensitivity, so I just went with it that day.

Barbara

  • 9 months later...
mriggs Newbie

Just to let you know, my 11-year-old daughter has Celiac Disease (confirmed by a biopsy) and is not having any symptoms from the .01% gluten in the Communion host that the Benedictine Sisters have made. Her doctor even thought it would be okay. In fact, we just realized that we can break the host in half and further reduce the low percentage of gluten. A blood test down the road will tell, I'm sure. Good luck to all on this personal subject. I've stopped crying!!

Of course, I know Ener-G makes a popular rice communion host too!

nettiebeads Apprentice

I use the rice crackers. I'm Lutheran (MO synod) and give mine to the elder who puts it in the tray right before I come up for communion. I haven't had a cross contamination issue because the regular wafers are more like styrofoam and have a hard finish, so it doesn't seem to bother me. But the regular wafers will set off a definite gluten reaction for me.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



skoki-mom Explorer

WOW!!!

I didn't know there was such a thing! I will definitely check it out. I've been in church twice since I was dx 3 weeks ago and it is breaking my heart that I can't participate. I just went to the rail and kept my hands folded, and cried while the minister gave me a blessing, then took the wine.

Once our church (Anglican) gets a new minister, I will meet with him/her to talk about this for me and my sister. My poor sister still can't have wine or grape juice due to a sulphite allergy, but it would be so wonderful to take Communion again!

kvogt Rookie
There is only enough gluten in the hosts that the Benedictines make to be able to claim that it is still made from wheat (which it has to be - that is Church law  ). The Church cannot, and will not allow gluten free hosts to be used for mass.

Actually, it's not about being "able to claim that it is still made of wheat".

The alter bread "must contain gluten sufficient for the convection of bread" which means able to make bread that holds together. It must be made from wheat as is found in church Tradition.

I read it took the Benedictine sisters 10 years to work out how to do it Thank you sisters for your patience!

celiac3270 Collaborator

I was always skeptical of the low-gluten hosts, basically for their name. Low-gluten sounds terrible to a celiac. Now, while I still cannot get beyond the name despite some newly found information, I've read a little more into it: the low-gluten hosts could actually be called gluten-free because they contain so little that it's nearly undetectable...and basically, going by their definition, very little would actually be entirely GLUTEN-FREE. The reason it is called low-gluten, which may frighten the celiacs, is because the Church does not allow that it be specifically called Gluten-Free, since it's supposed to contain some gluten, which would, by default, make it "low gluten."

Wow...that's amazing! Ten years?

linlindy Newbie

After a year of not receiving Communion at Church (Catholic), I am investigating options for acquiring hosts for church. Can anyone who is a gluten-free catholic living in Chicago area let me know where you go to church to receive Communion.

Thank you.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,739
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Klsdurbin
    Newest Member
    Klsdurbin
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      I haven't heard of them before, but a significant portion of dietary supplements are produced by a handful of large contract manufacturers. These companies have the facilities, expertise, and certifications to produce supplements at scale, making them attractive partners for brands that don’t have their own manufacturing capabilities. I doubt Forvia manufactures them directly, so it is hard to know if they are just doing clever marketing to a certain malabsorption crowd, or they actually have unique product.
    • Scott Adams
      That’s an interesting observation! The timing you mention does raise questions about the relationship between modern wheat varieties and the emergence of Non-Celiac Gluten Sensitivity (NCGS). Norman Borlaug’s work on high-yield, disease-resistant wheat during the Green Revolution significantly increased global food production, but it also led to changes in the composition of wheat, including higher gluten content to improve baking qualities. While NCGS was formally recognized as a condition in the 2010s (https://bmcmedicine.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/1741-7015-10-13 and https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3820047/) , it’s important to note that the awareness and diagnosis of gluten-related disorders have evolved over time. Some researchers suggest that modern wheat breeding practices, along with changes in food processing and gut health, may contribute to the rise in gluten sensitivity. However, the exact mechanisms behind NCGS are still not fully understood, and it remains a debated topic in the scientific community. It’s also worth considering that increased awareness and improved diagnostic tools have played a role in identifying conditions like NCGS that may have existed but were previously unrecognized. The interplay between genetic, environmental, and dietary factors makes this a complex issue, and more research is needed to fully understand the connections.
    • Scott Adams
      Here is a recent reply to a Celiac.com email asking for comment about gluten contamination detected in their bakery products: You can read more about it in this thread:  
    • trents
      @Marie70, it is very important that your daughter not begin experimenting with eating gluten free until all testing for celiac disease is complete. Doing so will invalidate the testing. Normally, the testing involves two stages. The first stage is blood antibody testing as per the article linked by Scott above. As you can see from the article, there are a number of tests that can be ordered when diagnosing celiac disease but most physicians will not order a complete panel. At the very minimum, your daughter should request two antibody tests, "total IGA" and "tTG-IGA". The tTG-IGA is considered the centerpiece of celiac disease testing but if total IGA is low (i.e., if she is IGA deficient), this will result in an artificially low tTG-IGA score and possibly a false negative. Many general practitioners are not very knowledgeable about celiac disease testing so we have found we have to be a little assertive in order to get proper testing done. I don't know under the relational circumstances how much input you will have with your daughter about these things but I thought I'd pass the info on to you anyway. The second stage of celiac disease testing involves an endoscopy with biopsy of the small bowel lining which is then sent to a lab for microscopic analysis. This checks for damage to the small bowel lining and is confirmation if any of the blood antibody tests are positive. It is also considered to be the gold standard of celiac disease diagnosis. Again, should her antibody testing be positive, your daughter would still need to be consuming gluten until after the endoscopy/biopsy is complete.
    • Klsdurbin
      No!!! Celiacs disease does not go away. You can’t outgrow it, and if all proper diagnostic procedures (blood test and endoscopy) were followed when you were 8, it’s almost impossible to be mis-diagnosed.    stoms and reactions to gluten do change over time, but the fact you have celiacs does not.    I think that a lot of people misunderstand that the goal to managing your celiacs is to eventually test negative for celiacs. This does not mean it went away, it means that your gluten-free diet is working and you’re no longer producing the anti-bodies that will wreak havoc on your health.    if you can access the medical records from when you were 8 and have a GI doctor review them, I would highly recommend you do this. 
×
×
  • Create New...