Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Dandyblend Coffee Subsitute?


midnightlullaby

Recommended Posts

midnightlullaby Apprentice

I've heard a lot of good things about this coffee substitute -- Dandyblend. I looked on their website and it says it is Gluten Free but it also contains rye and barley. Apparantly, the process they use prevents gluten from remaining in the end product. Is this true? I am so sensitive, but I'd like to try this product out if it is indeed gluten-free. Here is a forward to their website --

Open Original Shared Link

Any help would be appreciated!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



modiddly16 Enthusiast

If it says Gluten free and yet has Rye and Barley in it...my assumption is that they think gluten is only wheat and there is no way I'd try it. However, after checking out the website it says

"The process by which all the extracts are made uses only water, and gluten is not water soluble, so it stays behind.. What you get is all the nutrition from the barley and rye, but none of starch or gluten"

So I think they're saying that it gives you the things that are good from the ingrediants like barley and rye but does not directly contain them.

That description could be taken so many different ways, my advice to you would be to call the company and explain your concern!

  • 7 years later...
lisajean Newbie

Hi everyone - i am new here. I new of C.com, but didn't need to come here much after first learning that i was celiac 4 years ago, so i didn't know there was a forum.  I wish i had. I wish i had searched Dandyblend here!

I had a love afair with espresso, so when my naturopath said i couldn't drink any form of coffee anymore, i started searching for a substitute that would satisfy my emotional craving. (i didn't ctrave the caffiene - it was the falvour & emotional attachments).
When i found Dandyblend in May & was trilled that it was gluten free & tasted fabulous!  Soon the pain started, but because it said is was tested gluten free & they have a photo of the lab results, i tried to find the other cause. i even paid the $400 for food sensitivity testing to find out what other food is suddenly making me sick.  The chronic inflammation (glutne causes arthitis in my fingers & toes) really affected my business this summer - i am a full time professional henna artist!

Then i come here & read this threat. Freak.  The money lost... 5 months of pain...  It was a sucky way to learn a lesson.
Thank you, everyone, for your knowledge.  i know now not to trust tests & will come here to search your opinions of products from now on.

 

:)

lisajean Newbie

This is the reply i recieved from DandyBlend (within one hour on a saturday!)

"Hi Lisa

We just recently learned, also, that there is a new competetive ELISA test that shows that it is possible for a partially hydrolyzed portion of gluten to get into Dandy Blend. The amount is still extremely low, but it is there none-the-less. The FDA still uses the ELISA test we use, so technically, from the FDA's standpoint, we are gluten-free, but we now have an explanation why some celiacs and gluten intolerant people have had trouble with it. We are revising our website, probably this week, to reflect this, and will put the caution that extremely gluten sensitive people might have trouble with Dandy Blend, on all our bags and boxes the next time we reprint them.  I appreciate your efforts to inform the health food stores and others you have recommended Dandy Blend to of this reality, and we will do the best we can to get the word out also.  It still seems to be just fine for most celiacs and gluten intolerants, but those who are extremely sensitive should proceed with caution, and test a little bit and see how they react before committing to it. That is one reason we offer free samples to those who request it.  We want to make sure it is for them before they invest in a larger quantity.

 

I am very sorry for the problems you have had with it, and will try to save others from this grief.  If you will post this message from me on the celiac forums you have referred to, that may help the word get out a bit faster.  Bottom line is that the Dandy Blend company is now aware of the problem, and will provide the appropriate warnings on its website and on future packaging.  Thanks for your help. 

 

Sincerely,

 

Peter A. Gail, Ph.D."

kareng Grand Master

This is the reply i recieved from DandyBlend (within one hour on a saturday!)

"Hi Lisa

We just recently learned, also, that there is a new competetive ELISA test that shows that it is possible for a partially hydrolyzed portion of gluten to get into Dandy Blend. The amount is still extremely low, but it is there none-the-less. The FDA still uses the ELISA test we use, so technically, from the FDA's standpoint, we are gluten-free, but we now have an explanation why some celiacs and gluten intolerant people have had trouble with it. We are revising our website, probably this week, to reflect this, and will put the caution that extremely gluten sensitive people might have trouble with Dandy Blend, on all our bags and boxes the next time we reprint them.  I appreciate your efforts to inform the health food stores and others you have recommended Dandy Blend to of this reality, and we will do the best we can to get the word out also.  It still seems to be just fine for most celiacs and gluten intolerants, but those who are extremely sensitive should proceed with caution, and test a little bit and see how they react before committing to it. That is one reason we offer free samples to those who request it.  We want to make sure it is for them before they invest in a larger quantity.

 

I am very sorry for the problems you have had with it, and will try to save others from this grief.  If you will post this message from me on the celiac forums you have referred to, that may help the word get out a bit faster.  Bottom line is that the Dandy Blend company is now aware of the problem, and will provide the appropriate warnings on its website and on future packaging.  Thanks for your help. 

 

Sincerely,

 

Peter A. Gail, Ph.D."

 

 

Wow!  That is a great answer!  I would never use something that said barley or wheat - even if tested gluten-free.  It might be really gluten-free, but in my mind, I would know it had barley or wheat..... I would probably make myself sick worrying.   :D

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    2. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    3. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    4. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    5. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,872
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Cathy Repa
    Newest Member
    Cathy Repa
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification.  In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.
    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
    • Mynx
      It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process, after the distillation process, the vinegar is still cross contaminated. Please don't dismiss or disregard the small group of people who are 100^ gluten intolerant by saying things are conjecture. Just because you haven't done thr research or aren't as sensitive to gluten doesn't mean that everyone is like you. 
×
×
  • Create New...