Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Are Fountain Cokes Gluten Free?


Aligray

Recommended Posts

Aligray Apprentice

I know that can coke is gluten free but are fountain cokes? I dont know if im reacting to the acidity or gluten. Or if im being paranoid :lol:

Any knowledge would be so helpful! Thank u!

-Ali :)


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



neesee Apprentice

HI Ali,

When I was diagnosed, back in the dark ages, I was given information to never drink beverages that come out of a machine. You know the ones, where the cup comes down and then the liquid follows. I was taught what comes out of a bottle is safe if the ingredients are gluten-free.

I don't know if the machine blends aren't gluten-free or just contaminated.

neesee

hez Enthusiast

I drink fountain cokes all the time and do not have a problem. However, I think it is very possible to end up with a dirty glass or a dirty nosel (sp?).

Hez

Aligray Apprentice

Well, im just confused. I know im reacting but why? i know the answer seems simple here :P but i am so addicted :lol:

Oh well, i guess i'l have to give them up. :(

Plus side...i should lose some weight ;)

Guest j_mommy

It's hard to give them up....I used to drink 8 cans/bottles of Mt. Dew a day. I now limit myself to 1. I drink crystal light and tea instead!

I feel a ton better and the caffine was really messing with my insides!!! Everything regulated again once I stopped!

psawyer Proficient

While not zero, the chance of cross-contamination in a soda machine is minimal. I have never found an soda that has a gluten-containing ingredient, so the risk of getting a bit of another flavor does not worry me. If the cup drops from the machine and then is filled, the risk is about zero. If the fountain is manually operated, there is a chance that the cup will be held close enough to the spout to cause some backward feed. But, again, I have not found a soda with gluten. It may be different outside North America, but I don't worry about it here.

hollyres Explorer

Your reaction could be to mold, as companies are neglectful when it comes to cleaning the lines that feed the machines. I can't drink fountain drinks at all.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Aligray Apprentice

OMG Holly! I am incredibly allergic to mold! I wonder if thats the issue. Today will be my first day without them :( Im going to substitute w cans but try to decrease considerably the amount i drink :(

Thanks for all the input guys! I will just drink more water which ironically i do love :)

Sonce i started the gluten-free diet in january of this yr, i have lost 31 lbs. it would be sooo much more if i get off the coke...oh and exercise a little ;)

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,795
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Kiwi86
    Newest Member
    Kiwi86
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)

    • There are no registered users currently online

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...