Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Vh Soy Sauce


tagger

Recommended Posts

tagger Rookie

I haven't used soy sauce in years on my gluten-free diet, but I had heard that there was one out there that is gluten free. Well I've finally found it. VH products are ALL gluten free. I am in Canada so I don't know if it is available in the US. When I called the manufacturer he was well informed and quite aware of Celiac Disease and gluten-free diets. I can now cook with soy sauce which opens up a new realm of gluten-free recipes that I couldn't use before. Thank you VH!...Tagger


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



ROYAL BLUE Apprentice

They told me they were all gluten-free also but in the store I saw one with malt in it. I think it was the teriaki glaze. Maybe it was old stock. I've been meaning to call again and ask.

Tracy

tagger Rookie

Hi Royal Blue,

Thanks for the heads up!

Tagger

kejohe Apprentice

I have never seen that brand here where I am, but it's a pretty small city. However, i have come across a few other gluten-free brands of soy sauce San-J makes a really good tamari soy sauce, and a low sodium variety too, which is great for those of us with a high blood pressure. My husband is Asian and he loves it, says it tastes just like the regualr stuff. Also laChoy is gluten-free, but not my favorite. Finally Braggs Amino Acid is also a popular soy sauce substitute.

lauriel234 Explorer

Kejohe - Kathleen

Question - Is caramel color gluten-free? I've tried the San J soy sauce, but my daughter thinks it's too strong. LaChoy might be better, but I didn't know it was gluten-free. Have you found any gluten-free chinese style noodles. She used to love Chinese food.

kejohe Apprentice

lauriel234,

Sometimes caramel color comes from barley, and is not gluten-free, but other times it comes from sugar. I never have used the LaChoy brand, because I didn't like it as well as the San-J, but a dietatician swore to me that it was gluten-free, and I know a celic gal who uses it all the time without problems. Have you ever tried the San-J low-sodium kind, it's a lot less intense in flavor, or you could add water to it to dilute it a little. I use it to make my own teryaki sauce for chicken and fish and it works really well.

Also, I have found lots of great gluten-free Chinese style noodles, usually only at Asian markets though. Sometimes they will be called "fun noodles", or just rice sticks. But I recently found some really great elbow and spiral type noodles at the Chinese market that are made with rice. I can't really read anything on the package except the ingredients, but they taste like the real thing. You should check out some of the Asian markets in your area, they have tons of gluten-free stuff and they have the best rice flour too.

Hope this helps, let me know if you have any other questions.

tagger Rookie

I'm not sure, maybe someone can tell me. I used to love going for Dim Sum. I seem to remember that the "wraps" (for lack of a better word!) are made from rice. Does anyone know? That would be fantastic if only we could take our "transportable" soy sauce we'd be all set! One thing I really miss is Lo Mein!

I used to travel to Hong Kong and China a lot on business. No fun reading ingredients there. Fortunately that was before I went gluten-free. I haven't travelled much since I've been gluten-free. If I do I'll have to go to the travel board!

Tagger


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



calico jo Rookie

LaChoy is gluten free, I use it all the time. Also caramel color if made in the US is gluten-free.

seeking-wholeness Explorer

Tagger,

I have never eaten dim sum before, so I don't really know what I'm talking about here, but I do know that SOME Asian foods use rice wrappers. Not all, of course, and I wouldn't be surprised to learn that some restaurants substitute wheat wrappers anyway because they are cheaper and easier to find. Also, even if you find that some wrappers ARE made of rice, if the food is deep-fried it may still be contaminated by wheat from other foods. I guess the bottom line is that you'll need to ask lots of questions (which gets really interesting with the language barrier...). I hope you find that you can still enjoy dim sum!

kejohe Apprentice

There are several types of dim sum that use rice or tapioca flour to make their wrappers. But there are also a lot that use regular flour. The best example I can give you is sui mai (everyone spells it differently) but its traditionally made with a rice flour wrap and filled with a seasoned pork and shrimp mixture. But won ton, is always made with a wheat flour wrap. I have actually been working on a a rice and tapioca wrap that I can use for won ton since my family is half Asian and love them, but so far I'm not real happy with it.

It's actually pretty easy to tell when the wrappers are made with rice, because they turn nearly transparent and have a gummy look/feel to them, where as the wheat remains opaque and tears easily. But I would still caution you against cross contamination, at least with the fried products. The steamed stuff is more than likely okay, because most places (even the hole in the wall types) use dedicated steamers to prevent flavor transfers.

My husband, being Chinese really misses the dim sum restaurants from his home town of San Francisco, but we stop in everytime we visit. I hope that you find one in your area that hase lots of choices made with rice wraps, that would be great for a little variety to our diets!

Hope this is helpful.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,649
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Anna Balcom
    Newest Member
    Anna Balcom
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      This article has some detailed information on how to be 100% gluten-free, so it may be helpful (be sure to also read the comments section.):    
    • Scott Adams
      Here is a category of study summaries on the relationship of Type 1 diabetes and celiac disease: https://www.celiac.com/celiac-disease/celiac-disease-amp-related-diseases-and-disorders/diabetes-and-celiac-disease/ This article might be helpful. It breaks down each type of test, and what a positive results means in terms of the probability that you might have celiac disease. One test that always needs to be done is the IgA Levels/Deficiency Test (often called "Total IGA") because some people are naturally IGA deficient, and if this is the case, then certain blood tests for celiac disease might be false-negative, and other types of tests need to be done to make an accurate diagnosis. The article includes the "Mayo Clinic Protocol," which is the best overall protocol for results to be ~98% accurate.    
    • RMJ
      How frustrating! The Endomysium antibody result is usually given as a titer, 1:5, or 1:10, or 1:20.  This indicates how far the serum can be diluted and still give a positive result. It could be going down but the way they show the results you can’t tell. If you click on the “view trends” button on an electronic version of the results does it show any additional information?
    • misslemon
      Hi, I'm hoping to get some advice on how to handle Mass as a new Catholic.  I'm looking to take the Mass for the first time in March.  I've been told that the church has a "low gluten" option that is 0.01% gluten.  Is this safe, especially to do every week?   I also read that taking the wine instead could be more of a problem if it gets contaminated with regular crumbs.   I found this information online:  "The Benedictine Sisters of Perpetual Adoration in Clyde, Missouri, have developed a Communion host that is extremely low in gluten. The host is made from gelatinized wheat starch. The Sisters report the hosts test to a level of 0.01% gluten. At that level, the lowest that could be tested, no gluten was detected. This means that there is less than 0.01% gluten in one of these hosts. The Secretariat for the Liturgy of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops has stated that these hosts meet the requirements of the Code of Canon Law (924 §2) and may be validly used at the celebration of the Eucharist with permission of the person's pastor. The Catholic with celiac disease can now fully participate in Holy Communion with the whole parish family. Catholic celiacs may choose to receive consecrated wine at a regular communion station if their parish offers communion under both species. There is greater risk for contamination using this option. The fraction rite may allow small, yet dangerous crumbs to be in the cup." Thank you for any guidance!
    • Jenn D
      My son was diagnosed with Celiac Disease is April 2023. His ttg antibody was over 100 at the time of diagnosis. Now it is at 3 (which is considered negative), but his endomysium antibody iga is still coming up positive. There is no specific number just positive or negative so I'm not sure if he's getting better or not. I'm getting nervous that something else is going on and I was just looking for some advice or an understanding what this "postive" actually means. He gets tested every 6 months. Thank you so much for any responses😊 Attached is a picture of his bloodwork from August 2024
×
×
  • Create New...