Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Cheating On Dairy A Bad Idea For Me


lonewolf

Recommended Posts

lonewolf Collaborator

I'm sitting here feeling really frustrated. About 12 years ago I started getting bad joint pain and about 11-1/2 years ago was diagnosed with psoriatic arthritis. I got to the point where I was almost crippled. After doing some testing (ELISA) with a naturopath, I eliminated wheat/gluten, dairy, soy, eggs, red meat, nightshades and a few other things. I got better, completely, after about 8 months and added back everything except wheat, dairy, soy and eggs. I've been pretty fanatical about the gluten for the past several years, because trying to add it back (in the form of spelt) had horrible consequences. I won't go in to all that. I've also been really strict about soy in all forms except soy lecithin. I've been able to add small amounts of egg back in, like baked in a cake or cookies.

I have been cheating more and more on the dairy, thinking that maybe I'd "outgrown" that problem. I've ignored the fact that my psoriasis has been getting worse. The past few days I've started having joint pain in my jaw, feet and right hand. I'm terrified that I've set off the arthritis again. I'm "cured" of cheating with butter and cheese and sneaking little bites of ice cream or desserts made with milk. I think that I need to be as strict with casein as I do with gluten, and I'm really bummed about it. To me, gluten-free is easy. Mostly dairy-free is easy. Casein free is hard. I know because I did it for 10 years and am not looking forward to giving up pizza again.

So I guess I will be fanatically G F/CF now. I'll mourn for a few days and pray that my joints get better quickly. Thanks for reading my vent...


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Green12 Enthusiast

I feel the exact same way, gluten-free is easy as pie, gluten-free and casein free is doable but very challenging.

I just recently took casein out of my diet after already a couple years of eating gluten-free, a lot of my lingering symptoms disappeared and I felt better and better as time went on but I found myself longing for all things dairy. I did cheat a couple of times, I figured it's the lesser of the two evils (gluten vs. casein) and so I ate some, my symptoms came back with a vengeance.

Now it is even more clear to me that I have to treat casein just like gluten in my case.

hathor Contributor

I do sympathize. I had been casein-free since the beginning of the year (and was very casein-light for years before that). Sunday I decided to take the chance on a dish that the waitress told me had the slightest touch of milk in it. My sinuses are only now calming down and my gut went berserk for a day and a half. So I guess I'm not one of those who get over their problem with casein :(

Do either of you react to ghee? I used to have no problems eating at Indian restaurants. But recently I never seem to feel well afterwards. I suppose it could come from some glutened spice or CC, but I've been thinking it may be more related to ghee. It is supposed to be casein-free, but I don't know how free "free" is.

I haven't been able to add small bits of egg back in.

I tried a dish made with soybean oil about a month ago and that was a no go. Recently I decided to cut out soy lecithin to see how I react. (I'm hoping that something I do will get rid of my hot flashes/night sweats. Yes, I'm menopausal, but this is getting really old. I still can't get over the idea that if I get my diet right, my symptoms will subside.)

I'm planning on trying to make a gluten-free pizza using Galaxy's rice cheese (the type without casein added). But then I've lived for years ordering cheeseless pizzas when I went out. I would just make sure there was plenty of sauce and lots of toppings and would sprinkle on red pepper flakes, and it was fine. I've never made a pizza crust from scratch before. Do you have a good recipe or sources that doesn't contain anything we can't have?

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,650
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Runu
    Newest Member
    Runu
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • misslemon
      Hi, I'm hoping to get some advice on how to handle Mass as a new Catholic.  I'm looking to take the Mass for the first time in March.  I've been told that the church has a "low gluten" option that is 0.01% gluten.  Is this safe, especially to do every week?   I also read that taking the wine instead could be more of a problem if it gets contaminated with regular crumbs.   I found this information online:  "The Benedictine Sisters of Perpetual Adoration in Clyde, Missouri, have developed a Communion host that is extremely low in gluten. The host is made from gelatinized wheat starch. The Sisters report the hosts test to a level of 0.01% gluten. At that level, the lowest that could be tested, no gluten was detected. This means that there is less than 0.01% gluten in one of these hosts. The Secretariat for the Liturgy of the United States Conference of Catholic Bishops has stated that these hosts meet the requirements of the Code of Canon Law (924 §2) and may be validly used at the celebration of the Eucharist with permission of the person's pastor. The Catholic with celiac disease can now fully participate in Holy Communion with the whole parish family. Catholic celiacs may choose to receive consecrated wine at a regular communion station if their parish offers communion under both species. There is greater risk for contamination using this option. The fraction rite may allow small, yet dangerous crumbs to be in the cup." Thank you for any guidance!
    • Jenn D
      My son was diagnosed with Celiac Disease is April 2023. His ttg antibody was over 100 at the time of diagnosis. Now it is at 3 (which is considered negative), but his endomysium antibody iga is still coming up positive. There is no specific number just positive or negative so I'm not sure if he's getting better or not. I'm getting nervous that something else is going on and I was just looking for some advice or an understanding what this "postive" actually means. He gets tested every 6 months. Thank you so much for any responses😊 Attached is a picture of his bloodwork from August 2024
    • trents
      @JenFur, if this is microwave popcorn you are using, check for added ingredients that could be causing a reaction such as flavorings which might be hidden sources of gluten.
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @JenFur! You must be relatively new to the celiac journey. I wish it were as simple as just having to cut out gluten and all our gut issues magically disappear. It is very common for those with celiac disease to develop intolerance/sensitivity to other foods. Often it is because the protein structure of some other foods resembles that of gluten. Sometimes it is because damage the damage done to the gut lining by celiac disease wipes out cells that produce enzymes needed to break down those foods. Sometimes it is because the "leaky gut syndrome" associated with celiac disease causes the immune system to incorrectly identify other food proteins as threats or invaders. The two most common non-gluten foods that cause trouble for a lot of celiacs are dairy and oats. But soy, eggs and corn are also on that list. Sometimes these non-gluten food intolerances disappear with time and the healing of the villous lining of the small bowel.
    • JenFur
      I love popcorn but it doesn't love me.  Right now my gut hurts and I am bloated and passing gas.  Am I just super sensitive. I thought popcorn was gluten free 🤔 
×
×
  • Create New...