Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Kelsey's


Ursa Major

Recommended Posts

Ursa Major Collaborator

After reading that now Kelsey's uses rice flour for thickening sauces, my husband and I went there to have supper last night after going shopping (Barrie, Ontario).

I was hoping to be able to have the creamy chicken, which looked delicious. I asked the waitress to please find out what the ingredients were, since I can't have any wheat (I tried to explain about gluten intolerance, and she asked if it was a wheat allergy....... to make it easier I just agreed to that). She brought me the book with all the ingredients.

Man, that sauce must have had 100 ingredients! Most of which were chemicals (yuck!). It WAS thickened with rice flour. Too bad that the list included soy sauce, and in brackets it gave the ingredients of the soy sauce. Guess what, the soy sauce had wheat.

What good is it to people with celiac disease to thicken everything with rice flour (and telling them that now it is safe, which is a lie) when they put wheat containing soy sauce in?

Needless to say, I had to have something else. I chose the 8 oz steak instead, which was delicious and safe.

I did order Caesar salad as an appetizer, forgetting about croutons. The waitress graciously took it back, and brought a new salad without croutons. I know that she brought an entirely new salad, rather than taking the croutons off, because it was on a different plate (different shape, so easy to see), nicely arranged. It was definitely a new salad, made from scratch.

So, they are gracious and will try to accommodate celiacs. But their sauces may not be safe, make sure you ask to read the ingredients list when ordering.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,750
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Ajustice
    Newest Member
    Ajustice
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      I agree with @RMJ, you have multiple positive tests so celiac disease is likely.  This article might be helpful. It breaks down each type of test, and what a positive results means in terms of the probability that you might have celiac disease.     
    • trents
      One small study found that 50% of celiacs react to the dairy protein "casein" like they do to gluten. It is also common for celiacs to be lactose (the sugar in milk) intolerant, though that often disappears in time as the villi heal. About 10% of celiacs react to the oat protein "avenin" like they do gluten.
    • K6315
      Thank you so much Trents (Scott?)! I have started working with a dietitian and did a deep research dive as soon as I got the diagnosis. I am aware of what you mentioned in the first two paragraphs, and was not aware of anything in the third, so I am grateful for that information, and will talk to the dietitian about that. I think I was most interested in the withdrawal process - it gives me hope that, although I have felt unwell recently, I just need to be patient (not a strong suit). I have printed the article you sent and will look at it more closely. Thanks again!
    • Sandi20
      I really like Thorne!  I've researched thier products.  Thank you so much.
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @K6315! Gluten withdrawal typically lasts for a period of a few weeks. But there is a real learning curve involved in actually attaining to a gluten free dietary state. Much more is involved than just cutting out major sources of gluten such as bread and pasta. It's all the places that gluten is hidden in the food supply that is difficult to ferret out, like soy sauce and canned tomato soup, canned chili and canned pork n' beans, some "lite" pancake syrups, potato salad, flavorings, etc., etc. Gluten-containing grain products are hidden through alternate terminology and found in places you would never expect.  There is also "cross contamination" where naturally gluten free foods come into contact with gluten-containing grains during farming, transportation, storage and manufacturing processes. Then there is the issue of "cross reactivity" whereby you may be having gluten-like reaction to food proteins whose structure is similar to gluten. Chief among these are dairy, oats (even gluten-free oats), soy, corn and eggs. I am including this article that you might find helpful:   
×
×
  • Create New...