Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Corn Flour


happyslob

Recommended Posts

happyslob Rookie

Hi everyone,

I've found a few recipes calling for corn flour. I thought that instead of finding that more specialty-type item, I could simply use cornmeal and grind it down well in my blender. Would that work okay?

Thanks!

Christina


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



JennyC Enthusiast

I bought some corn flour in the ethnic section in Walmart. It was $1.98 for 4.4 lbs. It is instant corn masa flour. I hope it works as normal corn flour. :rolleyes: I just thought I'd throw the idea out there since it's so cheap and it says gluten free on the package.

debmidge Rising Star

Before started purchasing Corn flour from Kinnikinnick, I would grind cornmeal in a clean, new mini coffee grinder and that worked.

larry mac Enthusiast
I bought some corn flour in the ethnic section in Walmart. It was $1.98 for 4.4 lbs. It is instant corn masa flour. I hope it works as normal corn flour. :rolleyes: I just thought I'd throw the idea out there since it's so cheap and it says gluten free on the package.

I believe masa harina is corn flour treated with lime. It may impart a slightly different taste than pure corn flour or it may not matter, I don't know. Probably depends on how much lime is in it. I use a lot of corn tortillas, and sometimes you can really smell the lime. Usually, it's the smaller brands that are more traditional or authentic Mexican varieties. I like it actually.

Bob's Red Mill makes corn flour. Saw some today at Brookshires grocery store, $2.95 for 24 oz. I also use unseasoned fish fry breading mix, it's just corn flour. Comes in a plastic bag-like package, usually around 1.00 to $2.00 for 10 oz. Many times it is the only way you will find corn flour in a regular grocery store.

It's a little known secret I discovered years ago when I was doing a lot of experimenting with batter mixes for frying shrimp, catfish, oysters, chicken, etc. One of my faves was 1/3 corn meal, 1/3 corn flour, and 1/3 corn flake crumbs. That was BC. Don't fry much anymore.

best regards, lm

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    2. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    3. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    4. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    5. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,877
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Calsmom
    Newest Member
    Calsmom
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification.  In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.
    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
    • Mynx
      It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process, after the distillation process, the vinegar is still cross contaminated. Please don't dismiss or disregard the small group of people who are 100^ gluten intolerant by saying things are conjecture. Just because you haven't done thr research or aren't as sensitive to gluten doesn't mean that everyone is like you. 
×
×
  • Create New...