Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Mono And Diglycerides


kay's mommom

Recommended Posts

kay's mommom Newbie

Does anyone know if mono and diglycerides contain gluten?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



skyepie Newbie

These ingredients are on the "be wary of" list in the literature that I received from Mayo Clinic.

psawyer Proficient

Monoglycerides and diglycerides emulsifiers derived from vegetable oils.

The Canadian Celiac Association considers them to be acceptable in a gluten-free diet. Shelley Case's Gluten-Free Diet A Comprehensive Resource Guide Expanded Edition also includes them as gluten-free ingredients on page 44.

SilverThea Newbie
Monoglycerides and diglycerides emulsifiers derived from vegetable oils.

What kind of vegetable oils? I can't have anything soy either. This is all brand new to me, and I'm oh-so-very confused!

happygirl Collaborator

Soy is considered a main allergen. Main allergens are required to be listed on the label. If you don't see soy listed, then it is safe.

blueeyedmanda Community Regular

I have heard to be careful with those. I know on products that I buy from Wegmans, they are not labeled gluten free, and they appear safe looking, but I noticed when the product contains them it does not get the "G".

hathor Contributor
Soy is considered a main allergen. Main allergens are required to be listed on the label. If you don't see soy listed, then it is safe.

As I recently discovered, this is true IF the food is regulated by the FDA. If the food is regulated by the USDA (meat, poultry and egg products -- which may mean any product containing these things, the actual rules are complex -- I had a recent post on this), there is no allergen disclosure requirement. The USDA has said that it wants to issue rules so it will have labeling requirements the same as what the FDA has, but they haven't done so yet. I don't know to what extent the manufacturers of these products have decided to voluntarily identify major allergens. I also don't know why it is taking them so long to even start the rulemaking. They were asked to do this over two years ago, I believe. Perhaps the industries involved don't want such rules ...


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    2. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    3. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    4. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    5. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,875
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Charli.stoz09
    Newest Member
    Charli.stoz09
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification.  In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.
    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
    • Mynx
      It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process, after the distillation process, the vinegar is still cross contaminated. Please don't dismiss or disregard the small group of people who are 100^ gluten intolerant by saying things are conjecture. Just because you haven't done thr research or aren't as sensitive to gluten doesn't mean that everyone is like you. 
×
×
  • Create New...