Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Worcestershire Sauce - Are There Any Gluten-Free Brands?


Carriefaith

Recommended Posts

cyclinglady Grand Master

Thanks for the posting and welcome to the forum. Just wanted you to know that chances are, you will not get a response. This is a really old posting!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



ravenwoodglass Mentor

Hi, Gluten free sense January 22 2015. The bottle I have Says it has "Natural Flavorings". That is a way to hide the gluten in it. Hamburg also may contain Wheat. I got a pack at walmart and Aldi's. Both made me very ill. I hahve celiacs.

It is highly unlikely that ground beef would contain wheat without it being on the label. Fillers like wheat and soy must be listed if they are added to meat as a filler. The  sauce might be a possibility. If you have doubts contact the company that makes it. Wheat has to be declared on the label as it is one of the 7 allergins and barley malt would also usually be listed.  What brand was it?

How were the items prepared? Did you grill on a grill that was used before you went gluten free? That might cross contaminate you if any gluten marinades or other items like buns were cooked on it before. 

Do also keep in mind that as celiacs we often think any illness is celiac related. Sometimes it is just a virus or food poisoning etc. 

Hope you are feeling better soon.

If you haven't already read the Newbie 101 thread at the top of the Coping section. There are many different and unexpected sources for CC. 

kareng Grand Master

Hi, Gluten free sense January 22 2015. The bottle I have Says it has "Natural Flavorings". That is a way to hide the gluten in it. Hamburg also may contain Wheat. I got a pack at walmart and Aldi's. Both made me very ill. I hahve celiacs.

 

 

In the US, and many countries - if wheat is added it must be listed.  Plain meat isn't likely to have any wheat added.  Lea and Perrins Worcestershire sauce is gluten-free in the US, but not in all countries.

CarlC Newbie

You might want to try Wan Ja Shan Organic Worchestershire Sauce labeled as Gluten-Free.  It is brewed in the USA so I believe the label is responsible.  Available at good Asian markets and via Amazon. 

Lisa Mentor

Yup Lea & Perrins is not gluten free in Canada, but I believe they have other brands that are gluten free.   It is gluten free in the US.

Serielda Enthusiast

I believe I saw once that the brand Amy's makes one. I'd check them out.

LauraTX Rising Star

I believe I saw once that the brand Amy's makes one. I'd check them out.

Amys doesn't make one, but Annies does, and it contains wheat.  Just to save you the searching.

 

I am in the US and use Lea and Perrins.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



  • 7 months later...
pcjae Newbie

There is a gluten free brand called The Wizard Organic gluten-free/CF Vegan Worchestershire. Buy it here. I'm disappointed it has soy, so I will have to make my own. I'm looking at a few different recipes online, now. Found them when searching for gluten free worchestershire sauce. That's also how I found this site.

  • 8 months later...
moojoo Newbie

Hi All, I'm new to this and very confused! I have Lea & Perrins WC sauce, it lists it's first ingredient as Malt Vinegar.  I have the Coeliac Society of Ireland Food List 2015 here, and it says "All Vinegars are Gluten Free including Malt Vinegar." Doesn't that mean that L&P Worcestershire sauce is safe?  

Their website states

" Lea & Perrins® Worcestershire Sauce is cholesterol free, fat free, preservative free, gluten free and has 80% less sodium than soy sauce. "

I'm cooking for my coeliac niece, can't afford to make a mistake!

squirmingitch Veteran

I know that Lea & Perrins Worcestershire Sauce  in the US is gluten free, I also know that in Canada it is NOT. This is a very reliable site:

http://www.glutenfreedietitian.com/vinegar/

But it is in the US.

I'm agast that the Irish Celiac Society says malt vinegar is gluten free. 

I wouldn't use it. No sense taking any chance at all.

  • 1 year later...
elaine metcalfe Newbie

BIONA  0rganicworcester sauce is gluten free and -vegan i purchased mine in dublin in a health shop cost 5.25 euro

cristiana Veteran

Hendersons Relish if you are in the UK. Not sure if it sells overseas...

 

https://www.hendersonsrelish.com/

  • 1 year later...
MisterSeth Enthusiast

only white vinegar is going to be completely distilled. not sure why they don't just use cider vinegar for their sauce

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,732
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Debbeighe
    Newest Member
    Debbeighe
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Wheatwacked
      Are You Confused About Your Celiac Disease Lab Results? Some people test negative but have a positive biopsy, others test positive but negative biopsy.  This is why it can take years and misdiagnosis of other diseases that Celiac Disease can mimic. The above link is a good read with real life examples. Something I find interesting is that in 1980 or so a new diagnosis was created, Non Celiac Gluten Sensitivity, only 10 years after Norman Borlaug won the Nobel Peace Prize for creating our modern wheat and the Green Revolution.    
    • trents
      @Steve-n-Portland, there is a difference in the requirements to use the label "Gluten Free" and the label "Certified Gluten Free". "Gluten Free" is governed by FDA regulations and has a ceiling of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is a labeling convention used by the GFCO, an independent international third party certifying group that uses 10 ppm as its standard.
    • trents
      We have had numerous reports from forum participants experiencing gluten reactions from Trader Joe "gluten-free" products. It seems it's not a good place for the celiac/gluten sensitive community to shop.
    • Steve-n-Portland
      Also, a class action lawsuit was launched in 2024 against Trader Joe's re: their " gluten free" everything bagels. They tested at 269ppm. (Personally, I am not sure they will win. The FDA says that the *ingredients* have to be less than 20ppm for a company to label something "gluten-free."  In order to be certified as gluten-free by the GFCO, the *final product* needs to be less than 20ppm. That said, the lawsuit is arguing that most people read that label and assume the final product is safe for people with celiac. Thus, many people were made sick. And being sick can have costly consequences in regard to work or school, depending when one becomes ill.)
    • Steve-n-Portland
      Correction: My previous post refers to hickory products when I actually meant bakery products.
×
×
  • Create New...