Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Rice Dream


holdthegluten

Recommended Posts

holdthegluten Rising Star

Has anyone tried it yet...........i thought all of the rice dream's were not gluten free. They used to contain a tiny amount of gluten and it stated it on the label Right?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



irish daveyboy Community Regular
Has anyone tried it yet...........i thought all of the rice dream's were not gluten free. They used to contain a tiny amount of gluten and it stated it on the label Right?

Hi 'holdthegluten',

WRONG rice dream never stated on the label that it contained any gluten.

.

If you follow this link and read the Caution it says not to be used for Infants because it may contain traces of Barley protien

.

Open Original Shared Link

.

However this link just says 'Not to be used for infants' but doesn't elaborate I wonder why?

.

Open Original Shared Link

.

There are other brands of Daryfree milk on the market that don't cause problems for Celiacs, Darifree a potato based milk alternative, almond milk, soy milk, coconut milk etc etc.

.

Best Regards,

David

confusedks Enthusiast

It did uses to say it contained a certain percentage of barley malt. But apparently they didn't change the formula and now they say it's gluten-free, but it's not! It has a small PPM, but personally if they felt they needed to say it previously, I don't want to risk a reaction.

It's up to you, but yes it used to say it contained gluten. If you have a Trader Joe's near you, their brand of rice milk is gluten-free, dairy free and soy free.

irish daveyboy Community Regular
It did uses to say it contained a certain percentage of barley malt. But apparently they didn't change the formula and now they say it's gluten-free, but it's not! It has a small PPM, but personally if they felt they needed to say it previously, I don't want to risk a reaction.

It's up to you, but yes it used to say it contained gluten. If you have a Trader Joe's near you, their brand of rice milk is gluten-free, dairy free and soy free.

Hi 'confusedks',

Apologies, I stand corrected.

I checked back to packaging from 1997 for Rice Dream in the USA

You are quite correct it did say could contain minute traces of gluten from barley.

.

On early european packaging it said barley enzyme was used in the processing!

.

Confusion over,

Most Coeliac/Celiac Agencies worldwide say it is unwise

for people with celiac disease to use Rice Dream.

.

Best Regards,

David

elisabet Contributor

Hi,

I used it and found out that it is not glutenfree there is some barley protein in it.

elisabet

Cinnamon Apprentice

Is it just Rice Dream, or all rice milks?

jerseyangel Proficient

I have communicated with them by phone and email--the formula has not changed, the product is still processed with barley. They can now state 'gluten-free' on the label since the new lableing laws allow this if the amount is low enough.

They used to have a warning on the label--and essentially nothing else has changed about the product since then. I tried Rice Dream early on before I knew better--I reacted then, and won't chance it now.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



holdthegluten Rising Star
I have communicated with them by phone and email--the formula has not changed, the product is still processed with barley. They can now state 'gluten-free' on the label since the new lableing laws allow this if the amount is low enough.

They used to have a warning on the label--and essentially nothing else has changed about the product since then. I tried Rice Dream early on before I knew better--I reacted then, and won't chance it now.

Thanks guys.............what a bunch of crap.........Gluten free should mean 0 amount of gluten. I had some last night and we shall see what happens.........i have both genes and i am really sensitive.

  • 1 month later...
snowgirl Newbie

I thought the label used to include barley in the ingredients and now it does not? I was assuming that meant they did change the formula. Do we know that is wrong? My 2 yr old son is gluten free, but has been having what appear to be some reactions and I've been trying to figure out if he could have got any gluten. He has been drinking rice dream since 1 (and also had more gi probs ever since). Sometimes I think he has more problems with the enriched than the plain - could that be? He is also milk and soy allergic so I have not found any other safe rice milks - they all say they are processed on shared lines.

irish daveyboy Community Regular
My 2 yr old son is gluten free, but has been having what appear to be some reactions and I've been trying to figure out if he could have got any gluten.

Hi 'snowgirl,

I think you just answereed your own question!..... He has been drinking rice dream since 1 (and also had more gi probs ever since). He is also milk and soy allergic so I have not found any other safe rice milks - they all say they are processed on shared lines..

.

Try 'Darifree' it's a milk alternative derived from potato and is soy free as well.

.

Here's a link. Open Original Shared Link.

.

Best Regards,

David

ravenwoodglass Mentor

Ya gotta love a government that tells companies how much poison they can hide and not declare in an item. The reason the company changed labels and can get away with it is because our wonderful FDA has determined that they can so. Do write to the FDA and Rice Dream about this. Letting them know how sick this item makes us is the only way to get this regulation and the formula for this particular item changed.

Meanwhile if you have a Wegmans they have recently come out with a good really gluten-free rice milk. Pacific brands also has one that I have used without seeming to have any ill effects.

Fiddle-Faddle Community Regular

Perhaps we should start a new thread urging members to barrage Rice Dream with phone calls and letters saying we have reacted to it and ask (innocently) is it possible that there is gluten in it? And if so, then they NEED to have a warning, no matter what the FDA says, or they will end up being liable for lawsuits because of all the reactions.

Either that, or they need to change the way they process it so that they no longer use barley enzymes.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Bebygirl01's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      1

      How many people here are aware that there are 9 types of gluten that Celiacs should be aware of?

    2. - Bebygirl01 posted a topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      1

      How many people here are aware that there are 9 types of gluten that Celiacs should be aware of?

    3. - Scott Adams replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      21

      Vaccines

    4. - knitty kitty replied to Dawn Meyers's topic in Related Issues & Disorders
      21

      Vaccines

    5. - knitty kitty replied to Tyoung's topic in Post Diagnosis, Recovery & Treatment of Celiac Disease
      8

      Increasing symptoms after going gluten free


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,006
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    anjie patterson
    Newest Member
    anjie patterson
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      @Bebygirl01, if you want to play word games with the term, "gluten", we can do that. The proteins you list in these other cereal grains besides wheat, barley and rye are somewhat different from that found in wheat, barley and rye and, technically speaking, are not "gluten". Technically speaking, "gluten" should only be applied to a particular protein found in wheat, barley and rye. These other cereal grain proteins have their own names (avenin, secalinin, zein, etc). Unfortunately, confusion has been created in popular and pseudo scientific literature by the informal use of the term "gluten" when talking about the proteins found in these other cereal grains such that you sometimes read about "corn gluten", "oat gluten", "rice gluten", etc. But these are actually misnomers, with "gluten" having been added on as an informal appendage to the actual protein names. Having said that, the protein structures of these other cereal grains is close enough to gluten that, for some people, they can cause a celiac type reaction. But this is not true for most celiacs and those who fall into the NCGS category. Apparently, it is true for you. This whole idea that cereal grains are bad for all of us has been popularized by books such as Dangerous Grains for years but it is not a widely accepted idea in the scientific community.
    • Bebygirl01
      On my Celiac journey and discovered I was also reacting to other types of gluten. The FDA in it's finite wisdom only classifies 'wheat, barley and rye' as the gluten's to be considered when a company tests for and stamps their products as gluten free. I am curious as to how many of you are aware of the other types of glutens? And another question to those on a 'traditional' gluten free diet , who are also still sick and struggling, are you also reacting to these other types of gluten as listed below? NOTE:  The new movement if you want to call it that, is now called 'grain free' and that is the true definition of gluten free. I no longer suffer with ataxia, confusion, anxiety, depression, OCD, Insomnia, ADD, acid reflux, dermatitis herpetiformis, migraines, headaches, and weight issues all due to going 'grain free'. I hope to reach as many of you out there that are still struggling and unaware of what might be setting you off such as my most recent glutening was from a vegan supplement that contained 'magnesium sterate' and 'glucose syrup' both of which are from Zien (zane) gluten at 55%. I was covered in sores that were bleeding, I was seeing squigly lines when I was trying to drive, had acid reflux, insomnia, and nightmares all from the gluten in Corn. Here are the other types of glutens that Celiacs and Gluten Intolerant people also react to: Wheat -Alpha Gliadin Gluten- 69% Rye - Secalinin gluten-30-50% Oats-Avenin gluten -16% Barley-Hordein Gluten -46-52% Millet-Panicin Gluten-40% Corn-Zien Gluten -55% Rice-Orzenin Gluten-5% Sorghum-Kafirin gluten-52% and Teff-Penniseiten Gluten 11%.
    • Scott Adams
      I just want to mention again that IF thimerosal is used in a flu vaccine the amount of ethylmercury in a single vaccine dose would be extremely small, typically around 25 micrograms (µg) or less. For context, this is much lower than the levels of methylmercury found in some seafood. Ethylmercury is metabolized and excreted from the body much faster than methylmercury. Its half-life in the blood is about 7 days, compared to methylmercury, which can persist for months. The dose of ethylmercury in vaccines is far below the threshold known to cause toxicity so would not require chelation.
    • knitty kitty
      If you have poor reactions to vaccines, preservatives, sugar alcohols and metals, you may be deficient in Thiamine Vitamin B1.  Thiamine is needed in the immune response and production of antibodies.  Thiamine can be depleted by vaccines if you are already low to begin with due to the Malabsorption of Celiac Disease.  Thiamine can be destroyed by sulfide preservatives in vaccines, which can result in the body's poor response to vaccines.  Thiamine also chelates metals which allows those metals to be removed in the feces.  Chelation removes thiamine from the body, resulting in a state of thiamine deficiency.  Sugar alcohols need to be processed through the liver using thiamine.  Again, if you're low in thiamine as many Celiac are because of the Malabsorption of celiac disease, vaccines can be a tipping point, resulting in a thiamine deficient state. High doses of Thiamine required to correct thiamine deficiency states are safe and nontoxic.  Thiamine has no toxicity level.  Thiamine and the other B vitamins need to be taken together because they interact together to sustain health.   References: https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/25542071/ https://pmc.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/articles/PMC8533683/
    • knitty kitty
      @Pasballard, Keep in mind those gluten free processed snacks are not required to have vitamins and minerals added to them to replace vitamins lost in processing like gluten containing products.   We need the eight essential B vitamins to turn those carbs into energy to fuel our bodies and make enzymes that sustain life.  Sudden weight gain (or weight loss) can be symptomatic of Thiamine Vitamin B1 deficiency.  Thiamine is the B vitamin with the shortest storage time, and so  thiamine deficiency shows up first with vague symptoms like weight gain or loss, fatigue, not sleeping well, achy or cramping muscles, digestive issues and headaches.   Taking vitamin and mineral supplements helps boost your body's ability to absorb these nutrients which keeps our bodies healthy.  B Complex vitamins and Vitamin D (which regulates inflammation) are usually low in people with Celiac disease.  Talk to your doctor and nutritionist about supplementing.
×
×
  • Create New...