Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gas-x Question


mela14

Recommended Posts

mela14 Enthusiast

I've read before that gas-x has gluten. I wanted to take one yesterday but then thought again and checked out the ingredients. I don't see where the gluten is. It's actually a generic form of extra strength gas-x. What should I be looking for in the ingredients?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



stef-the-kicking-cuty Enthusiast

Hi mela,

Gas X has gluten. I'm 100% sure, because when i started the glutenfree diet i did the same mistake and asked the same question either on this or on the german message board (i'm a german living in the states). So i finally figured out, that it was the Gas X where i got the hidden gluten. I can't find it on the label either (maybe it's the maltodextrin, i'm not sure) but it contains gluten. It could be in the flavors, too, then it's not necessarily on the label. That's why it's called "hidden"... :rolleyes:

Hope I could help you, Stef

mela14 Enthusiast

ok..i'm throwing out the gas-x!!!!!

is there a list somewhere that I could check on durg ingredients?

stef-the-kicking-cuty Enthusiast

Hi Mel,

well, there's a drug list out there. Try this Open Original Shared Link

This list doesn't show the ingridients, but it shows you which drugs are gluten-free.

Stef

stef-the-kicking-cuty Enthusiast

Oh, and I forgot. The website, that leads you to this list is Open Original Shared Link

Hope this helps you, Stef

Canadian Karen Community Regular

Gas X is definitely NOT gluten free.

I also made the same mistake, I used to chew them like candy because my gas was so bad.... When we tried to figure out where I was continuing to get gluten from, that's when we discovered Gas-X was NOT gluten free.

I even called the manufacturer, and they said that for sure their chewables were not gluten free, but they could also not guarantee the gelcaps. So I decided not to take the chance with either of them.. But now Tums has a new anti-gas one that says gluten free right on the packaging. Also, Phyzyme gelcaps are gluten free.

Hope this helps.....

Karen

darlindeb25 Collaborator
<_< now i have a list of gluten-free drugs from the Wheaton gluten Free support group and it says that Gas X Softgels are gluten-free, but not the chewables--the 800# for Novartis is 800-452-0511--the one i use is Equate Extra Strength Gas Relief 125 mg easy to shallow softgels and i have no probelms at all with them--deb

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



mela14 Enthusiast

thanks for the info......but need something now and the only thing in the fridge is Mylanta gas (I threw out the gas-x)....I'm thinking it is not gluten-free......I will try looking on the drug list.

does anone else out there go through bouts where everything bothers them?

I can't seem to get this to calm down! Every day it's just one thing after the other. I just feel awful.

  • 2 weeks later...
stef-the-kicking-cuty Enthusiast

Hi Mel,

yes, I have also days, where everything seems to bother me. With me I found out, if I just drink one or two more glasses of water, it really helps. But everybody has to find that out for himself.

Stef

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,795
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Kiwi86
    Newest Member
    Kiwi86
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...