Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Old El Paso Taco Seasoning?


blondebombshell

Recommended Posts

blondebombshell Collaborator

is it gluten free? it says MSG and malodextrin.

wasnt sure.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



psawyer Proficient

Old El Paso is a company that adheres to a strict gluten disclosure policy. If any of the gluten grains are present in the product they will be named in the ingredient list. If didn't see wheat, rye, barley or oats named, then they are not there.

Piesmom Apprentice

Yep - Old El Paso taco seasoning mix is perfect. We use it all the time. Good luck!

blueeyedmanda Community Regular

malodextrin is actually safe.

I use this seasoning all the time. Enjoy!

NoGluGirl Contributor
is it gluten free? it says MSG and malodextrin.

wasnt sure.

Dear blondebombshell,

Ortega is also safe. It is one I love. They adhere to a very strict labeling policy like Old El Paso.

The last time I checked, all of their products were gluten-free. Daisy sour cream is safe if you can have dairy. The low-fat and fat-free versions are as well. Kraft shredded cheeses (like all Kraft products), clearly label any gluten or casein-containing ingredients.

Sincerely,

NoGluGirl

gfp Enthusiast
malodextrin is actually safe.

Only in North America, in Europe it often comes from wheat ...

skichikk18 Rookie

What about the old el paso hard taco shells? Are they ok?


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



psawyer Proficient
What about the old el paso hard taco shells? Are they ok?

The ones I know about are made from corn. Old El Paso is a General mills brand and will clearly disclose gluten in the ingredients list. If you don`t see wheat, barley, rye or oats listed in the ingredients, then they are not there. They will not be hidden in other ingredients.

  • 9 years later...
Santander Newbie

I asked Old El-paso in Norway (europe) regarding maltodextrin, it comes from corn or potato, not wheat.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,640
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    GoodGlutenGrief
    Newest Member
    GoodGlutenGrief
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @JenFur! You must be relatively new to the celiac journey. I wish it were as simple as just having to cut out gluten and all our gut issues magically disappear. It is very common for those with celiac disease to develop intolerance/sensitivity to other foods. Often it is because the protein structure of some other foods resembles that of gluten. Sometimes it is because damage the damage done to the gut lining by celiac disease wipes out cells that produce enzymes needed to break down those foods. Sometimes it is because the "leaky gut syndrome" associated with celiac disease causes the immune system to incorrectly identify other food proteins as threats or invaders. The two most common non-gluten foods that cause trouble for a lot of celiacs are dairy and oats. But soy, eggs and corn are also on that list. Sometimes these non-gluten food intolerances disappear with time and the healing of the villous lining of the small bowel.
    • JenFur
      I love popcorn but it doesn't love me.  Right now my gut hurts and I am bloated and passing gas.  Am I just super sensitive. I thought popcorn was gluten free 🤔 
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @marinke! "Type 1a diabetes (DM1) is associated with an increased risk of celiac disease (celiac disease) (1)." from: https://diabetesjournals.org/care/article/35/10/2083/38503/IgA-Anti-transglutaminase-Autoantibodies-at-Type-1 "The prevalence of celiac disease (celiac disease) in children with type 1 diabetes (T1D) is 5.1%, and it is often asymptomatic (1)." from: https://diabetesjournals.org/care/article/48/2/e13/157637/Diagnostic-Outcomes-of-Elevated-Transglutaminase So, this is 5x the rate found in the general population.
    • Mari
      Hi James47, You are less than 2 years into your recovery from Celiacs.  Tell us more about the problems you are having. Do you just want to get rid of belly fat or are you still having symptoms like gas and bloating.    For symptoms you may need to change your diet and take various supplements that you cannot adsorb from the foods you eat because of the damage caused by the autoimmune reaction in your small intestine. 
    • marinke
      My daughter (4 years old) has type 1 diabetes since she was 1. Therefore, every year a screening is done. We live in the Netherlands. Every year the screening was fine. This year here ttg is positive, 14, >7 is positive. IGA was in range. Could the diabetes cause this positive result? Or the fact that she was sick the weeks before the brood test?
×
×
  • Create New...