Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Gluten Free At Pret A Manger


HannahHannah

Recommended Posts

HannahHannah Apprentice

Hello,

I was recently sent a list of gluten-free foods available at Pret-a-Manger, and I thought I'd post it on here as it may be useful to some of you. Especially concerning the soups, as whenever I ask, I just get stared at blankly!

They are now doing a wheat-free sandwich, unfortunately it's not gluten-free, but it's a step in the right direction.

So here is what we can eat from Pret:

Bakery

  • 3 weeks later...

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Lynz-UK Newbie
Hello,

I was recently sent a list of gluten-free foods available at Pret-a-Manger, and I thought I'd post it on here as it may be useful to some of you. Especially concerning the soups, as whenever I ask, I just get stared at blankly!

They are now doing a wheat-free sandwich, unfortunately it's not gluten-free, but it's a step in the right direction.

So here is what we can eat from Pret:

Bakery

Sciolist Newbie

I just bought a Wheat Free Salmon & Egg sandwich. I asked at the counter if it was gluten free, they checked and said yes. However I was suspicious and called the Head Office who confirmed it is not. On the sandwich there is a symbol of a grain of wheat crossed through - very similar to the crossed grain symbol. If you get an opportunity, please point this out to Pret a Manger.

  • 1 month later...
HannahHannah Apprentice

Hi; yeah, their wheat free bread is actually rye bread. The amount of people who don't realise that wheat free doesn't necessarily mean gluten free is rather large - it doesn't surprise me that the people at pret don't know. They're so clueless in pret!

I did notice that their label looks a lot like the cross grain symbol - obviously they didn't do their research!

Though I guess it is a step in the right direction :)

  • 4 years later...
bardbabe Newbie

Be wary of Pret!!!

They were handing out free oatmeal in Manhattan today and the worker tried to tell me that it was gluten-free because it was organic. Not so, in fact, as I called their headquarters and was told that it was not.

Then they tried to tell me that they had sandwiches made with gluten-free rye bread, which as far as I know, doesn't exist.....

So be VERY careful going there,, and know that their lists of "gluten-free foods" may not be correct.

May want to consider aking contact with them and getting them better information.

Be careful out there, fellow celiacs!!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    2. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    3. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    4. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    5. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,872
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Cathy Repa
    Newest Member
    Cathy Repa
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)

    • There are no registered users currently online

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification.  In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.
    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
    • Mynx
      It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process, after the distillation process, the vinegar is still cross contaminated. Please don't dismiss or disregard the small group of people who are 100^ gluten intolerant by saying things are conjecture. Just because you haven't done thr research or aren't as sensitive to gluten doesn't mean that everyone is like you. 
×
×
  • Create New...