Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Chevy's Restaurant


Rosebud710

Recommended Posts

Rosebud710 Apprentice

I plan on going to Chevy's this weekend and was wondering if anyone's been there recently. Is there anything I should stay away from?

Thanks!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



tiffanyo Newbie

Well there is not alot that you can eat there. Anything that is fried Is done in the same fryer. so all that is off limits. The machine for making fresh tortillas its pretty safe to assume they make both flour and corn tortillas on the same machine.

I think the salsa that they put on the table is ok but you can't eat the chip that go with it. We just stay way from Chevy's and make our own so we know what is in it.

patriceo15 Rookie

I was sent this by Chevy's it was a while ago so some things may have cahnge but I don't think by much

Gluten Information

(Revised 11/06)

Because our menu items and methods of preparation may vary from state to state, we cannot guarantee this information, however we are fairly confident that this information is accurate. Always alert your server and the restaurant manager of your allergy/intolerance.

Several of our grilled items are marinated in a sauce (Agua Negra) that contains soy sauce as an ingredient, so technically these items are not gluten-free. This will explain why many of the grilled meats are not gluten-free. When in doubt, ask your server or the manager if the item is marinated in Agua Negra. You may request that corn tortillas not be put into the fryer as this may cause cross-contamination from the flour products that are fried in the same oil. Any items that are fried or cooked on the grill are subject to potential cross-contamination from flour tortillas, etc.

KEY: gluten-free = Gluten-free; CG = Contains Gluten

Appetizers

jennyj Collaborator

I eat at Chevy's frequently and always get the same thing. I get a chicken enchilada, rice, and a pork tamale. Most of their dinners come with a corn tomalito (?) and it it not gluten free. They have always been very careful with my meals and I have never gotten ill. The manager even was the one who came to my table and told me they would not put the corn tomalito on my plate because it contained wheat flour.

  • 5 months later...
SacGFGirl Explorer
I eat at Chevy's frequently and always get the same thing. I get a chicken enchilada, rice, and a pork tamale. Most of their dinners come with a corn tomalito (?) and it it not gluten free. They have always been very careful with my meals and I have never gotten ill. The manager even was the one who came to my table and told me they would not put the corn tomalito on my plate because it contained wheat flour.

I've been to Chevy's and ate the chips and the corn tortillas without any issues, even though there is a concern for cross contamination. I've found I don't seem to be super sensitive and thus risk CC from time to time and more often than not don't notice any bad results. I love the portabello mushrooms fajitas.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,751
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Alison A
    Newest Member
    Alison A
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)

    • There are no registered users currently online

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      I agree with @RMJ, you have multiple positive tests so celiac disease is likely.  This article might be helpful. It breaks down each type of test, and what a positive results means in terms of the probability that you might have celiac disease.     
    • trents
      One small study found that 50% of celiacs react to the dairy protein "casein" like they do to gluten. It is also common for celiacs to be lactose (the sugar in milk) intolerant, though that often disappears in time as the villi heal. About 10% of celiacs react to the oat protein "avenin" like they do gluten.
    • K6315
      Thank you so much Trents (Scott?)! I have started working with a dietitian and did a deep research dive as soon as I got the diagnosis. I am aware of what you mentioned in the first two paragraphs, and was not aware of anything in the third, so I am grateful for that information, and will talk to the dietitian about that. I think I was most interested in the withdrawal process - it gives me hope that, although I have felt unwell recently, I just need to be patient (not a strong suit). I have printed the article you sent and will look at it more closely. Thanks again!
    • Sandi20
      I really like Thorne!  I've researched thier products.  Thank you so much.
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @K6315! Gluten withdrawal typically lasts for a period of a few weeks. But there is a real learning curve involved in actually attaining to a gluten free dietary state. Much more is involved than just cutting out major sources of gluten such as bread and pasta. It's all the places that gluten is hidden in the food supply that is difficult to ferret out, like soy sauce and canned tomato soup, canned chili and canned pork n' beans, some "lite" pancake syrups, potato salad, flavorings, etc., etc. Gluten-containing grain products are hidden through alternate terminology and found in places you would never expect.  There is also "cross contamination" where naturally gluten free foods come into contact with gluten-containing grains during farming, transportation, storage and manufacturing processes. Then there is the issue of "cross reactivity" whereby you may be having gluten-like reaction to food proteins whose structure is similar to gluten. Chief among these are dairy, oats (even gluten-free oats), soy, corn and eggs. I am including this article that you might find helpful:   
×
×
  • Create New...