Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Newb - Can't I Just Look At The Label?


Bansaw

Recommended Posts

Bansaw Newbie

I'm investigating if I have gluten intolerance/Celiac and am now looking at labels as I shop.

Someone told me that Soy Sauce has gluten in it, or Tomato ketchup as well for example.

I bought Heinze ketchup and found no mention of gluten but their website says its gluten free.

My soy sauce ingredients are Water, Salt, Hydrogiezed soy protein, corn syrup, caramel color, potassium sorbate.

Wheres the Gluten in that?

Is the only sure way to discern if a product has Gluten to contact the manufacturer?

Help!

ps: I bought corn flakes and "honey nut Oat O's" from Trader Joes, and contact them. They have gluten in they said!!! I thought buying oats I was safe, but..... ... confused.:s


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



psawyer Proficient

Most ketchups are okay, but always read the label. Heinz ketchups are all gluten-free except for the organic one.

Most soy sauces, but not all, have wheat as the first ingredient. In Canada, VH is gluten-free, but it is not available in the US. San-J is gluten-free.

psawyer Proficient

When reading labels, there are safe ingredients. Those are ones that you know do not contain gluten, such as, say, corn starch.

There are unsafe ingredients, which always have gluten, such as flour or malt.

Then there are a lot which can contain gluten, but don't always. With these, you need to know the company's labeling policy. If they have a policy to clearly disclose all gluten sources, then you don't need to worry about those iffy ingredients.

The following companies/brands will clearly disclose gluten sources by using the name of the grain in the ingredient list. Look for wheat, rye, barley or oats. If you don't see any of those words, the product does not contain gluten.

Arrowhead Mills, Aunt Nelly's, Balance, Baskin Robbins, Ben & Jerry, Bertoli, Betty Crocker, Blue Bunny, Breyers, Campbells, Cascadian Farms, Celestial Seasonings, ConAgra, Country Crock, Edy's, General Mills, Good Humor, Green Giant, Haagen Daz, Hellman's, Hormel, Hungry Jack, Jiffy, Knorr, Kozy Shack, Kraft, Lawry's, Libby's, Lipton, Martha White, Maxwell House, McCormick, Nabisco, Nestle, Old El Paso, Ortega, Pillsbury, Popsicle, Post, Progresso, Ragu, Russell Stover, Seneca Foods, Skippy, Smucker, Stokely's, Sunny Delight, T Marzetti, Tyson, Unilever, Wishbone, Yoplait, Zatarain's.

With other companies, if you find something dubious like "modified food starch," then you need to ask. If in doubt, don't eat it.

missy'smom Collaborator

"Celiac.com 11/09/2004 - While oats do not appear to naturally contain gluten, like other grains they can become contaminated during harvesting, transporting, milling and processing. "

And the oat crop in the U.S. is considered to be contaminated.

So we have to buy certified gluten-free oats from one of a a few dedicated growers/processers. Bob's Red Mill, Cream Hill Estates and Gifts of Nature are the three that come to mind. Any oats listed in ingredient lists on products are not gluten-free oats and are not safe to consume. It is recommended that you wait until you are in remission to introduce oats back into your diet and that you do so slowly, in small quantities because a small percentage still react to a compound in oats like gluten.

Here is a list of unsafe/questionable ingredients.

https://www.celiac.com/articles/182/1/Unsaf...ents/Page1.html

By law wheat is required to be listed clearly, barley and gluten are not. So we have to familiarize ourselves with what ingredients can be made from barley and look for them, then, yes, contact the manufacturer if we see those ingredients and are unsure. It's a pain :angry: but our health is worth it. ;)

Juliebove Rising Star

Oats could be contaminated with gluten unless they say gluten free. There is no gluten in and of itself in an oat. But the problem is the way they are grown, stored and transported. CC is very likely. There are a few farmers who have dedicated themselves to growing oats and only oats. They make sure they do not come in contact with wheat or other gluten containing foods at any point in the manufacturing process. You will of course pay more for them.

Lisa Mentor

Here is a listing of US Companies whose policy is to clearly list all forms of gluten, so there's no guessing.

Open Original Shared Link

Wheat, by law is required to be listed if it is in the ingredients. Barley, Malt and Rye do not need to be listed.

Some Companies can be suspect when the list Natural Ingredients or Spieces. That's when you need to call the company.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,897
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    ItchyPap
    Newest Member
    ItchyPap
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • plumbago
      The last time my vitamin D was very low, according to a lab test, was before I was diagnosed with celiac disease. I've been supplementing ever since, and now the numbers on the lab tests are within their normal ranges, oftentimes way above. I've also been supplementing with methylcobalamin (B12) since I was low before diagnosis in 2010, and now I'm fine. I'm surprised I ever requested a folate level, but I did, in 2019. Result 9.4 ng/mL (range >3.0).    
    • Captain173
      Do you have any links that show studies where NCGS and/or infections have caused high Ttg iga levels.  I've yet to see anything that truly supports this. Everything I've read says the high levels are celiac specific.
    • gailc
      I get coughing and choking from canola oil. I cough up stuff.  Symptom is like bronchitis.  I have gluten intolerance, maybe celiac.  the choking persists for about a week, it simulates a cold.  I got it from the gluten free menu at Outback too, that time I got cramps for 25 hours. the cramps start about 20 minutes after finishing eating.  
    • Wheatwacked
      Many of the symptoms, there are over 200, associated with celiac disease and NCGS are vitamin and mineral deficiencies caused by small intestine damage in the case of celiac disease and food avoidance and the poor nutrittion of the Modern American Diet (MAD) I used to turn the heat on even at 78 degrees.  The 600 mcg of Liquid Iodine helped.  Also good for hair, nails, skin and brain fog.  Another good thing for brain fog is phosphatyl choline.  It is essentil for acetylcholine- a brain chemical. I have familial hyperlipdemia and instead of a statin I got a prescription for Nicotinic Acid, 2000 mg a day.  I was already taking 500 mg a day and was really surprised when my HDL when up to  44 and I began sleeping better and my legs and back are getting more flexible.  In addition after the first few doses of itchiness I get a warm fuzzy feeling Raising your vitamin D is crucial.  Low vitamin D allows the immune system to run amuck. intermittent bouts of fatigue, chills/cold intolerance, and shortness of breath/air hunger (sometimes feels like a hollowness in my chest, hard to describe).  Look at Thiamin deficiency. consistently ran hot, was always cranking the a/c, to someone who wears a down vest.  Any combination of deficiencies in B1, B2, B3, B5, choline and Iodine can cause this.  Likely all of them. After a lifetime of mouthbreathing GFD cleared my sinuses.  Post nasal drip is my first symptom of cross contamination nowaday.  
    • Wheatwacked
      If you mean continueing on Gluten Free my answer is yes.  She showed significant improvement in her behavior and that translates to a happy family.  Do get her tested as sooon as you can.  You might want to investigate genetic testing for Celiac Disease.  Children recover more quickly than adults.  It took my son about 6 months on Nutramigen before going to regular food, gluten free.  Blood tests are not always accurate in very young children. You may be advised to see a gastroenterologist instead of relying on blood tests results. Logic: She is better off gluten than before.  Wheat flour has no nutritional value and has an omega 6: omega 3 ratio of 22:1.  Our bodies do better at 3:1.  Omega 6 causes inflammation. When my son was diagnosed, back in 1976, his doctor recommended my wife and I also go gluten free.  We declined and lived to regret it.  I started GFD at 63 and have spent the last 10 years undoing the damage, some of my symptons went all the way back to my childhood and things I lived with all my life got better.
×
×
  • Create New...