Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Modified Food Starch ... Ugh!


Guest spruette

Recommended Posts

Guest spruette

I am very new to gluten-free living. I saw a dietician and learned that I was not eating gluten free because of a few ingredients that appeared safe.

I have learned DO NOT TRUST ANYTHING THAT SAYS "MODIFIED FOOD STARCH". I was told most of it was corn. That is not true. The past week, I have been glutened three times assuming it was corn. WRONG!

So, I called Campbells to ask about their Chili. I assumed once again it was safe seeing that nothing said wheat or flour or anything like that. The lady says, it is not gluten free. But then follows it up with, "But you seem to be fine, so that's good." I politely told her that a lot of damage is done even though I "seem fine". She then kind of giggled and said, "Oh really?" I was taken aback by that a bit. And answered, "Yes, really." No big deal really, but why do people assume if you don't need an epi-pen, then all is well. And then doubt me when I say "it is damaging to me with or without symptoms." What's so hard to believe about that? I don't know.

My point is I thought there was a bill that was recently passed that told companies to list their allergies plainly for all to see. It passed in the white house, so that we wouldn't be confused by any ingredients? What happened to that, and why are most companies still not doing that?

Some companies that I find DO do that. MMMars , Banquet , Kraft (some).

I don't know - STAY AWAY FROM MODIFIED FOOD STARCH. Look how irritable I am? I am an easy going girl, this gluten IS dangerous to me. Grrrr to Campbells lady. LOL!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



KaitiUSA Enthusiast

Modified food starch has always been questionable for celiacs. Unless it is a safe brand such as Kraft who won't hide anything we must call the manufacturer to make sure it is infact gluten free.

The bill that was passed and signed in August of 2004 does not come into effect until January 2006.

Some companies are already doing that so if you don't want to call the manufacturer everytime you see something questionable then stick with the safe brands that you know won't hide anything.

If I can help you any more just let me know. :D

angel-jd1 Community Regular

Actually the bill only covers the top 8 allergens. Wheat is in the top 8. Rye, barley and oats are not. So they will not be listed. We will still have to call, but it is a step in the right direction.

However, the bill says that a "standard" for gluten free has to be set by 2006. Which will help us out quite a bit.

Hope that helps.

-Jessica :rolleyes:

MySuicidalTurtle Enthusiast

I was thinking about that bill today. At leats this way if we see something listeing wheat we know to not buy and eat it. If it doesn't say we can call. It should make it somewhat easier!

lovegrov Collaborator

Unless it's a company that clearly lists gluten, assuming anything about MFS is not smart. And Campbells canned soups and other foods simply are not celiac friendly. Campbells does have a gluten-free list -- all you have to do is ask.

No matter what your experience it is true that the vast majority of MFS is made from something other than wheat. But that doesn't mean you can just assume it's gluten-free.

richard

sfortney Newbie

I recently emailed Campbell's from their site, checking on broths and got a list from them in the mail the next week. None of the chilies are listed as gluten free, but the Chunky Chicken Broccoli Cheese, Healthy Request RTS Hearty Country Vegetable, and Savory Lentil Select Soup were. Not much to choose from for soups.

I once called Kraft to check on Miracle Whip Light and the person I spoke to was not very helpful. I got the feeling she really didn't know what I was talking about--very discouraging.

My 4 year old son has been gluten and casein free since August 2004. It was recommended by a dietician because he has developmental delays in speech and social skills. Finding things for him in the beginning was really difficult. I'm still uncertain about a lot of things on the market. Most of what I buy is online.

He is doing a great deal better now. No more gastric problems and his speech is rapidly improving I wonder if he inherited difficulties with gluten from me. Very possible.

celiac3270 Collaborator

With Kraft you just need to read labels. If it doesn't have gluten on the label, there's no gluten in the product. If there's some form of gluten hidden in something, it will say it, for example: modified food starch (wheat). That's why they have no list. Kraft is the most celiac-friendly company I can think of.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kvogt Rookie

I think the thing to do is whenever anyone calls a manufacturer, ask when they will begin complying with the new food labeling legislation. This will help them appreciate that many of their callers are concerned. It wouldn't hurt to mention how inconvenient it is not to have the labeling yet and perhaps how it makes you unsafe to buy products that are not clearly marked.

Guest gfinnebraska

I have started buying/eating Progresso Soup. They list "allergens" on the label after all the ingredients. i.e. "Allergens: wheat, soy, milk." I find it VERY easy to read and helpful!!

Boojca Apprentice

Just be very careful with Progresso and still read all the ingredients, even if it doesn't list wheat in their allergens statement. They apparently do not consider "wheat starch" wheat, and I've seen it in the list of ingredients but not in the allergen statement. So, beware and read those labels!!!

Bridget

girlygirl Newbie

The reason that you had such a reaction to the modifed food starch is more than likely because it contained MSG. As I have already posted MSG is hidden in many foods with innocent names such as calcium caseinate,autolyzed yeast,rice syrup,caramel flavoring,stock,dry milk solids, milk powder, natural chicken flavoring,citric acid (if made from corn). These are only a few of the things to look out for or the question.

I'm sorry to here that you had a bad reaction, been there done that, it really stinks and it shoud be illegal! :blink:

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,797
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    JuneRose
    Newest Member
    JuneRose
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...