Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Tabatchnick Soups


jjc

Recommended Posts

jjc Contributor

I contacted Tabatchnick by phone yesterday to find out if any of their frozen soups were gluten free, and they gave me a few types to try. However, when I was in the store trying to purchase them, I noticed that a lot of the ones they had mentioned had modified food starch on the label.

I then e-mailed the company and asked specifically about the modified food starch, but my response was an e-mail that just had the following list attached. I thought I had made myself clear in my e-mail, so may the modified food starch is nothing to worry about? Wouldn't they have told me if it was?

Does anyone eat their soups and do okay on them? THANKS!!

GLUTEN FREE SOUPS

CREAMED SPINACH

VEGETARIAN CHILI

NEW ENGLAND POT

CORN CHOWDER

CR OF MUSHROOM

WILD RICE

TOMATO RICE

BROCCOLI CHEESE

SOUTHWEST BEAN

BLACK BEAN

ROCK ISLAND

SALMON CHOWDER

CR OF SPINACH

CR OF BROCCOLI

POTATO

PEA

CABBAGE

YANKEE BEAN

LENTIL

PEA NS


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



psawyer Proficient

Modified food starch can refer to any starch which has been partially broken down ("modified"). The modification does not add any protein, so if the original starch was not from a gluten-containing grain, then the modified starch does not contain gluten.

It is usually corn starch. In the US, by law, if it is wheat starch then the word "wheat" must appear on the label.

If the manufacturer of the product has said that it does not contain gluten, then I would consider it safe.

"Modified food starch" is one of many ingredients that may or may not contain gluten. You need to check with the maker, or know that their policy. A number of companies have a policy that they will clearly disclose gluten ingredients:

Arrowhead Mills, Aunt Nelly's, Balance, Baskin Robbins, Ben & Jerry, Bertoli, Betty Crocker, Blue Bunny, Breyers, Campbells, Cascadian Farms, Celestial Seasonings, ConAgra, Country Crock, Edy's, General Mills, Good Humor, Green Giant, Haagen Daz, Hellman's, Hormel, Hungry Jack, Jiffy, Knorr, Kozy Shack, Kraft, Lawry's, Libby's, Lipton, Martha White, Maxwell House, McCormick, Nabisco, Nestle, Old El Paso, Ortega, Pillsbury, Popsicle, Post, Progresso, Ragu, Russell Stover, Seneca Foods, Skippy, Zatarain's.

Not all products by these companies are gluten-free, but you can read their labels and know.

gfp Enthusiast
Not all products by these companies are gluten-free, but you can read their labels and know.

One also has to be aware of the difference in:

Tips about Common Ingredients:

* Food Starch and Modified Food Starch: When listed in the ingredient statement of Kraft products, "food starch" and "modified food starch" often refer to corn starch. Our ingredient suppliers assure us that the corn starch we use in our products does not contain gluten. If a Kraft product uses food starches from a gluten-containing source, such as wheat starch, the source will always be identified in the ingredient statement.

* HVP (Hydrolyzed Vegetable Protein): If a Kraft product uses hydrolyzed vegetable protein, the source will always be identified in the ingredient statement.

* Mustard/Mustard Flour: This ingredient does not contain gluten.

* Vinegar: When listed in the ingredient statement of Kraft products, distilled vinegar is used. According to our ingredient suppliers, the distilled vinegar we use does not contain gluten.

and

Our products are tested to make sure they do not contain gluten.

Whereby it is a great step forwards to list the sources... and that they do deserve recognition for this they are making a deliberate legal disclaimer here. They are in no way claiming the prducts are gluten-free, they are simply saying their suppliers say they are gluten-free.

They do not say where their suppliers are based....

Personally, I could do with a few $$$, If Kraft want I'll set up an office in Mexico and buy US corn starch and supply it to Kraft with said guarantee. I won't test it, why bother ??? Indeed I will take the corn starch they don't buy because it is not gluten-free, I will then just give an assurance it is and sell it with a guarantee. I'll just add $5 a ton....

I'm not saying this is where Kraft get their corn starch .... BUT there is nothing ion thier statement says not!

What I would say is that the specific lack of any statement by Kraft of the source of their starch and/or ANY QC testing by themselves is suspicious.

Many US 'businesses' ALSO buy a different white powder from Mexico (or Columbia)... I very much doubt they accept a purity guarantee at face value! Nope, they have a chemist on hand to sample some of the product on every delivery....

A more legit example: is buying and selling crude.... (something I do know about)....

When companies sell crude it is sold at a standard... YET every single shipment is sampled and tested....

So this white powder that Kraft buy by the ton.... incredible they don't actually test it ??

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,650
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    NancyW
    Newest Member
    NancyW
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Jenn D
      Hi. Did your ema levels ever go negative? My son is 2 years in gluten free and they are still positive.  I'm scared he has refractory celiac disease. Please if anyone has any info greatly appreciate it. His ttg is 3 which is considered normal.
    • MomofGF
      I will have that info soon but it was a laundry list of a test and 9 viles. ok so there were some days she was gluten she barely ate because of the reactions. I told her 3 weeks of atleast 10g’s a day and no gluten-free days. Thanks so much for your help! I didn’t know my suggestion for gluten-free days would have hurt her.    I will come back with the list to make sure the req was proper!! 
    • trents
      A "gluten challenge" of two weeks would be the bare minimum for expecting to render valid testing, and that would have been paired with eating a minimum of 10 g of gluten each day (the equivalent of 4-6 slices of wheat bread). And with the three gluten free days in the midst of that two week gluten challenge I would not have confidence in the results of the testing. Was there a blood test done for IGA deficiency? Can you post the test names that were done with the scores and with the reference ranges used by the lab? By the way, with celiac disease the issue is not being able to digest gluten. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder defined by the fact that ingestion of gluten triggers an immune system response that attacks the membrane that lines the small bowel. The immune system mistakenly identifies the protein gluten as a biologic invader.
    • MomofGF
      Hey all!! M i want to thank everyone for their suggestions and advice - I am a single mother of 4 (now 3) and was helping with my oldest leaving the nest. I have another child with medical issues and with work (it’s our end year), life has been crazy and I haven’t had the time to answer.    so we got a blood test done for my daughter that can’t digest gluten. She had been eating gluten for 2 weeks. The blood work came back normal? How is that possible. I see her with my own eyes and it’s not normal. Is that not long enough?  I am thinking about having her eat gluten another week then go to the hospital and see what they say.    She did have 3 gluten-free days in those 2 weeks but she was getting afraid to eat and I told her to may take a day off - was this a bad thing to do? Girl was having constant back pains and muscle soreness as well. Headaches/migraines…should I wait longer. I did see 4-6 weeks of Gluten consumption prior to testing… kind of at a loss now.    Thanks to everyone for whatever advice you can give.   Enjoy your Sunday 😃👋👋      
    • Scott Adams
      This article has some detailed information on how to be 100% gluten-free, so it may be helpful (be sure to also read the comments section.):    
×
×
  • Create New...