Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Captain Morgan's


lobita

Recommended Posts

mynxr Rookie

Whether it is spiced or not isn't the issue for those of us that are gluten intolerant.  The fact that it's made from a mash containing gluten will make people that are intolerant sick.  Yes, the gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process.  However, the liquid that does pass through has been cross contaminated because it contained the gluten protein prior to distillation.  Any distilled alcohol made from wheat, rye, barley, a mash, etc., will make people that are truly intolerant to gluten sick.  Stick with alcohols that are distilled from corn, potato and rice.  They are safe.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



kareng Grand Master
2 hours ago, mynxr said:

Whether it is spiced or not isn't the issue for those of us that are gluten intolerant.  The fact that it's made from a mash containing gluten will make people that are intolerant sick.  Yes, the gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process.  However, the liquid that does pass through has been cross contaminated because it contained the gluten protein prior to distillation.  Any distilled alcohol made from wheat, rye, barley, a mash, etc., will make people that are truly intolerant to gluten sick.  Stick with alcohols that are distilled from corn, potato and rice.  They are safe.

Isn’t it rum? Rum is not made from grain.

 

just looked it up- yep.  It’s rum and it’s made of sugar cane - no grain.  So I don’t even have to explain distillation . ?

Ennis-TX Grand Master
2 hours ago, mynxr said:

Whether it is spiced or not isn't the issue for those of us that are gluten intolerant.  The fact that it's made from a mash containing gluten will make people that are intolerant sick.  Yes, the gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process.  However, the liquid that does pass through has been cross contaminated because it contained the gluten protein prior to distillation.  Any distilled alcohol made from wheat, rye, barley, a mash, etc., will make people that are truly intolerant to gluten sick.  Stick with alcohols that are distilled from corn, potato and rice.  They are safe.

Morgans rum is made form molasses.....you know sugar cane....hell only liquor I keep around the house at all times....I can not even drink but I use it in cooking.

  • 4 months later...
flintlike Newbie

Okay. I have been using this website as a resource for a long time and my need to share this story is what made me finally create an account. 

Last summer, I was having a bonfire with some friends. The person making the booze run picked up Captain "cause rum is made from sugar", right...? Being 21 for only about a month, this logic sounded good and i even did a quick google search, not looking very hard but the internet seemed to think Captain was safe. So i had MAYBE half a Captain and Coke..... What happened after this was the worst gluten-ing of my life. I couldn't leave the bathroom floor. I was falling in and out of consciousness. (I have a damaged nervous system.) I was so sick that my partner had to carry me around. We were in the woods, far away from everyone and they almost took me to the hospital. The whole night and next day, I couldn't keep down any food, my body just kept trying to purge itself. While I was asleep, my friends had searched and found the same vague vocabulary that people are discussing here.

It infuriates me that everytime someone offers me a drink, ( I work in a distillery and everyone I know is in the restaurant industry.) I have to consider whether it's worth risking going through all that again. -Something that could be fixed with literally one sentence- but very, VERY few alcohol companies are willing to put in plain language whether or not their product is safe for Celiacs. 

What I don't understand is, ....if your product isn't safe for me and you don't make that clear, on the bottle or website, etc. and I drink it .... you're losing a customer ANYWAY. I'm obviously never drinking Captain Morgan again. But, if you tell me straight away that it's not safe for me, I'm not going to buy your product for myself, but I at least trust you to be truthful and I know my friends can drink this, but I can't. But if you weasel around, I don't trust you at all. Period. 

Now, to be fair, the website (at least at the time) said basically there's a possibility for contamination and it's basically a bottle-by-bottle basis. So, this is not to say that everyone will react like this. But I had an unsafe bottle and it was not a good time.  

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,795
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Kiwi86
    Newest Member
    Kiwi86
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)

    • There are no registered users currently online

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...