Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Ice Cream


Laurad-

Recommended Posts

Laurad- Apprentice

Hi!

I've read in several places that some ice cream contains gluten, but I eat a lot of ice cream and have yet to come across a brand that has it (besides in the obvious flavors like cookie dough, etc).

So now I'm curious... do any of you know which brands contain gluten?

Thanks for the help. B)


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Lisa Mentor

Gluten is not specific to Brands of anything.

Laurad- Apprentice
Gluten is not specific to Brands of anything.

Well, what I mean is that if you were to look at the ingredients in each brand of vanilla flavored ice cream, every brand has a different recipe. So do some brands use gluten as a thickener in their recipe? And, if so, which brands?

psawyer Proficient

Most ice cream is gluten-free. It is not possible to make a sweeping generalization based on the brand--there are too many variables. When gluten is in ice cream, it is typically in something added to the formula to create a specific flavor. I don't know of any ice cream that uses a gluten ingredient to provide texture (there may be one that I don't know about).

Sometimes a general statement can be made about a brand. Godiva chocolate is not safe for celiacs. All Godiva chocolate is sweetened with barley malt. So, any Godiva product which contains chocolate is unsafe. I don't think Godiva has any products that don't contain chocolate. :(

dksart Apprentice

Blue Bell chocolate has wheat flour!!!!!!! WHY??? <_<

Cinnamon Apprentice

We found out the hard way that the dixie cup type of ice cream is not gluten free. Now I just buy Breyers.

lovegrov Collaborator

There's no brand I know of that doesn't have some gluten-free flavors.

richard


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



zero Newbie
There's no brand I know of that doesn't have some gluten-free flavors.

I could not have said that better if I hadn't tried. :rolleyes:

rob

GF avenger Apprentice

Ben and Jerry's Cherry Garcia - don't do it!!!

Those natural flavorings got me in some serious trouble.

Laurad- Apprentice
Ben and Jerry's Cherry Garcia - don't do it!!!

Those natural flavorings got me in some serious trouble.

Really? I'm so sorry that gave you trouble! My all-time favorite ice cream flavor is Ben & Jerry's Vanilla Caramel Fudge and it doesn't give me problems.

happygirl Collaborator
Ben and Jerry's Cherry Garcia - don't do it!!!

Those natural flavorings got me in some serious trouble.

Ben and Jerry's has a very clear gluten labeling policy. Open Original Shared Link

"Should any of our products contain those grains (wheat, flour, barley, oats, rye, malt, etc.) the label would reference them. We understand that there are tricky ways that gluten can be missed. We assure you that we have researched our ingredients carefully, and we know exactly what is going into our ice cream."

GFqueen17 Contributor
Sometimes a general statement can be made about a brand. Godiva chocolate is not safe for celiacs. All Godiva chocolate is sweetened with barley malt. So, any Godiva product which contains chocolate is unsafe. I don't think Godiva has any products that don't contain chocolate. :(

How do you know this??

Rondar2001 Apprentice

I have seen some store brand chocolate ice creams in Canada that contain wheat.

greendog Apprentice

I contacted Haagen Dazs and they told almost all of their ice cream was gluten free, except for the ones they added something like cookies to. So I started eating the chocalate covered vanilla ice cream bars with little or no problems. Then I tried the chocolate malted chocalate covered ice cream bars, and my stomach and guts burned for about 24 hours. To me it's a crap shoot and sometimes you get snake eyes.

GFqueen17 Contributor
I contacted Haagen Dazs and they told almost all of their ice cream was gluten free, except for the ones they added something like cookies to. So I started eating the chocalate covered vanilla ice cream bars with little or no problems. Then I tried the chocolate malted chocalate covered ice cream bars, and my stomach and guts burned for about 24 hours. To me it's a crap shoot and sometimes you get snake eyes.

Well malt is gluten..usually made from barley.

angelbender Newbie

Try Edy's brands. It's called something else west of the Mississippi.....Dreyer's I think. They have LOTS of

flavours. I think they are upfront about all labeling of gluten but I call them up. They will send you a gluten-free list

of their current flavours. I don't remember if they send coupons or not (alot of manufacturers do). They are

very friendly and helpful. Last year during the American Idol hoopla, they had like 5 flavours to pick from for

people to vote on and only one was supposed to make it as a permanent flavour. The "Take the Cake" flavour

I didn't think made it but I recently saw it at a store. It's a yellow cake with sprinkles flavour and it is (or at

least WAS) gluten-free. Funny I was never fond of cake and now that I can't have it........oh well......it's quite good.

Also the Edy's brand here in Chicagoland goes on sale quite freqently BOGO (Buy one get one free). Hope

this helps you out. I'm leaving the liberry now to go home and get some vanilla with chocolate syrup........

slurrrrrrp!.................Angel

Laurad- Apprentice
The "Take the Cake" flavour I didn't think made it but I recently saw it at a store. It's a yellow cake with sprinkles flavour and it is (or at least WAS) gluten-free.

What??? It's cake flavored and gluten free??? That's AWESOME! I'm going to see if I can find it somewhere...

Laurad- Apprentice
I have seen some store brand chocolate ice creams in Canada that contain wheat.

That's REALLY good to know because my job takes me to Canada at least once a year. Thanks for pointing that one out!

tiffanyo Newbie

Take the cake is really good very sweet It has yellow cake flavored ice cream with frosting swirls and color sprinkles in it.

Now if they can make this why can't they make the cookie dough without gluten?

cookiequeen Apprentice

I went to Jason's Deli today and asked if the soft serve had gluten. It does :angry: . No wonder it got sick the last time I ate there.

CeliacMom2008 Enthusiast

Blue Bunny has a birthday cake as well. Really does taste like cake! My son loves it, but I have a hard time with cake having the texture and cold of ice cream!

For those of you missing cake...Kinnikinnick's chocolate and white cakes are fabulous and I've yet to find anyone who could tell they weren't made with wheat flour.

And for those missing cookie dough ice cream - Gluten Free Sensations chocolate chip cookie dough is amazing (well so are the cookies, but I'm partial to dough!). Drop spoonfuls of it in your favorite vanilla - yum! You can either freeze the drops first or add them unfrozen.

Yeah, I'm the Celiac mom with a HUGE sweet tooth! Thankfully my son helps to keep me eating healthy (mostly :rolleyes: ).

Auntie Lurlynn Newbie
Most ice cream is gluten-free. It is not possible to make a sweeping generalization based on the brand--there are too many variables. When gluten is in ice cream, it is typically in something added to the formula to create a specific flavor. I don't know of any ice cream that uses a gluten ingredient to provide texture (there may be one that I don't know about).

Sometimes a general statement can be made about a brand. Godiva chocolate is not safe for celiacs. All Godiva chocolate is sweetened with barley malt. So, any Godiva product which contains chocolate is unsafe. I don't think Godiva has any products that don't contain chocolate. :(

That's awful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Laurad- Apprentice
That's awful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I couldn't agree more! ...and there's a Godiva store in the mall by my house that always has these amazing chocolate covered strawberries in the window, and I always want to eat them soooooo badly!

blueeyedmanda Community Regular

I usually buy the Wegmans brand and its labeled as gluten free. I need my ice cream.....

Bellamia Newbie

If you live anywhere that Kemps is delivered they offer alot of gluten free ice cream and it's yummy!! I was very surprised by the mint and spumoni.

The following is from their web site (www.kemps.com):

"Q.

Which Kemps products are gluten-free?

A.

A: Kemps products including milk, sour cream, cottage cheese and yogurt are gluten free.

Ice cream itself is gluten free but may contain inclusions which contain gluten.

Anyone looking for a gluten free product should avoid the following ice cream products:

ice cream sandwiches

ice cream cones

Ice cream flavors which have the following inclusions contain gluten:

apple crisp

brownie batter

brownie pieces

cake pieces

candies (may have a flour component that contains gluten)

cheesecake

cookie dough

cookie pieces

graham cracker

mint (the color contains gluten)

pie pieces

spumoni (the color contains gluten)

Products containing gluten are manufactured in the same manufacturing facility as gluten free products.

Kemp

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,668
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    carol chamblee
    Newest Member
    carol chamblee
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.3k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Rebeccaj
      glutened peoples experience ?via flour airbourne.
    • eKatherine
      Keep in mind that you might also have a dietary sensitivity to something else. Get into the habit of reading ingredients lists.
    • BoiseNic
      I would avoid gluten at all cost. Sometimes there will be no noticeable damage, but it is still causing an autoimmune response that will manifest in some way or another eventually. Throwing up from a macaroon sounds like something other than celiac disease also.
    • pplewis3d
      Thanks, Scott! I appreciate you looking that up for me. Perhaps that will be good enough for someone but not for me...super sensitive dermatitis herpetiformis here. I don't take any chances that I can avoid. ~Pam
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, Liamclarke! We have reports from time to time of people whose celiac disease seems to go into remission. Often, however, it doesn't last. There is also the question of whether or not symptoms or lack of them tell the whole story. Many of us are "silent" celiacs who have very minor or no symptoms when consuming gluten yet slow, insidious damage is still going on in the gut. The only way to tell for sure in your case would be to be retested after going back on gluten for a period of weeks or months such that sufficient time has elapsed for antibody levels in the blood to build up to detectable levels. And I would certainly advise you to do that and not take anything for granted.
×
×
  • Create New...