This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.

• Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):

• Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Hello From So.cal.

angieInCA

angieInCA Apprentice

Hello all!

I am a total newbie to this whole celiac thing. I was diagnosed on Aug. 22nd. Just a little over a week of finally knowing what has been my problem for over 40 years. Sad thing is I became suspicious over 3 years ago and my gastroentologist then said "No Way" but never ran one test.

I've known for years something was not right and have had test after test for allergies and other things but nothing was ever conclusive. Sad thing is if you go down the Celiac check list I had 14 out of what 17 symptoms! And not one Dr. in my entire life ever questioned it. My guess is because the one symptom I didn't have was weight loss. Matter of fact I have always been about 10 to 15 lbs over weight and now I am close to 40 lbs over weight. Strangely enough, after just 1 week of being gluten free I have dropped 10 lbs and feel the best I have felt in years!

I have found all of this very daunting as I'm sure most of you did in the beginning. I've spent countless hours researching. I'm so excited to join a community where I feel I can learn so much.

Just call me

Angie

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):

home-based-mom Contributor
Hello all!

I am a total newbie to this whole celiac thing. I was diagnosed on Aug. 22nd. Just a little over a week of finally knowing what has been my problem for over 40 years. Sad thing is I became suspicious over 3 years ago and my gastroentologist then said "No Way" but never ran one test.