Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Swiss Chalet (so Mad Right Now)


KristaleeJane

Recommended Posts

KristaleeJane Contributor

Hello all

Let me start by saying I was very impressed with the allergy guide at swiss chalet. Now I am in Canada but I am sure it is the same everywhere. I ate out there many times ordering the same thing everytime under the impression that what I was eating was gluten free. If you check out there allergy menu online, the only thing I was a litte concerned about was the fries, as they do not have dedicated fryers for them, and they do warn you about cross contamination. But the ribs which clearly state they are gluten free and wheat free ARE NOT!!!!!. I have been ordering them over a course of 6 mths, and everytime I told them the same thing, I have gluten allergy, please no bun on my plate.

So the last time I go into to order them, the manager comes out and says actually our ribs are all marinated in a flour based sauce, so they are not gluten free, I almost died, I said you have got to be kidding me. I said that I have ordered them multiple times and no one has ever brought this to my attention before. Why the hell do they say they are? Can you get them without the sauce at least? She responded with NO. I have never been so mad in my life. Why would the company be allowing people with celiac and other allergies be consuming this. Why was a being served this after telling staff I have a gluten allergy. Grrrrrrrrrr i am so upset so just venting a little here. I am in Canada so I have contacting the food regualtion People and they are investigating it now.

Now I know why I had all the classic symptoms, but I was thinking it was just from the fries that I ate with it.

This may not apply at every swiss chalet, but it did at this one so watch out everybody!!


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



Fiddle-Faddle Community Regular

I'd say the problem is not with the staff, but with the corporate office who designated the ribs as gluten-free on their allergy menu.

Kudos to the manager, who obviously instructed the staff to alert her if anyone ordered gluten-free, and saved you from getting sick.

If they have not yet changed their on-line information, I bet they will if you point out to them that someone is bound to get extremely sick and that Swiss Chalet will be liable because of their misinformation.

I know you're mad, but I'm glad you didn't get sick again!

Helena Contributor

I'd complain to head office for sure....also, you might want to contact the Canadian Food Inspection Agency. I'm pretty sure restaurants *can't* give out absolutely false info. like that, I contacted the CFIA once (because of a mislabelled product), and they investigated and issued a recall.

psawyer Proficient

Swiss Chalet is owned by Open Original Shared Link, a Canadian company. Cara operate under several brand names, almost entirely in Canada. Other brands include Harvey's, Kelsey's, Montanta's and Milestone's. Most locations are franchises. There are three Open Original Shared Link outlets in the US.

Cara has been in operation since 1883 when they started out as a shipping company, quickly moving into catering. In Canada, they are the largest supplier of airline "food."

They have always been very open about allergens in their food, so I have trouble believing that this is an intentional misrepresentation, at least by Cara. Each franchisee is different (I operate a franchised business myself). They may be doing something outside the official box, or may be mistaken about ingredients.

Open Original Shared Link The ribs show soy, but no gluten. The fries are listed as gluten-free. At one time they were not, but there are no longer any breaded deep fried foods on the menu. Elimination of trans fats pushed them off the menu.

lorka150 Collaborator
The ribs show soy, but no gluten. The fries are listed as gluten-free. At one time they were not, but there are no longer any breaded deep fried foods on the menu. Elimination of trans fats pushed them off the menu.

My mom eats there often. She doesn't order the fries, but they do have the * that indicates in the same fryer, and they do have breaded chicken.

psawyer Proficient

I looked again, and there is still a CC advisory for the fries. The breaded chicken is gone from the menus at the locations near me (North Toronto and Markham). It may still be offered in other locations. Check your local menu carefully. Thanks, Laurie, for the clarification.

The ribs still show as gluten-free, without any cc advisory. I think they are okay, but you decide for yourself.

Juliebove Rising Star

The manager may have been confused or didn't really know what gluten was. I've found sometimes in the case of food allergies, they just don't want to serve you, lest you get sick or die or something and the blame can be pinned on them.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



babysteps Contributor
The manager may have been confused or didn't really know what gluten was. I've found sometimes in the case of food allergies, they just don't want to serve you, lest you get sick or die or something and the blame can be pinned on them.

That is very possible.

Or perhaps this outlet used a non-corporate-approved marinade, or added flour to the corporate-approved marinade.

My rule is, even if I think a food 'should' be gluten-free, if a server or manager tells me it is not gluten-free, then I do not eat it. Better safe than sorry!

Now if they say 'you can't have that, it has rice' (this happens all the time!) then I say something like "actually, I can have rice but not rye - if it's just rice and not any wheat or barley or rye, then I can probably have it" and wait for a response & sometimes the triple-check.

KristaleeJane Contributor

Thanks for the responses!

I have contacted the canadian food regulations and they did an investigation, looks like the manager was mistaken. The investigator gave me the ingredients of the marinade and the BBq sauce, and it does sound fine. It appears the marinade looks alot like a flour marinade but it is actually a lot of spices and salt. Obviously He did not know what he was talking about. Unless they were adding to it on their own and then now are trying to cover it up, who knows.

As far as the fries go, I am sure it is different at every location, at the one close to me they also do sell breaded chicken fingers which are cooked in the same oil, and I did notice they do have cross contamination warning at the bottom of their allergy menu. Otherwise they would be fine. I have had the fries before, and I never got extremely sick or anything, but I won't take that risk again.

Again better safe than sorry but looks like it was misinformation on the manager's part.

thanks

KM

Helena Contributor

Good to hear that this worked out. Even though there wasn't a problem with gluten, helping to spread awareness about the importance of giving out accurate info. when it comes to ingredients is a good thing!

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,800
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Joan Goodyear
    Newest Member
    Joan Goodyear
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.4k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Manaan2
      Hi Trents-Thanks for reading and sharing insight.  We need all the help we can get and it's super appreciated.  She is currently dairy, soy and oat free and those have mostly been completely excluded from her diet since the diagnosis (we tried going back on dairy and oats at different times for a bit, didn't see a significant difference but have now cut out again just to be extra safe since her issues are so persistent.  We did cut eggs out for about 3 months and didn't notice significant difference there, either.  The only one we haven't specifically cut out completely for any portion of time is corn, however, we've kept it minimal in all of our diets for a long time.  She definitely goes 3-4 weeks without any corn products at times and still has issues, but I'm guessing that's not long enough to confirm that it isn't causing issues.   We could definitely try to go longer just to double check.  Thanks again!   
    • Jordan23
      Ok so know one knows about cross reactions from yeast,corn, potatoes, eggs, quinoa ,chocolate, milk, soy, and a few more I forgot.  There all gluten free but share a similar structure to gluten proteins. I use to be able to eat potatoes but now all of a sudden I was stumped and couldn't figure it out when I got shortness of breath like I was suffocating.  Then figured it out it was the potatoes.  They don't really taste good anyways. Get the white yams and cherry red 🍠 yams as a sub they taste way better. It's a cross reaction! Google foods that cross react with celiacs.  Not all of them you will cross react too. My reactions now unfortunately manifest in my chest and closes everything up . Life sucks then we die. Stay hopeful and look and see different companies that work for you . Lentils from kroger work for me raw in the bag and says nothing about gluten free but it works for me just rinse wellllll.....don't get discouraged and stay hopeful and don't pee off god
    • K6315
      Hi Lily Ivy. Thanks for responding. Did you have withdrawal? If so, what was it like and for how long?
    • trents
      Welcome to the forum, @Doris Barnes! You do realize don't you that the "gluten free" label does not mean the same thing as "free of gluten"? According to FDA regulations, using the "gluten free" label simply means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 20 ppm. "Certified Gluten Free" is labeling deployed by an independent testing group known as GFCO which means the product does not contain gluten in excess of 10 ppm. Either concentration of gluten can still cause a reaction in folks who fall into the more sensitive spectrum of the celiac community. 20 ppm is safe for most celiacs. Without knowing how sensitive you are to small amounts of gluten, I cannot speak to whether or not the Hu Kitechen chocolates are safe for you. But it sounds like they have taken sufficient precautions at their factory to ensure that this product will be safe for the large majority of celiacs.
    • Doris Barnes
      Buying choclate, I recently boght a bar from Hu Kitchen (on your list of recommended candy. It says it is free of gluten. However on the same package in small print it says "please be aware that the product is produced using equipment that also processes nuts, soy, milk and wheat. Allergen cleans are made prior to production". So my question is can I trust that there is no cross contamination.  If the allergy clean is not done carefully it could cause gluten exposure. Does anyone know of a choclate brand that is made at a facility that does not also use wheat, a gluten free facility. Thank you.
×
×
  • Create New...