Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Best Friend Has Suffered For Years


kontoulas46

Recommended Posts

kontoulas46 Newbie

My best friend has suffered from celiac disease for over 20 years, she claims she cannot even tolerate rice, but everything I have read that rice is okay, could she also have something else besides celiac disease? :D


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



celiac3270 Collaborator

Yes--rice is fine on a gluten-free diet. She might have a separate allergy--many people here have some other condition or allergy that accompanies celiac. Allergies are unrelated to celiac, but that would be why she has trouble with rice--not celiac disease.

Guest Viola

Hello;

I had the same problem after going gluten free for many years. What happens, according to one of my doctors, is that when you take a reaction to gluten, the body knows that something in that meal is making you sick. Example ... You eat quite a few rice dishes, the spice, or sauce on those dishes were contaminated with gluten. The body reacts to the gluten, but doesn't separate the sauce, or spice from the rice. So even when you put an un-contaminated source of rice in you, the body starts to react. In this case you are not getting a gluten reaction, but stomach reflex at the fear of being contaminated.

I went to Calgary and had NAET treatments by a doctor there. It's simple allergy treatments done with a combination of acupressure, acupuncture (done with laser) and heat. The treatments were very comfortable and very effective! I can now eat almost anything that is gluten free.

If you have Celiac disease ... do not trust a doctor doing this treatment that tells you that you will be able to eat gluten after these treatments! The fact is, with Celiac disease we are missing an enzyme, and will never be able to safely eat gluten! My doctor in Calgary had a family member with Celiac disease and was right up to date with the problems associated with it.

If you wish, you can get in touch with me and I'll pass along his website.

Hope this helps :)

Thomas Apprentice

Maybe your friend's stomach is really damaged and will take time to heal.

Carriefaith Enthusiast

If she has actually been gluten free for 20 years, I would say that maybe she has an allergy to rice?

But if she just recently found out that she has had celiac for 20 years and has just started the gluten-free diet, I would say she may just need more time to heal and recover.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    2. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    3. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    4. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    5. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,874
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Charli.stoz09
    Newest Member
    Charli.stoz09
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):





  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification.  In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.
    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
    • Mynx
      It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process, after the distillation process, the vinegar is still cross contaminated. Please don't dismiss or disregard the small group of people who are 100^ gluten intolerant by saying things are conjecture. Just because you haven't done thr research or aren't as sensitive to gluten doesn't mean that everyone is like you. 
×
×
  • Create New...