Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Isn't Baking Soda And Powder Gluten Free?


Bellamia

Recommended Posts

TigerRaven Newbie

Most of it isn't labelled because it does not contain wheat. I have seen it once reported something like this - food starch ( wheat). Or wheat food starch.

I have never seen it labeled as that  and most companies I have called, who labeled it as Modified Food Starch, use wheat starch and it is labeled Modified food starch. I have seen however modified corn starch or modified food starch (made from corn)  so I avoid all ones that just say modified food starch because I have found most of it is made from wheat starch.


Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):



psawyer Proficient

While not unheard of, wheat as the origin of "modified food starch" is extremely rare, at least in North America. It is almost always tapioca or corn starch. In Canada, disclosure of wheat is required by law in all foods. In the US, most foods are regulated by the FDA and FALCPA applies.

If you have a verifiable source of wheat being used, but not disclosed, provide it here and now. Be specific, that is, tell us the name of the product, and the source of your claim that it contains wheat. Otherwise, stop the fear mongering.

Modified food starch is a safe ingredient.

  • 2 months later...
TigerRaven Newbie

I want to publically apologize. I haven't read a Campbell's soup label in a long time since I can't have Campbells soup so I was unaware that they have now listed their modified food starch as modified food starch, wheat.  So I apologize if my comments sent anyone in a state of fear and I will check my facts from now on before I post

LauraTX Rising Star

Thank you, that is appreciated :)

  • 1 month later...
deechristoff Newbie

All grains have glutens in them - not just wheat which has a particular type of gluten (gliadin) - it's just that wheat is particularly troublesome for people with gluten intolerances.

 

However, my understanding is that after wheat, corn gluten is the next biggest problem for many people with gluten sensitivities, especially if you have poor digestion or leaky gut syndrome. In fact, many people with gluten allergies, intolerance or celiac continue to have problems after they remove all wheat from their diets - and it's possible for some that it's because of corn gluten. I personally react as strongly to corn as I do to wheat (perhaps more so). As a result, I seek out gluten-free baking powder which does not have cornstarch in it. Baking soda (as stated previously) does not have either wheat or corn gluten. 

 

So, there is in fact a reason for gluten-free baking powder. 

 

Cheers, 

Dee

kareng Grand Master

All grains have glutens in them - not just wheat which has a particular type of gluten (gliadin) - it's just that wheat is particularly troublesome for people with gluten intolerances.

 

However, my understanding is that after wheat, corn gluten is the next biggest problem for many people with gluten sensitivities, especially if you have poor digestion or leaky gut syndrome. In fact, many people with gluten allergies, intolerance or celiac continue to have problems after they remove all wheat from their diets - and it's possible for some that it's because of corn gluten. I personally react as strongly to corn as I do to wheat (perhaps more so). As a result, I seek out gluten-free baking powder which does not have cornstarch in it. Baking soda (as stated previously) does not have either wheat or corn gluten. 

 

So, there is in fact a reason for gluten-free baking powder. 

 

Cheers, 

Dee

The "Gluten free" on a baking powder label has nothing to do with corn. It could still have corn starch. For labeling purposes and Celiac Disease - corn " gluten" is not called gluten.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Celiac.com:
    Donate

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):
    Celiac.com Sponsor (A17):





    Celiac.com Sponsors (A17-M):




  • Recent Activity

    1. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    2. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    3. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    4. - trents replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar

    5. - Mynx replied to Leslie Clark's topic in Gluten-Free Foods, Products, Shopping & Medications
      20

      Hidden Gluten in distilled vinegar


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      127,872
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Cathy Repa
    Newest Member
    Cathy Repa
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.5k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):




  • Who's Online (See full list)

    • There are no registered users currently online

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • trents
      Take it easy! I was just prompting you for some clarification.  In the distillation process, the liquid is boiled and the vapor descends up a tube and condenses into another container as it cools. What people are saying is that the gluten molecules are too large and heavy to travel up with the vapor and so get left behind in the original liquid solution. Therefore, the condensate should be free of gluten, no matter if there was gluten in the original solution. The explanation contained in the second sentence I quoted from your post would not seem to square with the physics of the distillation process. Unless, that is, I misunderstood what you were trying to explain.
    • Mynx
      No they do not contradict each other. Just like frying oil can be cross contaminated even though the oil doesn't contain the luten protein. The same is the same for a distilled vinegar or spirit which originally came from a gluten source. Just because you don't understand, doesn't mean you can tell me that my sentences contradict each other. Do you have a PhD in biochemistry or friends that do and access to a lab?  If not, saying you don't understand is one thing anything else can be dangerous to others. 
    • Mynx
      The reason that it triggers your dermatitis herpetiformis but not your celiac disease is because you aren't completely intolerant to gluten. The celiac and dermatitis herpetiformis genes are both on the same chronometer. Dermatitis herpetoformus reacts to gluten even if there's a small amount of cross contamination while celiac gene may be able to tolerate a some gluten or cross contamination. It just depends on the sensitivity of the gene. 
    • trents
      @Mynx, you say, "The reason this is believed is because the gluten protein molecule is too big to pass through the distillation process. Unfortunately, the liquid ie vinegar is cross contaminated because the gluten protein had been in the liquid prior to distillation process." I guess I misunderstand what you are trying to say but the statements in those two sentences seem to contradict one another.
    • Mynx
      It isn't a conjecture. I have gotten glitened from having some distilled white vinegar as a test. When I talked to some of my scientists friends, they confirmed that for a mall percentage of people, distilled white vinegar is a problem. The cross contamination isn't from wheat glue in a cask. While yhe gluten protein is too large to pass through the distillation process, after the distillation process, the vinegar is still cross contaminated. Please don't dismiss or disregard the small group of people who are 100^ gluten intolerant by saying things are conjecture. Just because you haven't done thr research or aren't as sensitive to gluten doesn't mean that everyone is like you. 
×
×
  • Create New...