Jump to content
This site uses cookies. Continued use is acceptance of our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy. More Info... ×
  • Welcome to Celiac.com!

    You have found your celiac tribe! Join us and ask questions in our forum, share your story, and connect with others.




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A1):
    GliadinX



    Celiac.com Sponsor (A1-M):
    GliadinX


  • Get Celiac.com Updates:
    Support Our Content
    eNewsletter
    Donate

Benefiber


Lisa

Recommended Posts

Lisa Mentor

Open Original Shared Link

Wheat Dextrin?

Benefiber

Wheat Dextrin is a natural soluble fiber. Wheat Dextrin is considered "Gluten-Free" which means it contains only a trace amount of gluten ( i.e., less than 10 ppm gluten). Unlike some fiber supplements, Benefiber

  • 2 weeks later...

Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Celiac.com Sponsor (A8):
Tierra Farm
Food for Life



Celiac.com Sponsor (A8-M):
Little Northern Bakehouse


lpellegr Collaborator

I just got a free sample of this stuff, and I think it takes gall to call it gluten-free. Says so right on the bottle, under "wheat dextrin" and 10ppm gluten. No idea if 10ppm will set me off, but I don't think I'll do the experiment.

Lisa Mentor

Expanding on my original post, do I recall wheat is broken down to wheat dextrin and that is considered safe for Celiacs to consume?

...hum, perhaps it was Irish Dave that posted information on "wheat dextrin". Anyone?

(don't try this at home until verified, please)

debmidge Rising Star
  Momma Goose said:
Open Original Shared Link

Wheat Dextrin?

Benefiber

Wheat Dextrin is a natural soluble fiber. Wheat Dextrin is considered "Gluten-Free" which means it contains only a trace amount of gluten ( i.e., less than 10 ppm gluten). Unlike some fiber supplements, Benefiber

momofmadeleine Newbie

Trust your instincts and stay away. What if we used several products in a day that had low levels of gluten? I have enough problems with accidental contamination. I don't need something I'm taking intentionally to push me over the limit.

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.


  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A19):
    Food for Life



  • Member Statistics

    • Total Members
      128,011
    • Most Online (within 30 mins)
      7,748

    Shahin Arab
    Newest Member
    Shahin Arab
    Joined

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A20):
    GliadinX


  • Forum Statistics

    • Total Topics
      121k
    • Total Posts
      70.6k

  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A22):
    GliadinX




  • Celiac.com Sponsor (A21):
    Little Northern Bakehouse



  • Upcoming Events

  • Posts

    • Scott Adams
      Oh no, I'm sorry to hear about the accidental gluten! This article, and the comments below it, may be helpful:    
    • Karmmacalling
      I was born with celiac disease im 20 years old. And I've been gluten free my whole life. Yes my diet is 100 percent gluten free and no i don't eat at restaurants at all. I got glutened by a chips that was marked as gluten free but it wasn't the company said the packaging was old and the recipe was new. 
    • Scott Adams
      Welcome to the forum, the biggest source of cross-contamination would be eating our in restaurants--even ones that have a gluten-free menu. If your son was just recently diagnosed I'd recommend trying not to eat out during his healing period, which could last up to a year or more, depending on how much villi damage he had.
    • Scott Adams
      How long ago were you diagnosed with celiac disease? How long have you been gluten-free? Is your diet strict, and are you 100% gluten-free? Do you eat out in restaurants?
    • trents
      Key word, "gluten-like".  By the way, have you looked up Dr. Osborne's credentials and his background? He is a licensed nutritionist but his scientific? medical? clinical background is that of a chiropractor. He is not taken seriously by many experts in the medical and scientific community. If it is helpful to you to see these other cereal grain proteins as "gluten", I'm fine with that. The problem is, when you begin to promote that line of thinking to others, people get confused about what grains they actually need to avoid. About 10% of celiacs react to oat protein (avenin) like they do gluten (the protein in wheat/barley/rye). That is not news. But the vast majority of celiacs have no issue with...
×
×
  • Create New...